District of Columbia beauty licenses

District of Columbia cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in District of Columbia you need a Cosmetologist license from the DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology. It takes 1,500 hours of school and $175 in state fees. Exams: written theory exam and practical exam. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by the DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

District of Columbia cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology
Training
1,500 hoursAbout 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written theory exam and practical exam
Who can apply
At least 17 years old
State fees, first license
$175 (initial licensing application fee $65 plus initial license fee $110)
Exam fees to the testing company
examination fee $92Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
Every 2 years, $110
Continuing education
6 hours per renewal

District of Columbia's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

District of Columbia barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology
Training
1,500 hoursAbout 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written theory exam and practical exam
Who can apply
At least 17 years old
State fees, first license
$175 (initial licensing application fee $65 plus initial license fee $110)
Exam fees to the testing company
examination fee $92Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
Every 2 years, $110
Continuing education
6 hours per renewal

District of Columbia's 1,500 hours are more than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

District of Columbia nail technician license

District of Columbia calls it the Manicurist license.

License
Manicurist
Issued by
The DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology
Training
350 hoursAbout 2 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written theory exam and practical exam
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$175 (initial licensing application fee $65 plus initial license fee $110)
Exam fees to the testing company
examination fee $92Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
Every 2 years, $110
Continuing education
6 hours per renewal

District of Columbia's 350 hours are the same as the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

District of Columbia esthetician license

District of Columbia calls it the Esthetician Basic license.

License
Esthetician Basic
Issued by
The DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology
Training
600 hoursAbout 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written theory exam and practical exam
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$175 (initial licensing application fee $65 plus initial license fee $110)
Exam fees to the testing company
examination fee $92Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
Every 2 years, $110
Continuing education
6 hours per renewal

District of Columbia's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license District of Columbia requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what District of Columbia requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in District of Columbia.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

By endorsement (exam waiver): a current out-of-state license uploaded to the application, plus a Letter of Certification sent directly from that state's board to the DC Board.

Good to know in District of Columbia

  • Most DC licenses require a practical exam after the written exam; master estheticians, braiders, managers and owners are exempt.
  • Barber licenses expire on September 30 of odd-numbered years; cosmetology and specialty licenses expire on April 15 of even-numbered years.
  • A license expired more than 60 days past its renewal date must be reinstated.

Sources

What District of Columbia's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“An applicant for an occupational license as a cosmetologist, cosmetologist-manager, or cosmetologist-owner”
code.dccouncil.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“Barbers and Cosmetologists – 1500 hours”
dlcp.dc.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“After passing the theory/written exam, applicants are notified by the Exam Coordinator”
dlcp.dc.gov
“All license types are required to take a practical exam, except Braiders, Master Estheticians, Managers and Owners.”
dlcp.dc.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“at least 17 years of age if applying for license as a barber under § 47-2853.72”
code.dccouncil.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“Initial Licensing Application Fee: $65.00”
dlcp.dc.gov
“Initial License Fee:   $110”
dlcp.dc.gov
“Examination/Re-examination Fee: $92, payable to ProV when scheduling the exam”
dlcp.dc.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Renewal Fee for Operators and Owners: $110.00”
dlcp.dc.gov
“expires 2 years from the date of its first issuance or renewal”
code.dccouncil.gov
“proof of 6 Continuing Education (CE) credits”
dlcp.dc.gov
Barber: license
“An applicant for an occupational license as a barber shall establish”
code.dccouncil.gov
Barber: training hours
“Barbers and Cosmetologists – 1500 hours”
dlcp.dc.gov
Barber: exams
“After passing the theory/written exam, applicants are notified by the Exam Coordinator”
dlcp.dc.gov
“All license types are required to take a practical exam, except Braiders, Master Estheticians, Managers and Owners.”
dlcp.dc.gov
Barber: who can apply
“at least 17 years of age if applying for license as a barber under § 47-2853.72”
code.dccouncil.gov
Barber: fees
“Initial Licensing Application Fee: $65.00”
dlcp.dc.gov
“Initial License Fee:   $110”
dlcp.dc.gov
“Examination/Re-examination Fee: $92, payable to ProV when scheduling the exam”
dlcp.dc.gov
Barber: renewal
“Renewal Fee for Operators and Owners: $110.00”
dlcp.dc.gov
“expires 2 years from the date of its first issuance or renewal”
code.dccouncil.gov
“proof of 6 Continuing Education (CE) credits”
dlcp.dc.gov
Nail technician: license
“words describing any cosmetology specialty (“manicurist,” “braider,” etc.)”
code.dccouncil.gov
“Manicurists – 350 hours”
dlcp.dc.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“Manicurists – 350 hours”
dlcp.dc.gov
Nail technician: exams
“After passing the theory/written exam, applicants are notified by the Exam Coordinator”
dlcp.dc.gov
“All license types are required to take a practical exam, except Braiders, Master Estheticians, Managers and Owners.”
dlcp.dc.gov
Nail technician: fees
“Initial Licensing Application Fee: $65.00”
dlcp.dc.gov
“Initial License Fee:   $110”
dlcp.dc.gov
“Examination/Re-examination Fee: $92, payable to ProV when scheduling the exam”
dlcp.dc.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“Renewal Fee for Operators and Owners: $110.00”
dlcp.dc.gov
“expires 2 years from the date of its first issuance or renewal”
code.dccouncil.gov
“proof of 6 Continuing Education (CE) credits”
dlcp.dc.gov
Esthetician: license
“Esthetician Basic – 600 hours”
dlcp.dc.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“Esthetician Basic – 600 hours”
dlcp.dc.gov
Esthetician: exams
“After passing the theory/written exam, applicants are notified by the Exam Coordinator”
dlcp.dc.gov
“All license types are required to take a practical exam, except Braiders, Master Estheticians, Managers and Owners.”
dlcp.dc.gov
Esthetician: fees
“Initial Licensing Application Fee: $65.00”
dlcp.dc.gov
“Initial License Fee:   $110”
dlcp.dc.gov
“Examination/Re-examination Fee: $92, payable to ProV when scheduling the exam”
dlcp.dc.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“Renewal Fee for Operators and Owners: $110.00”
dlcp.dc.gov
“expires 2 years from the date of its first issuance or renewal”
code.dccouncil.gov
“proof of 6 Continuing Education (CE) credits”
dlcp.dc.gov
Licensed in another state
“If you are licensed in another state, you can apply for a DC license by endorsement (exam waiver).”
dlcp.dc.gov
Also good to know
“All license types are required to take a practical exam, except Braiders, Master Estheticians, Managers and Owners.”
dlcp.dc.gov
Also good to know
“All barber licenses expire on September 30th of odd-numbered years, regardless of when they were issued.”
dlcp.dc.gov
Also good to know
“Licenses that are expired 60 days past the renewal date must be reinstated.”
dlcp.dc.gov

Questions

District of Columbia beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in District of Columbia?
1,500 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). District of Columbia's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in District of Columbia?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $175 (initial licensing application fee $65 plus initial license fee $110), and it renews every 2 years, $110. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in District of Columbia?
The Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years for $110. Each renewal needs 6 hours of continuing education. Renew with the DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in District of Columbia?
District of Columbia calls it a Manicurist license, issued by the DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology. It takes 350 hours of training, written theory exam and practical exam, $175 (initial licensing application fee $65 plus initial license fee $110) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $110.
How do you get an esthetician license in District of Columbia?
District of Columbia calls it an Esthetician Basic license, issued by the DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology. It takes 600 hours of training, written theory exam and practical exam, $175 (initial licensing application fee $65 plus initial license fee $110) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $110.
How do you get a barber license in District of Columbia?
District of Columbia calls it a Barber license, issued by the DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology. It takes 1,500 hours of training, written theory exam and practical exam, $175 (initial licensing application fee $65 plus initial license fee $110) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $110.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to District of Columbia?
By endorsement (exam waiver): a current out-of-state license uploaded to the application, plus a Letter of Certification sent directly from that state's board to the DC Board. Apply with the DC Board of Barber and Cosmetology.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in District of Columbia?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what District of Columbia requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in District of Columbia: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

District of Columbia Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal | SalonAI