Georgia beauty licenses

Georgia cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Georgia you need a Master Cosmetologist license from the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers. It takes 1,500 hours of school and $30 in state fees. Exams: written and practical exams, minimum 70% on each section. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Georgia cosmetology license

Georgia calls it the Master Cosmetologist license.

License
Master Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers
Training
1,500 hours1,500 hours in a cosmetology school (at least nine months), or 18 months and 3,000 hours as an apprentice About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
3,000 hours
Exams
Written and practical exams, minimum 70% on each section
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$30
Renewal
Every 2 years
Continuing education
5 hours per renewal

Georgia's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

Georgia barber license

Georgia calls it the Master Barber license.

License
Master Barber
Issued by
The Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers
Training
1,500 hours1,500 hours in a barber school (at least nine months), or 18 months and 3,000 hours as an apprentice About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
3,000 hours
Exams
Written and practical exams, minimum 70% on each section
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
Not stated
Renewal
Every 2 years
Continuing education
5 hours per renewal

Georgia's 1,500 hours are more than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Georgia nail technician license

License
Nail Technician
Issued by
The Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers
Training
525 hours525 hours in a nail care school (at least four months), or 8 months and 1,050 hours as an apprentice About 3 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
1,050 hours
Exams
Written and practical exams, minimum 70% on each section
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$30
Renewal
Every 2 years
Continuing education
5 hours per renewal

Georgia's 525 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Georgia esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers
Training
1,000 hours1,000 hours in an esthetician school (at least nine months), or 18 months and 2,000 hours as an apprentice About 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
2,000 hours
Exams
Written and practical exams, minimum 70% on each section
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$30
Renewal
Every 2 years
Continuing education
5 hours per renewal

Georgia's 1,000 hours are more than the 600 hours of the middle state, tied for the most of any state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Georgia requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Georgia requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Georgia.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

By endorsement: an active, good-standing license from another state at the same level, proof of passing the written and practical exams in English, age 17 or older, and a high school diploma, GED or college degree.

Good to know in Georgia

  • You may not legally perform services until you hold an active license.
  • Apprentice hours cannot be combined with school hours.
  • The apprentice license is open to anyone at least 16 years old who trains under a licensed master in a salon or shop.

Sources

What Georgia's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“Application for Cosmetology License at the Master Cosmetologist, Master Barber, Barber, Hair Designer, Esthetician or Nail Technician Level”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“totaling fifteen hundred (1,500) hours of training”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Cosmetologist: apprenticeship
“Master Cosmetologist - 18 months and 3,000 hours”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“The applicant taking the examination shall be required to pass the practical and written examination with a minimum score of 70% on each section.”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“License Fees at the Instructor, Master Cosmetologist, Hair Designer, Esthetician, and Nail Technician level are established as follows:”
rules.sos.ga.gov
“Application for license to practice- $30.00;”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Licenses/Permits shall be renewed biennially.”
rules.sos.ga.gov
“In order to renew a license, each licensee shall provide to the Board proof of completion a total of five (5) continuing education (CE) hours”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Barber: license
“Application for Cosmetology License at the Master Cosmetologist, Master Barber, Barber, Hair Designer, Esthetician or Nail Technician Level”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Barber: training hours
“totaling fifteen hundred (1500) hours of training”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Barber: apprenticeship
“Master Barber - 18 months and 3,000 hours”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Barber: exams
“The applicant taking the examination shall be required to pass the practical and written examination with a minimum score of 70% on each section.”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Barber: renewal
“Licenses/Permits shall be renewed biennially.”
rules.sos.ga.gov
“In order to renew a license, each licensee shall provide to the Board proof of completion a total of five (5) continuing education (CE) hours”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Nail technician: license
“Application for Cosmetology License at the Master Cosmetologist, Master Barber, Barber, Hair Designer, Esthetician or Nail Technician Level”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“totaling five hundred twenty five (525) hours of training”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Nail technician: apprenticeship
“Nail Technician - 8 months and 1,050 hours”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Nail technician: exams
“The applicant taking the examination shall be required to pass the practical and written examination with a minimum score of 70% on each section.”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Nail technician: fees
“License Fees at the Instructor, Master Cosmetologist, Hair Designer, Esthetician, and Nail Technician level are established as follows:”
rules.sos.ga.gov
“Application for license to practice- $30.00;”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“Licenses/Permits shall be renewed biennially.”
rules.sos.ga.gov
“In order to renew a license, each licensee shall provide to the Board proof of completion a total of five (5) continuing education (CE) hours”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Esthetician: license
“Application for Cosmetology License at the Master Cosmetologist, Master Barber, Barber, Hair Designer, Esthetician or Nail Technician Level”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“1000 (250 Level 1 theory + 750 Level 2 service application) hours of training”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Esthetician: apprenticeship
“Esthetician - 18 months and 2,000 hours”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Esthetician: exams
“The applicant taking the examination shall be required to pass the practical and written examination with a minimum score of 70% on each section.”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Esthetician: fees
“License Fees at the Instructor, Master Cosmetologist, Hair Designer, Esthetician, and Nail Technician level are established as follows:”
rules.sos.ga.gov
“Application for license to practice- $30.00;”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“Licenses/Permits shall be renewed biennially.”
rules.sos.ga.gov
“In order to renew a license, each licensee shall provide to the Board proof of completion a total of five (5) continuing education (CE) hours”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Licensed in another state
“verification of a license issued by another state or territory that is currently active and in good standing at the appropriate level”
rules.sos.ga.gov
“proof of attaining at least 17 years of age”
rules.sos.ga.gov
“a copy of a high school diploma, general educational development (GED) diploma, or a postsecondary education or college degree”
rules.sos.ga.gov
“proof of passing both a written and practical national or state approved examination in English”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Also good to know
“You may not legally perform services until you hold an active license.”
sos.ga.gov
Also good to know
“Apprentice hours cannot be combined with school hours.”
rules.sos.ga.gov
Also good to know
“Any person at least 16 years of age desiring to train as an apprentice in a salon/shop”
rules.sos.ga.gov

Questions

Georgia beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Georgia?
1,500 hours of training for a Master Cosmetologist license, or 3,000 hours as an apprentice. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Georgia's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Georgia?
The state's fees for a first Master Cosmetologist license are $30, and it renews every 2 years. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Georgia?
The Master Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years. Each renewal needs 5 hours of continuing education. Renew with the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Georgia?
Georgia calls it a Nail Technician license, issued by the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers. It takes 525 hours of training, written and practical exams, minimum 70% on each section, $30 in state fees. It renews every 2 years.
How do you get an esthetician license in Georgia?
Georgia calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers. It takes 1,000 hours of training, written and practical exams, minimum 70% on each section, $30 in state fees. It renews every 2 years.
How do you get a barber license in Georgia?
Georgia calls it a Master Barber license, issued by the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers. It takes 1,500 hours of training, written and practical exams, minimum 70% on each section. It renews every 2 years.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Georgia?
By endorsement: an active, good-standing license from another state at the same level, proof of passing the written and practical exams in English, age 17 or older, and a high school diploma, GED or college degree. Apply with the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Georgia?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Georgia requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Georgia: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Georgia Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI