Delaware beauty licenses

Delaware cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Delaware you need a Cosmetologist license from the Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. It takes 1,500 hours of school. Exams: written theory and practical NIC examinations. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 23, 2026.

Licensed by the Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Delaware cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
Training
1,500 hours1,500 classroom hours, or 3,000 hours as an apprentice About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
3,000 hours
Exams
Written theory and practical NIC examinations
Who can apply
Tenth-grade education or equivalent
State fees, first license
Not stated
Renewal
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not stated

Delaware's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

Delaware barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
Training
1,250 hours1,250 classroom hours, or 3,000 hours as an apprentice About 8 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
3,000 hours
Exams
Written theory and practical NIC examinations
Who can apply
Tenth-grade education or equivalent
State fees, first license
Not stated
Renewal
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not stated

Delaware's 1,250 hours are the same as the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Delaware nail technician license

License
Nail Technician
Issued by
The Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
Training
300 hours300 hours in a school, or 600 hours as an apprentice About 2 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
600 hours
Exams
Written theory and practical NIC examinations
Who can apply
Tenth-grade education or equivalent
State fees, first license
Not stated
Renewal
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not stated

Delaware's 300 hours are fewer than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Delaware esthetician license

Delaware calls it the Aesthetician license.

License
Aesthetician
Issued by
The Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
Training
600 hours600 hours at a school, or 1,200 hours as an apprentice. About 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
1,200 hours
Exams
Written theory and practical NIC examinations
Who can apply
Tenth-grade education or equivalent
State fees, first license
Not stated
Renewal
Every 2 years
Continuing education
Not stated

Delaware's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Delaware requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Delaware requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Delaware.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

By reciprocity: proof of current licensure in good standing in another state with substantially similar standards; an applicant from a state with less stringent requirements must also show 1 continuous year of work in the last 5 years

Good to know in Delaware

  • A temporary work permit lets an exam applicant practice under supervision and is valid for 30 days after the next available exam date.
  • Apprenticeship hours cannot be accrued until the apprenticeship license has been issued.
  • Cosmetologist licenses expire on October 31 of even-numbered years; barber, nail technician and aesthetician licenses expire on March 31 of even-numbered years.

Sources

What Delaware's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 23, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“Any person applying for licensure as a cosmetologist or barber through apprenticeship must complete the necessary apprentice hours”
regulations.delaware.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“The successful completion of a minimum of 1,500 classroom hours of continuous training for a complete course in cosmetology.”
delcode.delaware.gov
Cosmetologist: apprenticeship
“Cosmetology curriculum. The apprentice teacher is responsible for ensuring that the apprentice completes the following 3,000 hour curriculum.”
regulations.delaware.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“The State of Delaware requires applicants to successfully pass the written theory and practical NIC examinations for your license type.”
dpr.delaware.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“Shall have successfully completed an education equivalent to a tenth grade education.”
delcode.delaware.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Each license shall be renewed biennially, in such manner as is determined by the Division”
delcode.delaware.gov
“Cosmetologist licenses expire on October 31 of each even year (e.g., 2020, 2022).”
dpr.delaware.gov
Barber: license
“Any person applying for licensure as a cosmetologist or barber through apprenticeship must complete the necessary apprentice hours”
regulations.delaware.gov
Barber: training hours
“The successful completion of a minimum of 1,250 classroom hours of continuous training for a complete course in barbering”
delcode.delaware.gov
Barber: apprenticeship
“Barbering curriculum. The apprentice teacher is responsible for ensuring that the apprentice completes the following 3,000 hour curriculum.”
regulations.delaware.gov
Barber: exams
“The State of Delaware requires applicants to successfully pass the written theory and practical NIC examinations for your license type.”
dpr.delaware.gov
Barber: who can apply
“Shall have successfully completed an education equivalent to a tenth grade education.”
delcode.delaware.gov
Barber: renewal
“Each license shall be renewed biennially, in such manner as is determined by the Division”
delcode.delaware.gov
“The licenses that expire on March 31 of each even year (e.g., 2020, 2022) are:”
dpr.delaware.gov
Nail technician: license
“Any person applying for licensure as a nail technician through apprenticeship must complete the necessary apprentice hours”
regulations.delaware.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“The successful completion of a course of training in nail technology of not less than 300 hours in a school of nail technology or cosmetology”
delcode.delaware.gov
Nail technician: apprenticeship
“Nail technology curriculum. The apprentice teacher is responsible for ensuring that the apprentice completes the following 600 hour curriculum.”
regulations.delaware.gov
Nail technician: exams
“The State of Delaware requires applicants to successfully pass the written theory and practical NIC examinations for your license type.”
dpr.delaware.gov
Nail technician: who can apply
“Shall have successfully completed an education equivalent to a tenth grade education.”
delcode.delaware.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“Each license shall be renewed biennially, in such manner as is determined by the Division”
delcode.delaware.gov
“The licenses that expire on March 31 of each even year (e.g., 2020, 2022) are:”
dpr.delaware.gov
Esthetician: license
“Any person applying for licensure as an aesthetician through apprenticeship must complete the necessary apprentice hours”
regulations.delaware.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“An applicant who began school on or after June 26, 2010 shall complete 600 hours of education in aesthetics.”
regulations.delaware.gov
Esthetician: apprenticeship
“Aesthetics curriculum. The apprentice teacher is responsible for ensuring that the apprentice completes the following 1,200 hour curriculum.”
regulations.delaware.gov
Esthetician: exams
“The State of Delaware requires applicants to successfully pass the written theory and practical NIC examinations for your license type.”
dpr.delaware.gov
Esthetician: who can apply
“Shall have successfully completed an education equivalent to a tenth grade education.”
delcode.delaware.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“Each license shall be renewed biennially, in such manner as is determined by the Division”
delcode.delaware.gov
“The licenses that expire on March 31 of each even year (e.g., 2020, 2022) are:”
dpr.delaware.gov
Licensed in another state
“the Board shall grant a license to each applicant who shall present proof of current licensure in good standing in another state”
delcode.delaware.gov
“An individual with a license from a state with less stringent requirements than those of this State may obtain a license through reciprocity”
delcode.delaware.gov
Also good to know
“The permit is valid for 30 days after the next available exam date.”
dpr.delaware.gov
Also good to know
“Apprenticeship hours can NOT be accrued until after the apprenticeship license has been issued.”
dpr.delaware.gov
Also good to know
“Cosmetologist licenses expire on October 31 of each even year (e.g., 2020, 2022).”
dpr.delaware.gov

Questions

Delaware beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Delaware?
1,500 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license, or 3,000 hours as an apprentice. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Delaware's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Delaware?
The official pages we read do not state the fee. Check the Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering's fee schedule before you apply.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Delaware?
The Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Delaware?
Delaware calls it a Nail Technician license, issued by the Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. It takes 300 hours of training, written theory and practical NIC examinations. It renews every 2 years.
How do you get an esthetician license in Delaware?
Delaware calls it an Aesthetician license, issued by the Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. It takes 600 hours of training, written theory and practical NIC examinations. It renews every 2 years.
How do you get a barber license in Delaware?
Delaware calls it a Barber license, issued by the Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. It takes 1,250 hours of training, written theory and practical NIC examinations. It renews every 2 years.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Delaware?
By reciprocity: proof of current licensure in good standing in another state with substantially similar standards; an applicant from a state with less stringent requirements must also show 1 continuous year of work in the last 5 years Apply with the Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Delaware?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Delaware requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Delaware: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Delaware Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI