Utah beauty licenses

Utah cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Utah you need a Cosmetology license from the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL). It takes 1,250 hours of school. Exams: NIC Cosmetologist / Barber exam, administered by Prov. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 23, 2026.

Licensed by DOPL.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Utah cosmetology license

License
Cosmetology license
Issued by
The Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL)
Training
1,250 hoursAbout 8 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
1,250 hours
Exams
NIC Cosmetologist / Barber exam, administered by Prov
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
Not stated
Renewal
Every 2 years, $52
Continuing education
Not stated

Utah's 1,250 hours are fewer than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

Utah barber license

Utah calls it the Barbering permit.

License
Barbering permit
Issued by
The Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL)
Training
130 hoursUtah's entry credential for barbers is a barbering permit (cutting, trimming and shaving). The master barbering license, which adds chemical services, takes 1,000 hours. About 1 month of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
130 hours
Exams
Integrated Competency Assessment (ICA) permit exam
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
Not stated
Renewal
Every 2 years, $52
Continuing education
Not stated

Utah's 130 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state, the fewest of any state that publishes them.

Nail technician

Utah nail technician license

Utah calls it the Nail technology license.

License
Nail technology license
Issued by
The Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL)
Training
300 hoursAbout 2 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
300 hours
Exams
NIC Nail Technician exam, administered by Prov
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
Not stated
Renewal
Every 2 years, $52
Continuing education
Not stated

Utah's 300 hours are fewer than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Utah esthetician license

Utah calls it the Basic esthetics permit.

License
Basic esthetics permit
Issued by
The Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL)
Training
200 hoursUtah's entry credential is a basic esthetics permit (basic skin care and manual hair removal). The master esthetics license, for advanced treatments, takes 1,200 hours. About 1 month of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
200 hours
Exams
Integrated Competency Assessment (ICA) permit exam
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
Not stated
Renewal
Every 2 years, $52
Continuing education
Not stated

Utah's 200 hours are fewer than the 600 hours of the middle state, the fewest of any state that publishes them.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Utah requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Utah requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Utah.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

A person currently licensed in another US state, territory or district may qualify for licensure by endorsement; email b2@utah.gov for details.

Good to know in Utah

  • Applications are online only through My License One; paper applications are no longer accepted.
  • Apprenticeship: you must register with the Division before starting, on a Division form that names your licensed instructor supervisor.
  • Barbering and basic esthetics candidates take the new Integrated Competency Assessment (ICA) permit exams.

Sources

What Utah's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 23, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“Cosmetology license | 1,250 school hours or 1,250 apprenticeship hours”
commerce.utah.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“Cosmetology license | 1,250 school hours or 1,250 apprenticeship hours”
commerce.utah.gov
Cosmetologist: apprenticeship
“Cosmetology license | 1,250 hours”
commerce.utah.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“The National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) exams are administered by Prov.”
commerce.utah.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“in accordance with a two-year renewal cycle established by rule”
le.utah.gov
“Cosmetologist / Barber $52.00 September 30 th of odd years”
commerce.utah.gov
Barber: license
“Barbering permit | 130 school hours or 130 apprenticeship hours”
commerce.utah.gov
Barber: training hours
“Barbering permit | 130 school hours or 130 apprenticeship hours”
commerce.utah.gov
“| Master hair design license and master barbering license | 1,000 school hours or 1,000 apprenticeship hours |”
commerce.utah.gov
Barber: apprenticeship
“Barbering permit | 130 hours”
commerce.utah.gov
Barber: exams
“The Integrated Competency Assessment (ICA) is the exam format used to evaluate both your knowledge and your ability to perform key skills within a specific subject area.”
commerce.utah.gov
Barber: renewal
“The division shall issue each license under this chapter in accordance with a two-year renewal cycle established by rule”
le.utah.gov
“Barber $52.00 September 30 th of odd years”
commerce.utah.gov
Nail technician: license
“Nail technology license | 300 school hours or 300 apprenticeship hours”
commerce.utah.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“Nail technology license | 300 school hours or 300 apprenticeship hours”
commerce.utah.gov
Nail technician: apprenticeship
“Nail technology license | 300 hours”
commerce.utah.gov
Nail technician: exams
“The National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) exams are administered by Prov.”
commerce.utah.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“in accordance with a two-year renewal cycle established by rule”
le.utah.gov
“Nail Technician $52.00 September 30 th of odd years”
commerce.utah.gov
Esthetician: license
“Basic esthetics permit | 200 school hours or 200 apprenticeship hours”
commerce.utah.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“Basic esthetics permit | 200 school hours or 200 apprenticeship hours”
commerce.utah.gov
“| Master esthetics license | 1,200 school hours or 1,200 apprenticeship hours |”
commerce.utah.gov
Esthetician: apprenticeship
“Basic esthetics permit | 200 hours”
commerce.utah.gov
Esthetician: exams
“The Integrated Competency Assessment (ICA) is the exam format used to evaluate both your knowledge and your ability to perform key skills within a specific subject area.”
commerce.utah.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“The division shall issue each license under this chapter in accordance with a two-year renewal cycle established by rule”
le.utah.gov
“Esthetician $52.00 September 30 th of odd years”
commerce.utah.gov
Licensed in another state
“If you are currently licensed in another state, territory, or district of the United States you may qualify for licensure by endorsement.”
commerce.utah.gov
Also good to know
“Manual (paper) applications will no longer be accepted.”
dopl.utah.gov
Also good to know
“You must register with the Division before beginning the training, on a Division form naming your licensed instructor supervisor”
commerce.utah.gov
Also good to know
“The new Integrated Competency Assessment (ICA) permit exams are now available for scheduling.”
commerce.utah.gov

Questions

Utah beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Utah?
1,250 hours of training for a Cosmetology license, or 1,250 hours as an apprentice. About 8 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Utah's 1,250 hours are fewer than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Utah?
The official pages we read do not state the fee. Check DOPL's fee schedule before you apply.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Utah?
The Cosmetology license renews every 2 years for $52. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with DOPL before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Utah?
Utah calls it a Nail technology license, issued by the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL). It takes 300 hours of training, NIC Nail Technician exam, administered by Prov. It renews every 2 years, $52.
How do you get an esthetician license in Utah?
Utah calls it a Basic esthetics permit, issued by the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL). It takes 200 hours of training, integrated Competency Assessment (ICA) permit exam. It renews every 2 years, $52.
How do you get a barber license in Utah?
Utah calls it a Barbering permit, issued by the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL). It takes 130 hours of training, integrated Competency Assessment (ICA) permit exam. It renews every 2 years, $52.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Utah?
A person currently licensed in another US state, territory or district may qualify for licensure by endorsement; email b2@utah.gov for details. Apply with DOPL.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Utah?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Utah requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Utah: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Utah Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI