North Carolina salon licensing
How to get a salon license in North Carolina
To open a salon in North Carolina you need a Salon License for the business, issued by the North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners, on top of the license each stylist or technician holds. It costs $35 to the state (registration $25 plus processing $10) and is renewed every year. Every fact below is quoted from the state's own pages, read on October 17, 2026.
- Licensed by
- North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners
- Business license
- Salon License
- New salon fee
- $35
- Renewal
- Every year
- Inspection before opening
- Yes
- Owner must hold a license
- Not stated
- Booth renters need a license
- Not stated
- Barbershops
- Own license: Barber shop permit
Licensed by the North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners.How to apply License lookup The state's own words
Step by step
Opening a salon in North Carolina
- 1
Make sure everyone who will do services is licensed. The salon license covers the business; each stylist, barber, nail technician or esthetician needs a North Carolina license of their own, which you can check in the state's license lookup. The North Carolina cosmetology, barber, nail and esthetician licenses page lists each one's training hours, fees and renewal.
- 2
Apply for the Salon License with the North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners (application), paying $35 to the state (registration $25 plus processing $10). Apply before you open: the business needs its own license to operate.
- 3
Pass the inspection before you open. the North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners inspects a new salon before it may open or before the license is issued, so finish the build-out and set up your sanitation first.
- 4
Put the renewal in your calendar. The salon license is renewed every year.
- 5
Then the local paperwork (general advice, not from the board). Register the business with the state, get a city or county business license where one is required, and check zoning and the building permits for your build-out with the city before you sign a lease.
These are the license steps. The full opening checklist for North Carolina puts them in order with everything else a new salon needs: registering the business, taxes, insurance, hiring and getting booked before you open. For the inspection itself, the North Carolina salon inspection checklist lists every sanitation rule an inspector checks.
- North Carolina's $35 for a new salon is below the middle of the 46 states with a published fee, $123.
Good to know
What else North Carolina asks of a salon
- Mobile salons are not permitted in NC.
- Salon construction must be completed, and all equipment installed and ready for use, on the opening date listed on the application.
- The shop may operate for 30 days while the Board inspects it; if the Board cannot finish within 30 days, the shop may operate until the inspection is completed.
Sources
What North Carolina's official pages say
Each fact above, in the words of the North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 17, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you apply.
- The salon license
“Salon licenses are not transferable from one owner to another.”
nccosmeticarts.com - Fees for a new salon
“Fees are: $25 registration + $10 processing + $3 per chair operating in the salon.”
nccosmeticarts.com - Other license types
“Fees are: $25 registration + $10 processing + $3 per chair operating in the salon.”
nccosmeticarts.com “Fees are: $25 registration + $10 processing + $3 per chair operating in the salon.”
nccosmeticarts.com - Renewal
“Each license to operate a cosmetic art shop shall be renewed on or before the first day of February of each year.”
ncleg.gov “$3 per active chair + a $10 processing fee”
nccosmeticarts.com - Inspection
“is determined, after inspection, to be in compliance with the provisions of this Chapter and the Board's rules.”
ncleg.gov - Barbershops
“To open a barber shop, you will need to pay an inspection fee and a permit fee.”
bbee.nc.gov “Inspection fee $120.”
bbee.nc.gov “Permit fee $50.”
bbee.nc.gov “please include $170, which includes”
bbee.nc.gov “NC Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners”
barbers.nc.gov - Who licenses salons
“North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners”
nccosmeticarts.com - Also good to know
“Mobile salons are not permitted in NC”
nccosmeticarts.com - Also good to know
“Salon construction must be completed, all equipment installed and ready for use on opening date.”
nccosmeticarts.com - Also good to know
“A cosmetic art shop shall be allowed to operate for a period of 30 days while the Board inspects”
ncleg.gov
Questions
North Carolina salon licenses, answered
How much is a salon license in North Carolina?
Do you need a license to own a salon in North Carolina?
Is a new salon inspected before it opens in North Carolina?
Does a barbershop need a different license in North Carolina?
Plan the rest
Before you sign a lease
- Every step to opening a salon in North Carolina, as a checklist
- What North Carolina inspectors check, as a printable checklist
- Are haircuts taxable in North Carolina? Sales tax on services, products and the permit
- Hours and fees for each North Carolina cosmetology, barber, nail and esthetician license
- See what it costs to open a salon, line by line
- Write it up with the salon business plan template
- Find a name and a free domain
- Renting out chairs? Start from a booth rental agreement
Salon licenses in other states
Ready when you are
Open with the website and the bookings ready
While the license comes through, SalonAI plans the digital side of your North Carolina salon: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking, your Google profile, reviews, and client follow-ups. Founden builds and runs it.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.