Colorado beauty licenses
Colorado cosmetology license requirements
To work as a cosmetologist in Colorado you need a Cosmetologist license from the Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure. It takes 1,500 hours of school. Exams: written and practical exams. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 23, 2026.
- Cosmetology hours
- 1,500
- Barber hours
- 1,500
Licensed by the Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure.How to apply License lookup The state's own words
Cosmetologist
Colorado cosmetology license
- License
- Cosmetologist
- Issued by
- The Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure
- Training
- 1,500 hours50 credit hours or 1,500 contact hours; the rules accept either. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Written and practical exams
- Who can apply
- At least 16 years old; proof of graduation from an approved barber or beauty school
- State fees, first license
- Not stated
- Renewal
- Not stated
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Colorado's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
Barber
Colorado barber license
- License
- Barber
- Issued by
- The Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure
- Training
- 1,500 hours50 credit hours or 1,500 contact hours; the rules accept either. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Written and practical exams
- Who can apply
- At least 16 years old; proof of graduation from an approved barber or beauty school
- State fees, first license
- Not stated
- Renewal
- Not stated
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Colorado's 1,500 hours are more than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.
Nail technician
Colorado nail technician license
- License
- Nail Technician
- Issued by
- The Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure
- Training
- 600 hoursAbout 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Written and practical exams
- Who can apply
- At least 16 years old; proof of graduation from an approved barber or beauty school
- State fees, first license
- Not stated
- Renewal
- Not stated
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Colorado's 600 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.
Esthetician
Colorado esthetician license
- License
- Esthetician
- Issued by
- The Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure
- Training
- 600 hours20 credit hours or 600 contact hours; the rules accept either. About 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Written and practical exams
- Who can apply
- At least 16 years old; proof of graduation from an approved barber or beauty school
- State fees, first license
- Not stated
- Renewal
- Not stated
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Colorado's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.
Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Colorado requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Colorado requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Colorado.
Moving here
Licensed in another state?
By endorsement: an unrestricted license in good standing from another state or U.S. territory, plus substantially equivalent training and a written exam, and a practical exam or 1,000 hours of work experience within the two years before applying.
Good to know in Colorado
- Barber, esthetician and nail technician licenses expire March 31 of even-numbered years; cosmetologist licenses expire April 30 every year.
- First-time applicants must schedule the exam through PSI.
- Applicants who fail the written exam must wait at least 30 days before rescheduling.
Sources
What Colorado's official pages say
Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 23, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.
- Cosmetologist: license
“Barber, Cosmetologist, Esthetician, Hair Stylist and Nail Technician”
dpo.colorado.gov - Cosmetologist: training hours
“Cosmetologist: fifty credit hours or 1500 contact hours, covering at least the”
sos.state.co.us - Cosmetologist: exams
“beauty or barber school, pass written and practical”
coprrr.colorado.gov - Cosmetologist: who can apply
“Be at least 16 years old”
coprrr.colorado.gov “Provide proof of graduation from a barber or beauty school approved by the”
coprrr.colorado.gov - Barber: license
“Barber, Cosmetologist, Esthetician, Hair Stylist and Nail Technician”
dpo.colorado.gov - Barber: training hours
“Barber: fifty credit hours or 1500 contact hours, covering at least the following”
sos.state.co.us - Barber: exams
“beauty or barber school, pass written and practical”
coprrr.colorado.gov - Barber: who can apply
“Be at least 16 years old”
coprrr.colorado.gov “Provide proof of graduation from a barber or beauty school approved by the”
coprrr.colorado.gov - Nail technician: license
“Barber, Cosmetologist, Esthetician, Hair Stylist and Nail Technician”
dpo.colorado.gov - Nail technician: training hours
“Nail Technician: twenty credit hours or 600 contact hours, covering at least the”
sos.state.co.us - Nail technician: exams
“beauty or barber school, pass written and practical”
coprrr.colorado.gov - Nail technician: who can apply
“Be at least 16 years old”
coprrr.colorado.gov “Provide proof of graduation from a barber or beauty school approved by the”
coprrr.colorado.gov - Esthetician: license
“Barber, Cosmetologist, Esthetician, Hair Stylist and Nail Technician”
dpo.colorado.gov - Esthetician: training hours
“Esthetician: twenty credit hours or 600 contact hours, covering at least the”
sos.state.co.us - Esthetician: exams
“beauty or barber school, pass written and practical”
coprrr.colorado.gov - Esthetician: who can apply
“Be at least 16 years old”
coprrr.colorado.gov “Provide proof of graduation from a barber or beauty school approved by the”
coprrr.colorado.gov - Licensed in another state
“An applicant who possesses a current and unrestricted license in good standing in another state or”
sos.state.co.us “1,000 hours of work experience for the type of license being sought, within the”
sos.state.co.us - Also good to know
“All Barber, Esthetician, Hairstylist, and Nail Technician licenses expire on March 31 of even-numbered years.”
dpo.colorado.gov - Also good to know
“Exam applicants must apply and schedule their examinations with PSI.”
dpo.colorado.gov - Also good to know
“Candidates who fail the written examination shall wait at least thirty (30) days before they may reschedule”
sos.state.co.us
Questions
Colorado beauty licenses, answered
How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Colorado?
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Colorado?
How do you get a nail technician license in Colorado?
How do you get an esthetician license in Colorado?
How do you get a barber license in Colorado?
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Colorado?
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Colorado?
Once you are licensed
Working for yourself, or opening a salon
- What Colorado requires to open a salon of your own
- Every step to opening a salon in Colorado, as a checklist
- Commission or booth rent? Compare what you would take home
- Renting a chair? Start from a booth rental agreement
Beauty licenses in other states
Ready when you are
Licensed? Build the clientele next
SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Colorado: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.