Wyoming beauty licenses

Wyoming cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Wyoming you need a Cosmetologist license from the Wyoming Board of Cosmetology. It takes 1,600 hours of school and $48 in state fees. Exams: NIC theory and written-practical exams. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Esthetics hours
Not stated

Licensed by the Wyoming Board of Cosmetology.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Wyoming cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Wyoming Board of Cosmetology
Training
1,600 hoursSchool route only; Wyoming does not license by apprenticeship. About 11 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
NIC theory and written-practical exams
Who can apply
Graduate of a state-recognized cosmetology school
State fees, first license
$48
Renewal
Every 2 years, $96
Continuing education
Not stated

Wyoming's 1,600 hours are more than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

Wyoming barber license

Wyoming calls it the Barber or Barber Stylist license.

License
Barber or Barber Stylist
Issued by
The Wyoming Board of Barber Examiners
Training
1,250 hours1,250 hours for the barber stylist course. About 8 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Theory and practical examination approved by the board
Who can apply
17 years old, tenth-grade education or equivalent
State fees, first license
$50
Renewal
$75
Continuing education
Not stated

Wyoming's 1,250 hours are the same as the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Wyoming nail technician license

License
Nail Technician
Issued by
The Wyoming Board of Cosmetology
Training
400 hoursSchool route only. About 3 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
NIC theory and written-practical exams
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$48
Renewal
Every 2 years, $96
Continuing education
Not stated

Wyoming's 400 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Wyoming esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The Wyoming Board of Cosmetology
Training
Not stated
Exams
NIC theory and written-practical exams
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$48
Renewal
Every 2 years, $96
Continuing education
Not stated

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Wyoming requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Wyoming requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Wyoming.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

By endorsement: a current license from another state, graduation from a licensed school or state-approved apprenticeship program, and a passed state examination.

Good to know in Wyoming

  • Exams are NIC theory and written-practical; after the board approves your application, ProV emails you to schedule and pay for them.
  • A first license runs one year from the month issued; personal renewals then run two years.
  • Wyoming does not license by apprenticeship; the hours must come from a recognized cosmetology school.

Sources

What Wyoming's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“TYPE OF EXAM APPLYING FOR: COSMETOLOGIST”
drive.google.com
Cosmetologist: training hours
“meet the state requirement of no less than sixteen hundred (1600) hours of”
drive.google.com
Cosmetologist: exams
“Wyoming requires the NIC theory and written-practical examinations for all cosmetologists, estheticians, and nail”
drive.google.com
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“Must have graduated from a Cosmetology school recognized by the State and have equal or greater the number of hours”
drive.google.com
Cosmetologist: fees
“License Fees: $48.00 (money order or cashier’s check only)”
drive.google.com
Cosmetologist: renewal
“RENEWAL FEE: $96.00 FOR PERSONAL LICENSE (2 YEARS)”
drive.google.com
“After the first year all renewal licensees will be set up on a two (2) year renewal”
drive.google.com
Barber: license
“may apply for a barber or barber stylist license by taking a theory and practical examination approved by the board.”
docs.google.com
Barber: issued by
“The Wyoming Board of Barber Examiners is a regulatory agency for the Barber profession and its related fields.”
cosmetology.wyo.gov
Barber: training hours
“Section 2. Barber Stylist Course Curriculum – 1250 Course Hours.”
drive.google.com
Barber: exams
“may apply for a barber or barber stylist license by taking a theory and practical examination approved by the board.”
docs.google.com
Barber: who can apply
“at least 17 years of age and must have at least a tenth-grade education or its equivalent.”
drive.google.com
Barber: fees
“Hands on Practical Examination Fee $ 50.00”
drive.google.com
Barber: renewal
“Personal License Renewal Fee (annual) $ 75.00”
drive.google.com
Nail technician: license
“The first year a Wyoming cosmetology, hairstylist, nail technician, esthetician,”
drive.google.com
Nail technician: training hours
“nails and meet the state requirement of no less than four hundred (400) hours of theory and”
drive.google.com
Nail technician: exams
“Wyoming requires the NIC theory and written-practical examinations for all cosmetologists, estheticians, and nail”
drive.google.com
Nail technician: fees
“License Fees: $48.00 (money order or cashier’s check only)”
drive.google.com
Nail technician: renewal
“RENEWAL FEE: $96.00 FOR PERSONAL LICENSE (2 YEARS)”
drive.google.com
“After the first year all renewal licensees will be set up on a two (2) year renewal”
drive.google.com
Esthetician: license
“The first year a Wyoming cosmetology, hairstylist, nail technician, esthetician,”
drive.google.com
Esthetician: exams
“Wyoming requires the NIC theory and written-practical examinations for all cosmetologists, estheticians, and nail”
drive.google.com
Esthetician: fees
“License Fees: $48.00 (money order or cashier’s check only)”
drive.google.com
Esthetician: renewal
“RENEWAL FEE: $96.00 FOR PERSONAL LICENSE (2 YEARS)”
drive.google.com
“After the first year all renewal licensees will be set up on a two (2) year renewal”
drive.google.com
Licensed in another state
“Must have a current license from another state”
cosmetology.wyo.gov
“Graduated from a licensed school, or state approved apprenticeship program”
cosmetology.wyo.gov
“Endorsement Fee: $273.00 (money order only)”
cosmetology.wyo.gov
Also good to know
“Once the board office approves your application you will receive an email from our test administration company ProV, with instructions to schedule and pay for your exams.”
cosmetology.wyo.gov
Also good to know
“or instructor license is obtained the license is issued for one (1) year from the month of”
drive.google.com
Also good to know
“In order to take your board exams and receive a license”
cosmetology.wyo.gov

Questions

Wyoming beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Wyoming?
1,600 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license. About 11 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Wyoming's 1,600 hours are more than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Wyoming?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $48, and it renews every 2 years, $96. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Wyoming?
The Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years for $96. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the Wyoming Board of Cosmetology before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Wyoming?
Wyoming calls it a Nail Technician license, issued by the Wyoming Board of Cosmetology. It takes 400 hours of training, NIC theory and written-practical exams, $48 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $96.
How do you get an esthetician license in Wyoming?
Wyoming calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the Wyoming Board of Cosmetology. NIC theory and written-practical exams, $48 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $96.
How do you get a barber license in Wyoming?
Wyoming calls it a Barber or Barber Stylist license, issued by the Wyoming Board of Barber Examiners. It takes 1,250 hours of training, theory and practical examination approved by the board, $50 in state fees. It renews $75.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Wyoming?
By endorsement: a current license from another state, graduation from a licensed school or state-approved apprenticeship program, and a passed state examination. The fee is $273. Apply with the Wyoming Board of Cosmetology.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Wyoming?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Wyoming requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Wyoming: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Wyoming Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI