Idaho beauty licenses

Idaho cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Idaho you need a Cosmetologist license from the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board. It takes 1,600 hours of school and $90 in state fees. Exams: written test and practical demonstration (National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology exams). Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Idaho cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board
Training
1,600 hours1,600 hours in a board-approved school, or 3,200 hours as an apprentice About 11 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
3,200 hours
Exams
Written test and practical demonstration (National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology exams)
Who can apply
16 1/2 years old at application, two years of high school or equivalent
State fees, first license
$90 (application fee $30 plus original license $60)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $60
Continuing education
Not stated

Idaho's 1,600 hours are more than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

Idaho barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board
Training
900 hours900 hours in a board-approved school, or 1,800 hours as an apprentice About 6 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
1,800 hours
Exams
Written test and practical demonstration (National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology exams)
Who can apply
16 1/2 years old at application, two years of high school or equivalent
State fees, first license
$90 (application fee $30 plus original license $60)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $60
Continuing education
Not stated

Idaho's 900 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Idaho nail technician license

License
Nail Technician
Issued by
The Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board
Training
400 hours400 hours in a board-approved school, or 800 hours as an apprentice About 3 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
800 hours
Exams
Written test and practical demonstration (National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology exams)
Who can apply
16 1/2 years old at application, two years of high school or equivalent
State fees, first license
$90 (application fee $30 plus original license $60)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $60
Continuing education
Not stated

Idaho's 400 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Idaho esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board
Training
600 hours600 hours in a board-approved school, or 1,200 hours as an apprentice About 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
1,200 hours
Exams
Written test and practical demonstration (National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology exams)
Who can apply
16 1/2 years old at application, two years of high school or equivalent
State fees, first license
$90 (application fee $30 plus original license $60)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $60
Continuing education
Not stated

Idaho's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Idaho requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Idaho requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Idaho.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

By endorsement, without examination: a license or certificate from another state, territory, possession or country, plus either official documentation that its requirements were not lower than Idaho's, or at least one year of practice in the last three years.

Good to know in Idaho

  • Idaho does not issue temporary licenses; you must hold a license before you work.
  • You cannot work in Idaho until your license is issued.
  • A student may sit for the exam once they have completed 80% of the required education hours.

