Minnesota salon licensing
How to get a salon license in Minnesota
To open a salon in Minnesota you need a Salon License for the business, issued by the Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners, on top of the license each stylist or technician holds. It costs $350 to the state (license fee $250 plus application fee $100) and is renewed every 3 years for $225. Every fact below is quoted from the state's own pages, read on October 17, 2026.
- Licensed by
- Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners
- Business license
- Salon License
- New salon fee
- $350
- Renewal
- Every 3 years, $225
- Inspection before opening
- Not stated
- Owner must hold a license
- Not stated
- Booth renters need a license
- No
- Barbershops
- Own license: Barber shop registration (shop registration card)
Licensed by the Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners.License lookup The state's own words
Step by step
Opening a salon in Minnesota
- 1
Make sure everyone who will do services is licensed. The salon license covers the business; each stylist, barber, nail technician or esthetician needs a Minnesota license of their own, which you can check in the state's license lookup. The Minnesota cosmetology, barber, nail and esthetician licenses page lists each one's training hours, fees and renewal.
- 2
Put a licensed person in charge. Every salon must appoint and register a designated licensed salon manager, who need not be present at all times.
- 3
Apply for the Salon License with the Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners, paying $350 to the state (license fee $250 plus application fee $100). Apply before you open: the business needs its own license to operate.
- 4
Put the renewal in your calendar. The salon license is renewed every 3 years for $225.
- 5
Then the local paperwork (general advice, not from the board). Register the business with the state, get a city or county business license where one is required, and check zoning and the building permits for your build-out with the city before you sign a lease.
These are the license steps. The full opening checklist for Minnesota puts them in order with everything else a new salon needs: registering the business, taxes, insurance, hiring and getting booked before you open. For the inspection itself, the Minnesota salon inspection checklist lists every sanitation rule an inspector checks.
- Minnesota's $350 for a new salon is above the middle of the 46 states with a published fee, $123.
Good to know
What else Minnesota asks of a salon
- Each physical location needs its own salon license, and a licensed salon may not share space with another licensed salon except for restrooms.
- A salon must carry professional liability insurance of at least $25,000 per claim and $50,000 total per policy year for each operator; this is a condition for a license.
- A mobile salon license holder must keep a permanent business address and notify the board of the locations and schedule of the mobile salon.
Sources
What Minnesota's official pages say
Each fact above, in the words of the Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 17, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you apply.
- The salon license
“(4) $350 initial salon license, divided as follows:”
revisor.mn.gov - Fees for a new salon
“(4) $350 initial salon license, divided as follows:”
revisor.mn.gov “(i) $250 for each initial license; and”
revisor.mn.gov “(ii) $100 for each initial license application fee;”
revisor.mn.gov - Other license types
“(8) expedited initial salon license, $300;”
revisor.mn.gov - Renewal
“Licenses shall be renewed every three years by a process established by rule.”
revisor.mn.gov “(5) $225 renewal of salon license, divided as follows:”
revisor.mn.gov - Person in charge
“The salon owner must appoint a designated licensed salon manager (DLSM) and register the DLSM with the board using forms supplied by the board.”
revisor.mn.gov “The DLSM is not required to be present at all times during the salon's operation”
revisor.mn.gov - Barbershops
“the owner or operator of the barber shop possesses a current shop registration card”
revisor.mn.gov “(13) initial shop registration, $85;”
revisor.mn.gov “by the Board of Barber Examiners.”
revisor.mn.gov - Booth renters
“A practitioner who does not hold a salon license, and is renting salon space in a licensed salon”
revisor.mn.gov “each practitioner in the salon is currently licensed in Minnesota for the services provided by that practitioner to customers.”
revisor.mn.gov - Who licenses salons
“BOARD OF COSMETOLOGIST EXAMINERS”
revisor.mn.gov - Also good to know
“A salon license is required for each physical location.”
revisor.mn.gov - Also good to know
“evidence of continued professional liability insurance coverage of at least $25,000 for each claim and $50,000 total coverage for each policy year for each operator.”
revisor.mn.gov - Also good to know
“In addition to complying with the requirements for a salon in subdivision 2, the holder of a salon license for a mobile salon must:”
revisor.mn.gov
Questions
Minnesota salon licenses, answered
How much is a salon license in Minnesota?
Do you need a license to own a salon in Minnesota?
Do booth renters need their own license in Minnesota?
Does a barbershop need a different license in Minnesota?
Plan the rest
Before you sign a lease
- Every step to opening a salon in Minnesota, as a checklist
- What Minnesota inspectors check, as a printable checklist
- Are haircuts taxable in Minnesota? Sales tax on services, products and the permit
- Hours and fees for each Minnesota cosmetology, barber, nail and esthetician license
- See what it costs to open a salon, line by line
- Write it up with the salon business plan template
- Find a name and a free domain
- Renting out chairs? Start from a booth rental agreement
Salon licenses in other states
Ready when you are
Open with the website and the bookings ready
While the license comes through, SalonAI plans the digital side of your Minnesota salon: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking, your Google profile, reviews, and client follow-ups. Founden builds and runs it.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.