Oklahoma beauty licenses

Oklahoma cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Oklahoma you need a Cosmetologist license from the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. It takes $130 in state fees. Exams: written theory exam (Prov) and a practical exam; pass with a minimum of 75%. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Barber hours
Not stated

Licensed by the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Oklahoma cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
Training
Not statedApprentice route: 2,250 hours. The Board's rule book and its exam page state different school hours, so confirm the current figure with the Board.
Apprenticeship route
2,250 hours
Exams
Written theory exam (Prov) and a practical exam; pass with a minimum of 75%
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$130 (examination registration $50 plus cosmetology license (biennial) $80)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $80
Continuing education
Not stated

Barber

Oklahoma barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
Training
Not statedApprentice route: 2,250 hours. The Board's rule book and its exam page state different school hours, so confirm the current figure with the Board.
Apprenticeship route
2,250 hours
Exams
Written theory exam (Prov) and a practical exam; pass with a minimum of 75%
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$130 (examination registration $50 plus barber license (biennial) $80)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $80
Continuing education
Not stated

Nail technician

Oklahoma nail technician license

Oklahoma calls it the Manicurist/Nail Technician license.

License
Manicurist/Nail Technician
Issued by
The Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
Training
600 hours600 hours of study, or an equivalent number of credit hours. About 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written theory exam (Prov) and a practical exam; pass with a minimum of 75%
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$130 (examination registration $50 plus manicurist license (biennial) $80)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $80
Continuing education
Not stated

Oklahoma's 600 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Oklahoma esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
Training
600 hours600 hours of study, or an equivalent number of credit hours. About 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written theory exam (Prov) and a practical exam; pass with a minimum of 75%
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$130 (examination registration $50 plus esthetician license (biennial) $80)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $80
Continuing education
Not stated

Oklahoma's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Oklahoma requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Oklahoma requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Oklahoma.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

By reciprocity: the applicant has complied with another state's requirements and has practiced continuously for at least 3 years immediately before applying.

Good to know in Oklahoma

  • An applicant may get a work permit to work under supervision in a licensed establishment after registering for the exam and completing the course.
  • Cosmetology, barbering, facial and nail technology may be performed only by licensed individuals working in a licensed establishment or holding a valid work permit.
  • A person with a criminal history can ask the Board for an initial determination before getting training or applying for an exam.

Sources

What Oklahoma's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“The applicant for license as a cosmetologist, manicurist/nail technician, esthetician/facialist”
oklahoma.gov
Cosmetologist: apprenticeship
“Completion of three thousand (2,250) hours of apprentice training in a cosmetology or”
oklahoma.gov
“Complete 2250 hours of study for Cosmetology”
oklahoma.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“Pass a written and practical exam with a minimum of 75%”
oklahoma.gov
“is the only provider of the NIC Theory Examination for the state of Oklahoma”
oklahoma.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“Examination registration - $50.00”
oklahoma.gov
“Cosmetology license (biennial) - $80.00”
oklahoma.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Cosmetology license (biennial) - $80.00”
oklahoma.gov
“Two Year License Renewal”
oklahoma.gov
Barber: license
“Barber license (biennial)- $80.00”
oklahoma.gov
Barber: apprenticeship
“Completion of three thousand (2,250) hours of apprentice training in a cosmetology or”
oklahoma.gov
Barber: exams
“Pass a written and practical exam with a minimum of 75%”
oklahoma.gov
“is the only provider of the NIC Theory Examination for the state of Oklahoma”
oklahoma.gov
Barber: fees
“Examination registration - $50.00”
oklahoma.gov
“Barber license (biennial)- $80.00”
oklahoma.gov
Barber: renewal
“Barber license (biennial)- $80.00”
oklahoma.gov
“Two Year License Renewal”
oklahoma.gov
Nail technician: license
“means a person licensed by the Board to perform nail care services to”
oklahoma.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“Complete 600 hours of study or equivalent number of credit hours”
oklahoma.gov
Nail technician: exams
“Pass a written and practical exam with a minimum of 75%”
oklahoma.gov
“is the only provider of the NIC Theory Examination for the state of Oklahoma”
oklahoma.gov
Nail technician: fees
“Examination registration - $50.00”
oklahoma.gov
“Manicurist license (biennial) - $80.00”
oklahoma.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“Manicurist license (biennial) - $80.00”
oklahoma.gov
Esthetician: license
“Esthetician license (biennial) - $80.00”
oklahoma.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“Complete 600 hours of study or equivalent number of credit hours”
oklahoma.gov
Esthetician: exams
“Pass a written and practical exam with a minimum of 75%”
oklahoma.gov
“is the only provider of the NIC Theory Examination for the state of Oklahoma”
oklahoma.gov
Esthetician: fees
“Examination registration - $50.00”
oklahoma.gov
“Esthetician license (biennial) - $80.00”
oklahoma.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“Esthetician license (biennial) - $80.00”
oklahoma.gov
Licensed in another state
“The applicant has complied with the requirements of another state, territory or province and”
oklahoma.gov
“for which a reciprocity license is applied for at least three (3) years immediately prior to such application”
oklahoma.gov
“Reciprocity license (2 year)- $90.00”
oklahoma.gov
Also good to know
“An applicant may be issued a permit to work in a licensed Establishment”
oklahoma.gov
Also good to know
“may only be performed by individuals who hold a valid state license and who work in a licensed establishment or hold a valid work permit”
oklahoma.gov
Also good to know
“required education or applying to sit for any necessary examination, request an initial determination as to”
oklahoma.gov

Questions

Oklahoma beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Oklahoma?
The official pages we read do not state the hours. Ask the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering or a licensed school.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Oklahoma?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $130 (examination registration $50 plus cosmetology license (biennial) $80), and it renews every 2 years, $80. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Oklahoma?
The Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years for $80. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma calls it a Manicurist/Nail Technician license, issued by the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. It takes 600 hours of training, written theory exam (Prov) and a practical exam; pass with a minimum of 75%, $130 (examination registration $50 plus manicurist license (biennial) $80) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $80.
How do you get an esthetician license in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. It takes 600 hours of training, written theory exam (Prov) and a practical exam; pass with a minimum of 75%, $130 (examination registration $50 plus esthetician license (biennial) $80) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $80.
How do you get a barber license in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma calls it a Barber license, issued by the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. Written theory exam (Prov) and a practical exam; pass with a minimum of 75%, $130 (examination registration $50 plus barber license (biennial) $80) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $80.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Oklahoma?
By reciprocity: the applicant has complied with another state's requirements and has practiced continuously for at least 3 years immediately before applying. The fee is $90. Apply with the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Oklahoma?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Oklahoma requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Oklahoma: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Oklahoma Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI