Texas salon licensing

How to get a salon license in Texas

To open a salon in Texas you need a Barbering or Cosmetology Establishment License for the business, issued by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR), on top of the license each stylist or technician holds. It costs $78 to the state and is renewed every 2 years for $78. Every fact below is quoted from the state's own pages, read on October 17, 2026.

Licensed by
TDLR
Business license
Barbering or Cosmetology Establishment License
New salon fee
$78
Renewal
Every 2 years, $78
Inspection before opening
Not stated
Owner must hold a license
Not stated
Booth renters need a license
No
Barbershops
Same license

Licensed by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).Apply with TDLR License lookup The state's own words

Step by step

Opening a salon in Texas

  1. 1

    Make sure everyone who will do services is licensed. The salon license covers the business; each stylist, barber, nail technician or esthetician needs a Texas license of their own, which you can check in the state's license lookup. The Texas cosmetology, barber, nail and esthetician licenses page lists each one's training hours, fees and renewal.

  2. 2

    Apply for the Barbering or Cosmetology Establishment License with TDLR (application), paying $78 to the state. Apply before you open: the business needs its own license to operate.

  3. 3

    Put the renewal in your calendar. The salon license is renewed every 2 years for $78.

  4. 4

    Then the local paperwork (general advice, not from the board). Register the business with the state, get a city or county business license where one is required, and check zoning and the building permits for your build-out with the city before you sign a lease.

These are the license steps. The full opening checklist for Texas puts them in order with everything else a new salon needs: registering the business, taxes, insurance, hiring and getting booked before you open. For the inspection itself, the Texas salon inspection checklist lists every sanitation rule an inspector checks.

  • Texas's $78 for a new salon is below the middle of the 46 states with a published fee, $123.

Good to know

What else Texas asks of a salon

  • A salon that rents space to others is a "gallery establishment". It may lease space only to a Mini-Establishment licensee or an individual practitioner with a valid Texas barbering or cosmetology license, and it must submit an Independent Contractor List with its application.
  • A salon attached to a residence must have a separate entrance, and the premises may not be used for living or sleeping.
  • A mobile salon needs its own application, on a separate mobile establishment page, and also costs $78.

Sources

What Texas's official pages say

Each fact above, in the words of TDLR's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 17, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you apply.

The salon license
“Apply for a Barbering or Cosmetology Establishment License”
tdlr.texas.gov
Fees for a new salon
“Establishment License Apply Online Apply by Mail $78”
tdlr.texas.gov
“Full-Service Establishment License $78”
tdlr.texas.gov
Other license types
“Specialty Establishment License Apply Online Apply by Mail $78”
tdlr.texas.gov
“Mini-Establishment License Also see Mini-Establishment FAQ Apply Online Apply by Mail $70”
tdlr.texas.gov
“A Mini-Establishment must be located inside a licensed full-service establishment or a specialty establishment”
tdlr.texas.gov
Renewal
“Establishment licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue.”
tdlr.texas.gov
“Renewal Fee Full-Service Establishment $78”
tdlr.texas.gov
Barbershops
“All licenses with “shop,” “salon,” “shop/salon,” titles will be replaced with the “establishment” title”
tdlr.texas.gov
Booth renters
“Establishments may lease space to any mini-establishment licensee or individual practitioner who holds a valid barbering or cosmetology license in Texas.”
tdlr.texas.gov
“An establishment may lease space to an independent contractor who is a practitioner.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Who licenses salons
“Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation”
tdlr.texas.gov
Also good to know
“Establishments may lease space to any mini-establishment licensee or individual practitioner who holds a valid barbering or cosmetology license in Texas.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Also good to know
“Licensed premises may not be used for living or sleeping purposes, or any other purpose that would tend to make the premises unsanitary, unsafe, or endanger the health and safety of the public.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Also good to know
“To apply for a license, submit a completed license application form (PDF) along with the non-refundable fee of $78.”
tdlr.texas.gov

Questions

Texas salon licenses, answered

How much is a salon license in Texas?
A new Barbering or Cosmetology Establishment License costs $78 to the state and is renewed every 2 years for $78. A specialty establishment (for example nails only) is also $78. The $70 mini-establishment license is for a space inside a licensed salon. That is the state's fee only: build-out, equipment and opening stock are most of the cost of opening (see what it costs to open a salon).
Do you need a license to own a salon in Texas?
Texas's official pages we read do not say whether the owner personally needs a cosmetology license. What they do require: the business holds a Barbering or Cosmetology Establishment License. If you are not licensed yourself, ask TDLR before you sign a lease.
Do booth renters need their own license in Texas?
No separate booth rental license: in Texas a booth renter needs only their own practitioner license, and the salon its establishment license.
Does a barbershop need a different license in Texas?
No. In Texas the same establishment license covers barbershops and salons.

Ready when you are

Open with the website and the bookings ready

While the license comes through, SalonAI plans the digital side of your Texas salon: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking, your Google profile, reviews, and client follow-ups. Founden builds and runs it.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Texas Salon Establishment License: Requirements and Fees (2026) | SalonAI