Virginia salon licensing

How to get a salon license in Virginia

To open a salon in Virginia you need a Cosmetology Salon License for the business, issued by the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, on top of the license each stylist or technician holds. It costs $220 to the state and is renewed every 2 years for $220. Every fact below is quoted from the state's own pages, read on October 17, 2026.

Licensed by
Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology
Business license
Cosmetology Salon License
New salon fee
$220
Renewal
Every 2 years, $220
Inspection before opening
Not stated
Owner must hold a license
Not stated
Booth renters need a license
Not stated
Barbershops
Own license: Barber Shop

Licensed by the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Step by step

Opening a salon in Virginia

  1. 1

    Make sure everyone who will do services is licensed. The salon license covers the business; each stylist, barber, nail technician or esthetician needs a Virginia license of their own, which you can check in the state's license lookup. The Virginia cosmetology, barber, nail and esthetician licenses page lists each one's training hours, fees and renewal.

  2. 2

    Apply for the Cosmetology Salon License with the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology (application), paying $220 to the state. Apply before you open: the business needs its own license to operate.

  3. 3

    Put the renewal in your calendar. The salon license is renewed every 2 years for $220.

  4. 4

    Then the local paperwork (general advice, not from the board). Register the business with the state, get a city or county business license where one is required, and check zoning and the building permits for your build-out with the city before you sign a lease.

These are the license steps. The full opening checklist for Virginia puts them in order with everything else a new salon needs: registering the business, taxes, insurance, hiring and getting booked before you open. For the inspection itself, the Virginia salon inspection checklist lists every sanitation rule an inspector checks.

  • Virginia's $220 for a new salon is above the middle of the 46 states with a published fee, $123.

Good to know

What else Virginia asks of a salon

  • Mobile salons must give a physical address where the salon is permanently garaged.
  • Salon owners must complete and maintain a self-inspection form; the board's form says it stays on the premises and is not sent to the board.
  • Salon licenses are issued to a firm, are not transferable, and name or address changes must be reported to the board within 30 days.

Sources

What Virginia's official pages say

Each fact above, in the words of the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 17, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you apply.

The salon license
“1202 - Cosmetology Salon”
ris.dls.virginia.gov
Fees for a new salon
“Facilities: Application $220 With application Renewal $220 With renewal card prior to expiration date”
law.lis.virginia.gov
“$220.00* $440.00* 1304 - Barber Shop 1202 - Cosmetology Salon”
ris.dls.virginia.gov
Other license types
“Application fee is per each license type.”
ris.dls.virginia.gov
Renewal
“A license or certificate issued under this chapter expires two years from the last day of the month in which it was issued.”
law.lis.virginia.gov
“Facilities: Application $220 With application Renewal $220 With renewal card prior to expiration date”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Barbershops
“No individual or entity shall operate a barbershop, cosmetology salon, nail care salon, waxing salon, tattoo parlor”
law.lis.virginia.gov
“$220.00* $440.00* 1304 - Barber Shop 1202 - Cosmetology Salon”
ris.dls.virginia.gov
Who licenses salons
“The Board for Barbers and Cosmetology licenses individuals and businesses that perform barbering, cosmetology, nail care, waxing, tattooing, body piercing, and esthetics.”
dpor.virginia.gov
Also good to know
“Mobile shops and salons must provide a physical address where the shop or salon is permanently garaged.”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Also good to know
“all Shops, Salons, and Spas shall complete and maintain a self-inspection form.”
dpor.virginia.gov
Also good to know
“Shop or salon licenses are issued to firms as defined in this chapter and are not transferable.”
law.lis.virginia.gov

Questions

Virginia salon licenses, answered

How much is a salon license in Virginia?
A new Cosmetology Salon License costs $220 to the state and is renewed every 2 years for $220. The application fee is charged for each license type you apply for. That is the state's fee only: build-out, equipment and opening stock are most of the cost of opening (see what it costs to open a salon).
Do you need a license to own a salon in Virginia?
Virginia's official pages we read do not say whether the owner personally needs a cosmetology license. What they do require: the business holds a Cosmetology Salon License. If you are not licensed yourself, ask the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology before you sign a lease.
Does a barbershop need a different license in Virginia?
Yes. Barbershops have a license of their own in Virginia: the Barber Shop ($220 for a new shop).

Ready when you are

Open with the website and the bookings ready

While the license comes through, SalonAI plans the digital side of your Virginia salon: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking, your Google profile, reviews, and client follow-ups. Founden builds and runs it.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Virginia Salon License: Requirements and Fees (2026) | SalonAI