Massachusetts beauty licenses
Massachusetts cosmetology license requirements
To work as a cosmetologist in Massachusetts you need a Cosmetologist license from the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering. It takes 1,000 hours of school and $68 in state fees. Exams: written theory exam. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.
- Cosmetology hours
- 1,000
- Barber hours
- 1,000
Licensed by the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering.How to apply License lookup The state's own words
Cosmetologist
Massachusetts cosmetology license
- License
- Cosmetologist
- Issued by
- The Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering
- Training
- 1,000 hoursAbout 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Written theory exam
- Who can apply
- Not stated
- State fees, first license
- $68
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $68
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Massachusetts's 1,000 hours are fewer than the 1,500 hours of the middle state, tied for the fewest of any state that publishes them.
Barber
Massachusetts barber license
- License
- Barber
- Issued by
- The Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering
- Training
- 1,000 hoursAbout 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Written theory exam
- Who can apply
- Not stated
- State fees, first license
- $66
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $78
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Massachusetts's 1,000 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.
Nail technician
Massachusetts nail technician license
Massachusetts calls it the Manicurist license.
- License
- Manicurist
- Issued by
- The Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering
- Training
- 100 hoursAbout 1 month of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Written theory exam
- Who can apply
- Not stated
- State fees, first license
- $68
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $68
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Massachusetts's 100 hours are fewer than the 350 hours of the middle state.
Esthetician
Massachusetts esthetician license
Massachusetts calls it the Aesthetician license.
- License
- Aesthetician
- Issued by
- The Massachusetts Board of Registration of Cosmetology and Barbering
- Training
- 600 hoursAbout 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Written theory exam
- Who can apply
- Not stated
- State fees, first license
- $68
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $68
- Continuing education
- Not stated
Massachusetts's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.
Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Massachusetts requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Massachusetts requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Massachusetts.
Moving here
Licensed in another state?
A current cosmetologist, aesthetician or manicurist license from another state, with equivalent scope and no suspension or revocation, can be licensed without an exam; otherwise an exam is required. Fees: $204 without an exam, $136 with an exam.
Good to know in Massachusetts
- The board uses PSI to administer exams, and you need the Board's exam approval before you can schedule one.
- Applications must be submitted online through the eLIPSE platform, with payment made there too.
- A barber applicant with a licensed cosmetology school program may be credited up to 750 hours toward the 1,000-hour barber course.
Sources
What Massachusetts's official pages say
Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.
- Cosmetologist: license
“Cosmetologist | $68 | Birthday | Every 2 years”
mass.gov - Cosmetologist: training hours
“successfully completed a course of at least 1,000 hours of professional training in a cosmetology school approved by the Board”
mass.gov - Cosmetologist: exams
“and then pass a written theory exam”
mass.gov - Cosmetologist: fees
“* Cosmetologist $68 * Aesthetician $68”
mass.gov - Cosmetologist: renewal
“Cosmetologist | $68 | Birthday | Every 2 years”
mass.gov - Barber: license
“To be eligible to be issued a license as a barber, an individual must meet the following requirements”
mass.gov - Barber: training hours
“Successfully complete a course of at least 1,000 clock hours of professional training in a barber school approved by the Board”
mass.gov - Barber: exams
“and then pass a written theory exam”
mass.gov - Barber: fees
“* Manicurist $68 * Barber $66”
mass.gov - Barber: renewal
“Barber | $78 | Dec. 31, odd year | Every 2 years”
mass.gov - Nail technician: license
“Manicurist,$68 ,Birthday,Every 2 years”
mass.gov - Nail technician: training hours
“successfully completed a course of at least 100 hours of professional training in manicuring in a school approved by the Board”
mass.gov - Nail technician: exams
“and then pass a written theory exam”
mass.gov - Nail technician: fees
“* Aesthetician $68 * Manicurist $68 * Barber $66”
mass.gov - Nail technician: renewal
“Manicurist,$68 ,Birthday,Every 2 years”
mass.gov - Esthetician: license
“Aesthetician | $68 | Birthday | Every 2 years”
mass.gov - Esthetician: training hours
“successfully completed a course of at least 600 hours of professional training in an aesthetics school approved by the Board”
mass.gov - Esthetician: exams
“and then pass a written theory exam”
mass.gov - Esthetician: fees
“* Cosmetologist $68 * Aesthetician $68”
mass.gov - Esthetician: renewal
“Aesthetician | $68 | Birthday | Every 2 years”
mass.gov - Licensed in another state
“Applicants do not have to take an exam if all of the following applies”
mass.gov “You have a current license in another state or jurisdiction”
mass.gov “no examination required (please review Exam Requirement section) | $204 | each”
mass.gov “examination required (please review Exam Requirement section) | $136 | each”
mass.gov - Also good to know
“The board uses PSI to administer exams. You will need exam approval from the Board before you can schedule your exam.”
mass.gov - Also good to know
“Applications, renewals, and reinstatements must be submitted online through the”
mass.gov - Also good to know
“may be credited a maximum of 750 hours toward the 1,000-hour barber school course of instruction requirement”
mass.gov
Questions
Massachusetts beauty licenses, answered
How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Massachusetts?
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Massachusetts?
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Massachusetts?
How do you get a nail technician license in Massachusetts?
How do you get an esthetician license in Massachusetts?
How do you get a barber license in Massachusetts?
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Massachusetts?
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Massachusetts?
Once you are licensed
Working for yourself, or opening a salon
- What Massachusetts requires to open a salon of your own
- Every step to opening a salon in Massachusetts, as a checklist
- Commission or booth rent? Compare what you would take home
- Renting a chair? Start from a booth rental agreement
Beauty licenses in other states
Ready when you are
Licensed? Build the clientele next
SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Massachusetts: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.