Idaho salon licensing
How to get a salon license in Idaho
To open a salon in Idaho you need a Primary Establishment License for the business, issued by the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board, on top of the license each stylist or technician holds. It costs $50 to the state and is renewed every 2 years for $50. Every fact below is quoted from the state's own pages, read on October 17, 2026.
- Licensed by
- Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board
- Business license
- Primary Establishment License
- New salon fee
- $50
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $50
- Inspection before opening
- Not stated
- Owner must hold a license
- Not stated
- Booth renters need a license
- Contiguous Establishment License
- Barbershops
- Same license
Licensed by the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board.How to apply License lookup The state's own words
Step by step
Opening a salon in Idaho
- 1
Make sure everyone who will do services is licensed. The salon license covers the business; each stylist, barber, nail technician or esthetician needs an Idaho license of their own, which you can check in the state's license lookup. The Idaho cosmetology, barber, nail and esthetician licenses page lists each one's training hours, fees and renewal.
- 2
Apply for the Primary Establishment License with the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board (application), paying $50 to the state. Apply before you open: the business needs its own license to operate.
- 3
If you rent out chairs, check your renters' licenses. In Idaho a booth renter needs a Contiguous Establishment License ($50). Put the terms in a booth rental agreement.
- 4
Put the renewal in your calendar. The salon license is renewed every 2 years for $50.
- 5
Then the local paperwork (general advice, not from the board). Register the business with the state, get a city or county business license where one is required, and check zoning and the building permits for your build-out with the city before you sign a lease.
These are the license steps. The full opening checklist for Idaho puts them in order with everything else a new salon needs: registering the business, taxes, insurance, hiring and getting booked before you open. For the inspection itself, the Idaho salon inspection checklist lists every sanitation rule an inspector checks.
- Idaho's $50 for a new salon is below the middle of the 46 states with a published fee, $123.
Good to know
What else Idaho asks of a salon
- A primary establishment needs a hot and cold running water source and drainage system within its perimeters, separate from restroom facilities, plus restrooms accessible from the building.
- Establishment licenses cannot be transferred. A change of location or a full change in ownership requires a new license application.
- Board officers may enter and inspect any cosmetology establishment at any time during business hours.
Sources
What Idaho's official pages say
Each fact above, in the words of the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 17, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you apply.
- The salon license
“Barber; Cosmetology Primary and Contiguous Establishment, including Mobile | $50 | $25 | $50”
dopl.idaho.gov “An applicant for primary establishment licensure must provide proof of compliance”
adminrules.idaho.gov - Fees for a new salon
“Barber; Cosmetology Primary and Contiguous Establishment, including Mobile | $50 | $25 | $50”
dopl.idaho.gov - Other license types
“Application Fee : $30”
dopl.idaho.gov - Renewal
“Also beginning July 1, 2026, the Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) will continue transitioning to a 2-year renewal cycle.”
dopl.idaho.gov “Barber; Cosmetology Primary and Contiguous Establishment, including Mobile | $50 | $25 | $50”
dopl.idaho.gov - Barbershops
“It shall further be unlawful for any person or legal entity to operate a barber or cosmetology establishment or school of barbering or cosmetology unless the establishment or school has been licensed”
legislature.idaho.gov “Barber; Cosmetology Primary and Contiguous Establishment, including Mobile | $50 | $25 | $50”
dopl.idaho.gov - Booth renters
“If you are leasing a station or room, you need to have a contiguous license.”
dopl.idaho.gov “Barber; Cosmetology Primary and Contiguous Establishment, including Mobile | $50 | $25 | $50”
dopl.idaho.gov - Who licenses salons
“Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board”
dopl.idaho.gov - Also good to know
“a hot and cold running water source and drainage system that are within the perimeters of the primary establishment, separate from restroom facilities”
adminrules.idaho.gov - Also good to know
“A change of location or a full change in ownership requires a new license application.”
adminrules.idaho.gov - Also good to know
“The officers of the board or its agents shall have authority to enter and inspect at any time during business hours any barber or cosmetology establishment”
legislature.idaho.gov
Questions
Idaho salon licenses, answered
How much is a salon license in Idaho?
Do you need a license to own a salon in Idaho?
Do booth renters need their own license in Idaho?
Does a barbershop need a different license in Idaho?
Plan the rest
Before you sign a lease
- Every step to opening a salon in Idaho, as a checklist
- What Idaho inspectors check, as a printable checklist
- Are haircuts taxable in Idaho? Sales tax on services, products and the permit
- Hours and fees for each Idaho cosmetology, barber, nail and esthetician license
- See what it costs to open a salon, line by line
- Write it up with the salon business plan template
- Find a name and a free domain
- Renting out chairs? Start from a booth rental agreement
Salon licenses in other states
Ready when you are
Open with the website and the bookings ready
While the license comes through, SalonAI plans the digital side of your Idaho salon: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking, your Google profile, reviews, and client follow-ups. Founden builds and runs it.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.