Alaska beauty licenses
Alaska cosmetology license requirements
To work as a cosmetologist in Alaska you need a Hairdresser license from the Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers. It takes 1,650 hours of school and $330 in state fees. Exams: written exam (National Hair Design Test). Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.
- Cosmetology hours
- 1,650
- Barber hours
- 1,650
Licensed by the Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers.How to apply License lookup The state's own words
Cosmetologist
Alaska cosmetology license
Alaska calls it the Hairdresser license.
- License
- Hairdresser
- Issued by
- The Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers
- Training
- 1,650 hours1,650 hours in a licensed school, or 2,000 hours as an apprentice About 11 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Apprenticeship route
- 2,000 hours
- Exams
- Written exam (National Hair Design Test)
- Who can apply
- Not stated
- State fees, first license
- $330 (nonrefundable application fee (initial license) $150 plus initial biennial license fee $180)
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $180
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Alaska's 1,650 hours are more than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
Barber
Alaska barber license
- License
- Barber
- Issued by
- The Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers
- Training
- 1,650 hours1,650 hours in a licensed school, or 2,000 hours as an apprentice About 11 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Apprenticeship route
- 2,000 hours
- Exams
- Written exam (National Barber-Stylist Test)
- Who can apply
- Not stated
- State fees, first license
- $330 (nonrefundable application fee (initial license) $150 plus initial biennial license fee $180)
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $180
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Alaska's 1,650 hours are more than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.
Nail technician
Alaska nail technician license
Alaska calls it the Manicurist license.
- License
- Manicurist
- Issued by
- The Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers
- Training
- 12 hoursA 12-hour health, safety and hygiene course; no board exam is required About 1 month of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- No exam required
- Who can apply
- Not stated
- State fees, first license
- $330 (nonrefundable application fee (initial license) $150 plus initial biennial license fee $180)
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $180
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Alaska's 12 hours are fewer than the 350 hours of the middle state, the fewest of any state that publishes them.
Esthetician
Alaska esthetician license
- License
- Esthetician
- Issued by
- The Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers
- Training
- 350 hours350 hours in a licensed school, or 350 hours as an apprentice About 2 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Apprenticeship route
- 350 hours
- Exams
- Written exam (National Esthetician Test)
- Who can apply
- Not stated
- State fees, first license
- $330 (nonrefundable application fee (initial license) $150 plus initial biennial license fee $180)
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $180
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Alaska's 350 hours are fewer than the 600 hours of the middle state.
Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Alaska requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Alaska requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Alaska.
Moving here
Licensed in another state?
A person with a current valid license from another state's barbering, hairdressing, manicuring or esthetics board can be licensed here without an examination or new training, after showing proof of that license and that its training, testing and work experience meet Alaska's minimums.
Good to know in Alaska
- A temporary license is valid for 120 days and cannot be renewed.
- A student permit for barbering or hairdressing is valid for two years.
- A lapsed license can be reinstated if it has not been lapsed for more than three years.
Sources
What Alaska's official pages say
Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.
- Cosmetologist: license
“(1) barber, non-chemical barber, or hairdresser, $180;”
commerce.alaska.gov - Cosmetologist: training hours
“student monthly records verifying that the applicant has successfully completed 1,650 hours of training”
commerce.alaska.gov - Cosmetologist: apprenticeship
“student monthly records verifying that the applicant has successfully completed 2,000 hours of training”
commerce.alaska.gov “The period of apprenticeship required to qualify an applicant for a license to practice hairdressing is 2,000 hours.”
akleg.gov - Cosmetologist: exams
“examination for a hairdresser license consists of the written examination entitled the National Hair Design Test”
commerce.alaska.gov - Cosmetologist: fees
“(A) initial license, $150;”
commerce.alaska.gov “(1) barber, non-chemical barber, or hairdresser, $180;”
commerce.alaska.gov - Cosmetologist: renewal
“(1) barber, non-chemical barber, or hairdresser, $180;”
commerce.alaska.gov “Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on August 31 of odd-numbered years”
commerce.alaska.gov - Barber: license
“(1) barber, non-chemical barber, or hairdresser, $180;”
commerce.alaska.gov - Barber: training hours
“(i) 1,650 hours of training for a barber license; or”
commerce.alaska.gov - Barber: apprenticeship
“The period of apprenticeship required to qualify an applicant for a license to practice barbering is 2,000 hours.”
akleg.gov - Barber: exams
“the National Barber-Stylist Test, sponsored by the National Interstate Council”
commerce.alaska.gov - Barber: fees
“(A) initial license, $150;”
commerce.alaska.gov “(1) barber, non-chemical barber, or hairdresser, $180;”
commerce.alaska.gov - Barber: renewal
“(1) barber, non-chemical barber, or hairdresser, $180;”
commerce.alaska.gov “Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on August 31 of odd-numbered years”
commerce.alaska.gov - Nail technician: license
“(6) manicurist, $180;”
commerce.alaska.gov - Nail technician: training hours
“a course of 12 hours of instruction or training approved by the board”
akleg.gov - Nail technician: exams
“The board may not require an applicant for licensure as a manicurist to take or pass an examination conducted by the board for the field of manicuring”
akleg.gov - Nail technician: fees
“(A) initial license, $150;”
commerce.alaska.gov “(6) manicurist, $180;”
commerce.alaska.gov - Nail technician: renewal
“(6) manicurist, $180;”
commerce.alaska.gov “Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on August 31 of odd-numbered years”
commerce.alaska.gov “(6) manicurist and advanced manicurist endorsement, $180;”
commerce.alaska.gov - Esthetician: license
“(2) esthetician, $180;”
commerce.alaska.gov - Esthetician: training hours
“student monthly records verifying that the applicant has successfully completed 350 hours of training in”
commerce.alaska.gov - Esthetician: apprenticeship
“The period of apprenticeship required to qualify an applicant for a license to practice esthetics is 350 hours.”
akleg.gov - Esthetician: exams
“examination for an esthetician consists of the written examination entitled the National Esthetician Test”
commerce.alaska.gov - Esthetician: fees
“(A) initial license, $150;”
commerce.alaska.gov “(2) esthetician, $180;”
commerce.alaska.gov - Esthetician: renewal
“(2) esthetician, $180;”
commerce.alaska.gov “Licenses are issued for a two-year period and expire on August 31 of odd-numbered years”
commerce.alaska.gov - Licensed in another state
“is entitled to a license or endorsement under this chapter without examination or a new period of training in this state”
akleg.gov - Also good to know
“A temporary license issued under this section is valid for 120 days and is nonrenewable.”
akleg.gov - Also good to know
“A student permit to practice barbering or hairdressing is valid for two years.”
akleg.gov - Also good to know
“A lapsed license may be reinstated if the license has not been lapsed for a period of more than three years”
akleg.gov
Questions
Alaska beauty licenses, answered
How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Alaska?
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Alaska?
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Alaska?
How do you get a nail technician license in Alaska?
How do you get an esthetician license in Alaska?
How do you get a barber license in Alaska?
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Alaska?
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Alaska?
Once you are licensed
Working for yourself, or opening a salon
- What Alaska requires to open a salon of your own
- Every step to opening a salon in Alaska, as a checklist
- Commission or booth rent? Compare what you would take home
- Renting a chair? Start from a booth rental agreement
Beauty licenses in other states
Ready when you are
Licensed? Build the clientele next
SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Alaska: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.