Washington beauty licenses

Washington cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Washington you need a Cosmetologist license from the Washington State Department of Licensing. It takes 1,600 hours of school and $40 in state fees. Exams: state-approved practical and written exams. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by the Washington State Department of Licensing.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Washington cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Washington State Department of Licensing
Training
1,600 hoursAn apprenticeship route also exists; the Department and the statute state different hours for it. About 11 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
State-approved practical and written exams
Who can apply
At least 17 years old
State fees, first license
$40 (license application $35 plus license print fee $5)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $66
Continuing education
Not stated

Washington's 1,600 hours are more than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

Washington barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The Washington State Department of Licensing
Training
1,000 hoursAn apprenticeship route also exists; the Department and the statute state different hours for it. About 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
State-approved practical and written exams
Who can apply
At least 17 years old
State fees, first license
$40 (license application $35 plus license print fee $5)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $66
Continuing education
Not stated

Washington's 1,000 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Washington nail technician license

Washington calls it the Manicurist license.

License
Manicurist
Issued by
The Washington State Department of Licensing
Training
600 hoursAn apprenticeship route also exists; the Department and the statute state different hours for it. About 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
State-approved practical and written exams
Who can apply
At least 17 years old
State fees, first license
$40 (license application $35 plus license print fee $5)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $66
Continuing education
Not stated

Washington's 600 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Washington esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The Washington State Department of Licensing
Training
750 hoursAn apprenticeship route also exists; the Department and the statute state different hours for it. About 5 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
State-approved practical and written exams
Who can apply
At least 17 years old
State fees, first license
$40 (license application $35 plus license print fee $5)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $66
Continuing education
Not stated

Washington's 750 hours are more than the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Washington requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Washington requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Washington.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

Reciprocity: an active license in good standing from another state, plus proof you passed that jurisdiction's approved exam; you must be at least 17 years old.

Good to know in Washington

  • You can take your exams once you are within 100 hours of finishing the required instruction, but you must finish all required hours and pass both exams before applying for a license.
  • You may take each exam once per day; if you fail, you may apply to retake it on another day and pay the re-exam fee.
  • Cosmetology, barbering and esthetics training must include cultural competency and historical education on textured hair.

Sources

What Washington's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“Cosmetologist: 1,600 hours”
dol.wa.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“Cosmetologist: 1,600 hours”
dol.wa.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“You must pass the state-approved practical and written exams”
dol.wa.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“you must be at least 17 years old.”
dol.wa.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“License application $35.00”
app.leg.wa.gov
“License print fee 5.00”
app.leg.wa.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Each operator or instructor license shall be renewed every two years.”
app.leg.wa.gov
“Renewal (two-year license) 66.00”
app.leg.wa.gov
Barber: license
“Barber: 1,000 hours”
dol.wa.gov
Barber: training hours
“Barber: 1,000 hours”
dol.wa.gov
Barber: exams
“You must pass the state-approved practical and written exams”
dol.wa.gov
Barber: who can apply
“you must be at least 17 years old.”
dol.wa.gov
Barber: fees
“Barber: License application 35.00”
app.leg.wa.gov
“License print fee 5.00”
app.leg.wa.gov
Barber: renewal
“Each operator or instructor license shall be renewed every two years.”
app.leg.wa.gov
“Renewal (two-year license) 66.00”
app.leg.wa.gov
Nail technician: license
“Manicurist: 600 hours”
dol.wa.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“Manicurist: 600 hours”
dol.wa.gov
Nail technician: exams
“You must pass the state-approved practical and written exams”
dol.wa.gov
Nail technician: who can apply
“you must be at least 17 years old.”
dol.wa.gov
Nail technician: fees
“Manicurist: License application 35.00”
app.leg.wa.gov
“License print fee 5.00”
app.leg.wa.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“Each operator or instructor license shall be renewed every two years.”
app.leg.wa.gov
“Renewal (two-year license) 66.00”
app.leg.wa.gov
Esthetician: license
“Esthetician: 750 hours”
dol.wa.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“Esthetician: 750 hours”
dol.wa.gov
Esthetician: exams
“You must pass the state-approved practical and written exams”
dol.wa.gov
Esthetician: who can apply
“you must be at least 17 years old.”
dol.wa.gov
Esthetician: fees
“Esthetician: License application 35.00”
app.leg.wa.gov
“License print fee 5.00”
app.leg.wa.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“Each operator or instructor license shall be renewed every two years.”
app.leg.wa.gov
“Renewal (two-year license) 66.00”
app.leg.wa.gov
Licensed in another state
“If you are at least 17 years old and an active license from another state, you can apply for a reciprocity license.”
dol.wa.gov
“Reciprocity license 60.00”
app.leg.wa.gov
Also good to know
“You will be eligible to take your exams when you are within 100 hours of completing the required hours of instruction.”
dol.wa.gov
Also good to know
“You may take each exam once per day.”
dol.wa.gov
Also good to know
“Cultural competency and historical education on the significance of textured hair in diverse communities;”
app.leg.wa.gov

Questions

Washington beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Washington?
1,600 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license. About 11 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Washington's 1,600 hours are more than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Washington?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $40 (license application $35 plus license print fee $5), and it renews every 2 years, $66. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Washington?
The Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years for $66. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the Washington State Department of Licensing before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Washington?
Washington calls it a Manicurist license, issued by the Washington State Department of Licensing. It takes 600 hours of training, state-approved practical and written exams, $40 (license application $35 plus license print fee $5) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $66.
How do you get an esthetician license in Washington?
Washington calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the Washington State Department of Licensing. It takes 750 hours of training, state-approved practical and written exams, $40 (license application $35 plus license print fee $5) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $66.
How do you get a barber license in Washington?
Washington calls it a Barber license, issued by the Washington State Department of Licensing. It takes 1,000 hours of training, state-approved practical and written exams, $40 (license application $35 plus license print fee $5) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $66.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Washington?
Reciprocity: an active license in good standing from another state, plus proof you passed that jurisdiction's approved exam; you must be at least 17 years old. The fee is $60. Apply with the Washington State Department of Licensing.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Washington?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Washington requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Washington: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Washington Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI