Connecticut beauty licenses

Connecticut cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Connecticut you need a Registered Hairdresser and Cosmetician license from the Connecticut Department of Public Health and local health departments. It takes 1,500 hours of school and $100 in state fees. Exams: written examination (Prometric Licensing Examination). Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by the Connecticut Department of Public Health and local health departments.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Connecticut cosmetology license

Connecticut calls it the Registered Hairdresser and Cosmetician license.

License
Registered Hairdresser and Cosmetician
Issued by
The Connecticut Department of Public Health and local health departments
Training
1,500 hours1,500 hours of school study; an apprenticeship route also exists, but the statute sets no hours for it. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written examination (Prometric Licensing Examination)
Who can apply
Ninth grade completed or its equivalent
State fees, first license
$100
Renewal
Every 2 years, $100
Continuing education
Not stated

Connecticut's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

Connecticut barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The Connecticut Department of Public Health and local health departments
Training
1,000 hours1,000 hours of school study; an apprenticeship route also exists, but the statute sets no hours for it. About 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Connecticut barber examination administered by Prometric
Who can apply
Eighth grade completed or its equivalent
State fees, first license
$100
Renewal
Every 2 years, $100
Continuing education
Not stated

Connecticut's 1,000 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Connecticut nail technician license

License
Nail Technician
Issued by
The Connecticut Department of Public Health and local health departments
Training
100 hoursAbout 1 month of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Not stated
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$100
Renewal
Every 2 years, $100
Continuing education
Not stated

Connecticut's 100 hours are fewer than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Connecticut esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The Connecticut Department of Public Health and local health departments
Training
600 hoursAbout 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Not stated
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$100
Renewal
Every 2 years, $100
Continuing education
Not stated

Connecticut's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Connecticut requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Connecticut requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Connecticut.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

By endorsement: a current license from another state, plus two years of licensed practice for estheticians and nail technicians, or for cosmetologists and barbers a license from another state issued after training and an exam; the fee is $100.

Good to know in Connecticut

  • Estheticians and nail technicians licensed in another state can get a temporary permit valid up to 120 days while the application is pending.
  • A nail technician license has been required since January 1, 2021.
  • Applications for esthetician and nail technician licenses are accepted only online, through eLicense.

Sources

What Connecticut's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“No applicant shall be licensed as a registered hairdresser and cosmetician”
cga.ct.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“Successful completion of a course of not less than 1,500 hours of study”
portal.ct.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“Successful completion of the Prometric Licensing Examination”
portal.ct.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“Have successfully completed at least the 9th grade or its equivalent”
portal.ct.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“with photograph and fee of $100.00.”
portal.ct.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“shall be renewed once every two years”
cga.ct.gov
“for renewal of any hairdresser and cosmetician license, the sum of one hundred dollars”
cga.ct.gov
Barber: license
“desiring to obtain a license as a barber”
cga.ct.gov
Barber: training hours
“Successful completion a course of study of not less than 1,000 hours”
portal.ct.gov
Barber: exams
“Successful completion of the Connecticut barber examination administered by Prometric.”
portal.ct.gov
Barber: who can apply
“Successful completion of at least the 8th grade or its equivalent;”
portal.ct.gov
Barber: fees
“A complete application with photograph and fee of $100.00.”
portal.ct.gov
Barber: renewal
“shall be renewed once every two years”
cga.ct.gov
“accompanied by a fee of one hundred dollars for the renewal of such license for two years”
cga.ct.gov
Nail technician: license
“No person may practice as a nail technician in Connecticut after January 1, 2021, without holding a license issued by the Department of Public Health.”
portal.ct.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“documenting completion of 100 hours of study”
portal.ct.gov
Nail technician: fees
“The application fee is $100.”
portal.ct.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“may be renewed every two years, for a fee of one hundred dollars”
cga.ct.gov
Esthetician: license
“no person may practice as an esthetician without obtaining a license or temporary permit”
cga.ct.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“documenting completion of 600 hours of study in esthetics”
portal.ct.gov
Esthetician: fees
“The application fee is $100.”
portal.ct.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“may be renewed every two years, for a fee of one hundred dollars”
cga.ct.gov
Licensed in another state
“upon payment of a fee of one hundred dollars”
cga.ct.gov
“upon payment of a fee of one hundred dollars”
cga.ct.gov
“licensed practice in such state, district, commonwealth or territory for a period of at least two years immediately preceding the application”
cga.ct.gov
Also good to know
“Such temporary permit shall be valid for a period not exceeding one hundred twenty calendar days and shall not be renewable.”
cga.ct.gov
Also good to know
“No person may practice as a nail technician in Connecticut after January 1, 2021, without holding a license issued by the Department of Public Health.”
portal.ct.gov
Also good to know
“Applications are only accepted online.”
portal.ct.gov

Questions

Connecticut beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Connecticut?
1,500 hours of training for a Registered Hairdresser and Cosmetician license. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Connecticut's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Connecticut?
The state's fees for a first Registered Hairdresser and Cosmetician license are $100, and it renews every 2 years, $100. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Connecticut?
The Registered Hairdresser and Cosmetician license renews every 2 years for $100. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the Connecticut Department of Public Health and local health departments before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Connecticut?
Connecticut calls it a Nail Technician license, issued by the Connecticut Department of Public Health and local health departments. It takes 100 hours of training, $100 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $100.
How do you get an esthetician license in Connecticut?
Connecticut calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the Connecticut Department of Public Health and local health departments. It takes 600 hours of training, $100 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $100.
How do you get a barber license in Connecticut?
Connecticut calls it a Barber license, issued by the Connecticut Department of Public Health and local health departments. It takes 1,000 hours of training, connecticut barber examination administered by Prometric, $100 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $100.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Connecticut?
By endorsement: a current license from another state, plus two years of licensed practice for estheticians and nail technicians, or for cosmetologists and barbers a license from another state issued after training and an exam; the fee is $100. The fee is $100. Apply with the Connecticut Department of Public Health and local health departments.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Connecticut?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Connecticut requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Connecticut: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Connecticut Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI