Utah salon licensing

How to get a salon license in Utah

Utah does not issue a state license for a salon as a business on the official pages we read. The rules that do apply to opening one are below, each quoted from the official source with a link to it.

Licensed by
DOPL
Business license
None stated
New salon fee
Not stated
Renewal
Not stated
Inspection before opening
Not stated
Owner must hold a license
Not stated
Booth renters need a license
Not stated
Barbershops
Not stated

Licensed by the Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL).License lookup The state's own words

Step by step

Opening a salon in Utah

  1. 1

    Make sure everyone who will do services is licensed. Each stylist, barber, nail technician or esthetician needs a Utah license of their own, which you can check in the state's license lookup. The Utah cosmetology, barber, nail and esthetician licenses page lists each one's training hours, fees and renewal.

  2. 2

    Then the local paperwork (general advice, not from the board). Register the business with the state, get a city or county business license where one is required, and check zoning and the building permits for your build-out with the city before you sign a lease.

These are the license steps. The full opening checklist for Utah puts them in order with everything else a new salon needs: registering the business, taxes, insurance, hiring and getting booked before you open. For the inspection itself, the Utah salon inspection checklist lists every sanitation rule an inspector checks.

Good to know

What else Utah asks of a salon

  • The statute defines a salon only as a place where a licensed or permitted individual practices; the license attaches to the practitioner, not to the shop.
  • The licensing requirement applies to individuals who practice a regulated discipline; the chapter sets out no separate establishment license for a salon.
  • Keeping a salon, or its furnishings, tools, or linens, in an unsanitary condition is listed as unprofessional conduct under the Act.

Sources

What Utah's official pages say

Each fact above, in the words of DOPL's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 17, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you apply.

Who licenses salons
“the Utah Division of Professional Licensing portal”
dopl.utah.gov
“There is created the Cosmetology and Associated Professions Licensing Board”
le.utah.gov
Also good to know
“"Salon" means a place, shop, or establishment in which an individual licensed or permitted under this chapter practices the individual's discipline.”
le.utah.gov
Also good to know
“a person must be licensed or permitted as required under this chapter to practice a discipline regulated by this chapter”
le.utah.gov
Also good to know
“a person that keeps a salon or school, or the salon or school's furnishings, tools, utensils, linen, or appliances in an unsanitary condition”
le.utah.gov

Questions

Utah salon licenses, answered

Do you need a license to own a salon in Utah?
Utah's official pages we read do not say whether the owner personally needs a cosmetology license. What they do require: every practitioner holds a license. If you are not licensed yourself, ask DOPL before you sign a lease.

Ready when you are

Open with the website and the bookings ready

While the license comes through, SalonAI plans the digital side of your Utah salon: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking, your Google profile, reviews, and client follow-ups. Founden builds and runs it.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Utah Salon License: Requirements and Fees (2026) | SalonAI