Vermont beauty licenses

Vermont cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Vermont you need a Cosmetologist license from the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR). It takes 1,000 hours of school and $120 in state fees. Exams: written and practical exams. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by OPR.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Vermont cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR)
Training
1,000 hours1,000 hours at a school, or 1,500 hours as an apprentice. About 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
1,500 hours
Exams
Written and practical exams
Who can apply
High-school diploma or equivalent
State fees, first license
$120
Renewal
Every 2 years, $155
Continuing education
Not stated

Vermont's 1,000 hours are fewer than the 1,500 hours of the middle state, tied for the fewest of any state that publishes them.

Barber

Vermont barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR)
Training
750 hours750 hours at a school, or 1,125 hours as an apprentice. About 5 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
1,125 hours
Exams
Written and practical exams
Who can apply
High-school diploma or equivalent
State fees, first license
$120
Renewal
Every 2 years, $155
Continuing education
Not stated

Vermont's 750 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Vermont nail technician license

License
Nail Technician
Issued by
The Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR)
Training
200 hours200 hours at a school, or 300 hours as an apprentice. About 1 month of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
300 hours
Exams
Written and practical exams
Who can apply
No high-school diploma or GED required
State fees, first license
$120
Renewal
Every 2 years, $155
Continuing education
Not stated

Vermont's 200 hours are fewer than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Vermont esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR)
Training
500 hours500 hours at a school, or 750 hours as an apprentice. About 3 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
750 hours
Exams
Written and practical exams
Who can apply
High-school diploma or equivalent
State fees, first license
$120
Renewal
Every 2 years, $155
Continuing education
Not stated

Vermont's 500 hours are fewer than the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Vermont requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Vermont requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Vermont.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

By endorsement: a license in good standing from another jurisdiction with substantially equal requirements, or with materially less rigorous requirements plus 1,500 documented hours of practice in at least one year; or 3 years of continuous licensure in good standing (Fast Track).

Good to know in Vermont

  • After OPR approves you to sit for the exams, it submits your information to Prometric, which emails you how to register.
  • Apprentices must hold a Vermont apprenticeship license and train under a Vermont licensee in a Vermont licensed shop.
  • Renewal applications open six weeks before the expiration date.

Sources

What Vermont's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“010 - Cosmetologist $155 $120”
outside.vermont.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“Cosmetologists need a minimum of 1,000 school hours or 250 crossover hours for a currently licensed individual”
outside.vermont.gov
Cosmetologist: apprenticeship
“Cosmetologists need a minimum of 1,500 hours or 300 crossover hours for a currently licensed individual”
outside.vermont.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“(c) has passed written and practical cosmetology examinations recognized by the Director.”
outside.vermont.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“(a) holds a high-school diploma or equivalent;”
outside.vermont.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“010 - Cosmetologist $155 $120”
outside.vermont.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“010 - Cosmetologist $155 $120”
outside.vermont.gov
“will be granted through the next full two-year period.”
outside.vermont.gov
Barber: license
“005 - Barber $155 $120”
outside.vermont.gov
Barber: training hours
“Barbers need a minimum of 750 school hours or 150 crossover hours for a currently licensed individual”
outside.vermont.gov
Barber: apprenticeship
“Barbers need a minimum of 1,125 hours or 300 hours for a currently licensed individual”
outside.vermont.gov
Barber: exams
“(c) has passed written and practical barbering examinations recognized by the Director.”
outside.vermont.gov
Barber: who can apply
“(a) holds a high-school diploma or equivalent;”
outside.vermont.gov
Barber: fees
“005 - Barber $155 $120”
outside.vermont.gov
Barber: renewal
“005 - Barber $155 $120”
outside.vermont.gov
“will be granted through the next full two-year period.”
outside.vermont.gov
Nail technician: license
“086 - Nail Technician $155 $120”
outside.vermont.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“Nail Technicians need a minimum of 200 hours”
outside.vermont.gov
Nail technician: apprenticeship
“Nail Technicians need a minimum of 300 hours”
outside.vermont.gov
Nail technician: exams
“(b) has passed written and practical nail-technician examinations recognized by the Director.”
outside.vermont.gov
Nail technician: who can apply
“Upload a copy of your high school diploma or GED (Does not apply to Nail Technicians)”
outside.vermont.gov
Nail technician: fees
“086 - Nail Technician $155 $120”
outside.vermont.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“086 - Nail Technician $155 $120”
outside.vermont.gov
“will be granted through the next full two-year period.”
outside.vermont.gov
Esthetician: license
“087 - Esthetician $155 $120”
outside.vermont.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“Estheticians need a minimum of 500 hours”
outside.vermont.gov
Esthetician: apprenticeship
“Estheticians need a minimum of 750 hours”
outside.vermont.gov
Esthetician: exams
“(c) has passed written and practical esthetics examinations recognized by the Director.”
outside.vermont.gov
Esthetician: who can apply
“(a) holds a high-school diploma or equivalent;”
outside.vermont.gov
Esthetician: fees
“087 - Esthetician $155 $120”
outside.vermont.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“087 - Esthetician $155 $120”
outside.vermont.gov
“will be granted through the next full two-year period.”
outside.vermont.gov
Licensed in another state
“(2) materially less rigorous than those of this State, if the person has had 1,500 documented hours of practice in not less than one year.”
legislature.vermont.gov
“To qualify to be licensed, an applicant must be actively licensed or certified in good standing in another jurisdiction for three or more years preceding this application.”
outside.vermont.gov
Also good to know
“OPR will submit your information to Prometric.”
sos.vermont.gov
Also good to know
“Vermont apprentices must hold a Vermont apprenticeship license and be under the supervision of a Vermont licensee in a Vermont licensed shop.”
sos.vermont.gov
Also good to know
“Renewal applications open six weeks before the expiration date”
outside.vermont.gov

Questions

Vermont beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Vermont?
1,000 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license, or 1,500 hours as an apprentice. About 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Vermont's 1,000 hours are fewer than the 1,500 hours of the middle state, tied for the fewest of any state that publishes them.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Vermont?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $120, and it renews every 2 years, $155. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Vermont?
The Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years for $155. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with OPR before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Vermont?
Vermont calls it a Nail Technician license, issued by the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR). It takes 200 hours of training, written and practical exams, $120 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $155.
How do you get an esthetician license in Vermont?
Vermont calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR). It takes 500 hours of training, written and practical exams, $120 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $155.
How do you get a barber license in Vermont?
Vermont calls it a Barber license, issued by the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR). It takes 750 hours of training, written and practical exams, $120 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $155.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Vermont?
By endorsement: a license in good standing from another jurisdiction with substantially equal requirements, or with materially less rigorous requirements plus 1,500 documented hours of practice in at least one year; or 3 years of continuous licensure in good standing (Fast Track). Apply with OPR.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Vermont?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Vermont requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Vermont: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Vermont Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI