Vermont microblading and permanent makeup rules

Do you need a license to do microblading in Vermont?

Yes. Anyone who does microblading or other permanent cosmetics in Vermont must be licensed by the Office of Professional Regulation, as a Permanent Cosmetic Tattooist, and the license requires proof of a state-approved course lasting at least 60 hours. Below: the studio license, the agency that issues them, local rules and what Vermont says about microblading itself, each answered from Vermont's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.

Artist license
License needed
Studio license
License needed
Local rules
Not stated

Licensed by Vermont Secretary of State, Office of Professional Regulation (OPR).The agency's page The state's own words

The artist

Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in Vermont?

Yes. Anyone who does microblading or other permanent cosmetics in Vermont must be licensed by the Office of Professional Regulation, as a Permanent Cosmetic Tattooist, and the license requires proof of a state-approved course lasting at least 60 hours.

License needed
License needed
License name
Permanent Cosmetic Tattooist
Training hours
60 hours
State fee
$100

The studio

Does a microblading studio need a license in Vermont?

Yes. A shop that offers permanent cosmetics must register with the Office of Professional Regulation before it operates.

License needed
License needed
License name
Permanent Cosmetic Tattooist Shop
State fee
Not stated

Microblading by name

Is microblading considered tattooing in Vermont?

Yes, by name. The statute names microblading in its definition of the practice of permanent cosmetics, so microblading is covered by the same licensing rules.

Good to know

What else Vermont asks of permanent makeup artists

  • Applicants must complete a three-hour course in universal precautions and infectious diseases. Renewal also requires three hours of continuing education in that area.
  • A person under 18 may not practice tattooing, permanent cosmetics, or body piercing.
  • Licenses and registrations must be renewed every two years upon payment of the required fee.

Sources

What Vermont's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of Vermont's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with OPR before you start.

The artist's license
““Operator” means any person who practices tattooing, body piercing, or permanent cosmetics.”
legislature.vermont.gov
“A person shall not practice tattooing, permanent cosmetics, or body piercing unless that person is licensed in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.”
legislature.vermont.gov
“102 - Permanent Cosmetic Tattooist $275 $100”
outside.vermont.gov
“Permanent Cosmetic Tattooist -Microblading”
sos.vermont.gov
“As a prerequisite to licensure for the practice of permanent cosmetics, an applicant shall provide proof of a course of approved study lasting at least 60 hours.”
legislature.vermont.gov
The studio's license
“A shop shall not operate in this State without first registering with the Office of Professional Regulation and paying a fee of $100.00.”
legislature.vermont.gov
“177-Permanent Cosmetic Tattooist Shop $275 $115”
outside.vermont.gov
Who issues it
“Tattooist & Body Piercer Advisors, together with the Secretary of State’s Office of Professional Regulation (OPR), work to administer licensing for your profession.”
sos.vermont.gov
Microblading by name
““Practice of permanent cosmetics” means microblading and other practices involving placement of a specific type of tattoo”
legislature.vermont.gov
Also good to know
“Training shall include successful completion of a three-hour course in universal precautions and infectious diseases.”
legislature.vermont.gov
Also good to know
“A person under 18 years of age shall not practice tattooing, permanent cosmetics, or body piercing.”
legislature.vermont.gov
Also good to know
“Licenses and registrations shall be renewed every two years upon payment of the required fee.”
legislature.vermont.gov

Questions

Vermont microblading licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do microblading in Vermont?
Yes. Anyone who does microblading or other permanent cosmetics in Vermont must be licensed by the Office of Professional Regulation, as a Permanent Cosmetic Tattooist, and the license requires proof of a state-approved course lasting at least 60 hours.
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in Vermont?
Yes, by name. The statute names microblading in its definition of the practice of permanent cosmetics, so microblading is covered by the same licensing rules.
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in Vermont?
Yes. A shop that offers permanent cosmetics must register with the Office of Professional Regulation before it operates.
Who licenses permanent makeup artists in Vermont?
Vermont Secretary of State, Office of Professional Regulation (OPR).
How much does a permanent makeup license cost in Vermont?
The state fee for the Permanent Cosmetic Tattooist is $100, on Vermont's official pages. Training, a bloodborne pathogens course and any county permit cost extra.
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in Vermont?
Only if it is one of the licenses Vermont names for the work: Permanent Cosmetic Tattooist. A certificate from a microblading course is not a state license.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in Vermont: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Microblading and Permanent Makeup License in Vermont | SalonAI