Sources

What Idaho's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician”
dopl.idaho.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“Completed and graduated from a course of instruction of at least one thousand six hundred (1,600) hours in a cosmetology school approved by the board”
legislature.idaho.gov
Cosmetologist: apprenticeship
“Completed at least three thousand two hundred (3,200) hours as an apprentice in an apprenticeship that covered all aspects of the practice of cosmetology”
legislature.idaho.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“Examinations shall include both a practical demonstration and a written test.”
legislature.idaho.gov
“The National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology’s written and practical examinations”
adminrules.idaho.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“Be at least sixteen and one-half (16 1/2) years of age at the time of application”
legislature.idaho.gov
“Have completed at least two (2) years of high school or have attained an equivalent education as determined by the board”
legislature.idaho.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“Application Fee : $30”
dopl.idaho.gov
“| Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician | $60 | $90 | $30 | $60 |”
dopl.idaho.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“All licenses, registrations, or certificates issued under the provisions of this chapter shall be subject to biennial renewal”
legislature.idaho.gov
“| Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician | $60 | $90 | $30 | $60 |”
dopl.idaho.gov
Barber: license
“Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician”
dopl.idaho.gov
Barber: training hours
“Completed and graduated from a course of instruction of at least nine hundred (900) hours in a barber school approved by the board”
legislature.idaho.gov
Barber: apprenticeship
“Completed at least one thousand eight hundred (1,800) hours as an apprentice in an apprenticeship that covered all aspects of the practice of barbering”
legislature.idaho.gov
Barber: exams
“Examinations shall include both a practical demonstration and a written test.”
legislature.idaho.gov
“The National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology’s written and practical examinations”
adminrules.idaho.gov
Barber: who can apply
“Be at least sixteen and one-half (16 1/2) years of age at the time of application”
legislature.idaho.gov
“Have completed at least two (2) years of high school or have attained an equivalent education as determined by the board”
legislature.idaho.gov
Barber: fees
“Application Fee : $30”
dopl.idaho.gov
“| Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician | $60 | $90 | $30 | $60 |”
dopl.idaho.gov
Barber: renewal
“All licenses, registrations, or certificates issued under the provisions of this chapter shall be subject to biennial renewal”
legislature.idaho.gov
“| Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician | $60 | $90 | $30 | $60 |”
dopl.idaho.gov
Nail technician: license
“Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician”
dopl.idaho.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“Completed and graduated from a course of instruction of at least four hundred (400) hours in a school approved by the board”
legislature.idaho.gov
Nail technician: apprenticeship
“Completed at least eight hundred (800) hours as an apprentice in a cosmetology establishment under the direct personal supervision of a licensed cosmetology instructor”
legislature.idaho.gov
Nail technician: exams
“Examinations shall include both a practical demonstration and a written test.”
legislature.idaho.gov
“The National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology’s written and practical examinations”
adminrules.idaho.gov
Nail technician: who can apply
“Be at least sixteen and one-half (16 1/2) years of age at the time of application”
legislature.idaho.gov
“Have completed at least two (2) years of high school or have attained an equivalent education as determined by the board”
legislature.idaho.gov
Nail technician: fees
“Application Fee : $30”
dopl.idaho.gov
“| Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician | $60 | $90 | $30 | $60 |”
dopl.idaho.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“All licenses, registrations, or certificates issued under the provisions of this chapter shall be subject to biennial renewal”
legislature.idaho.gov
“| Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician | $60 | $90 | $30 | $60 |”
dopl.idaho.gov
Esthetician: license
“Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician”
dopl.idaho.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“Completed and graduated from a course of instruction of at least six hundred (600) hours in a school approved by the board”
legislature.idaho.gov
Esthetician: apprenticeship
“Completed at least one thousand two hundred (1,200) hours as an apprentice in a cosmetology establishment under the direct personal supervision of a licensed cosmetology instructor”
legislature.idaho.gov
Esthetician: exams
“Examinations shall include both a practical demonstration and a written test.”
legislature.idaho.gov
“The National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology’s written and practical examinations”
adminrules.idaho.gov
Esthetician: who can apply
“Be at least sixteen and one-half (16 1/2) years of age at the time of application”
legislature.idaho.gov
“Have completed at least two (2) years of high school or have attained an equivalent education as determined by the board”
legislature.idaho.gov
Esthetician: fees
“Application Fee : $30”
dopl.idaho.gov
“| Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician | $60 | $90 | $30 | $60 |”
dopl.idaho.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“All licenses, registrations, or certificates issued under the provisions of this chapter shall be subject to biennial renewal”
legislature.idaho.gov
“| Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician | $60 | $90 | $30 | $60 |”
dopl.idaho.gov
Licensed in another state
“holds a certificate of qualification or a license issued to that person by the proper authority of any state, territory or possession of the United States or of a foreign country”
legislature.idaho.gov
“Provides official documentation that said person has practiced the pursuit for which licensure is requested for at least one (1) year of the last three (3) years”
legislature.idaho.gov
“| Barber; Barber Stylist; Cosmetologist; Electrologist; Esthetician; Nail Technician | $60 | $90 | $30 | $60 |”
dopl.idaho.gov
Also good to know
“No. Temporary licenses are not issued.”
dopl.idaho.gov
Also good to know
“No. To work in Idaho, you must hold an Idaho license.”
dopl.idaho.gov
Also good to know
“A student shall be permitted to take an examination required pursuant to subsection (1) of this section after such student has completed eighty percent (80%) of the education hours required”
legislature.idaho.gov

Questions

Idaho beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Idaho?
1,600 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license, or 3,200 hours as an apprentice. About 11 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Idaho's 1,600 hours are more than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Idaho?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $90 (application fee $30 plus original license $60), and it renews every 2 years, $60. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Idaho?
The Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years for $60. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Idaho?
Idaho calls it a Nail Technician license, issued by the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board. It takes 400 hours of training, written test and practical demonstration (National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology exams), $90 (application fee $30 plus original license $60) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $60.
How do you get an esthetician license in Idaho?
Idaho calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board. It takes 600 hours of training, written test and practical demonstration (National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology exams), $90 (application fee $30 plus original license $60) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $60.
How do you get a barber license in Idaho?
Idaho calls it a Barber license, issued by the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board. It takes 900 hours of training, written test and practical demonstration (National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology exams), $90 (application fee $30 plus original license $60) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $60.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Idaho?
By endorsement, without examination: a license or certificate from another state, territory, possession or country, plus either official documentation that its requirements were not lower than Idaho's, or at least one year of practice in the last three years. The fee is $90. Apply with the Idaho Barber and Cosmetology Services Licensing Board.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Idaho?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Idaho requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Idaho: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Idaho Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI