Nebraska microblading and permanent makeup rules
Do you need a license to do microblading in Nebraska?
Yes. To do permanent makeup in Nebraska you need a Nebraska Permanent Color Technician license from DHHS, and you may only practice in a Nebraska-licensed body art facility. Below: the studio license, the agency that issues them, local rules and what Nebraska says about microblading itself, each answered from Nebraska's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.
- Artist license
- License needed
- Studio license
- License needed
- Artist fee
- Not stated
- Local rules
- County or city too
Licensed by Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Licensure Unit (Body Art).The agency's page The state's own words
The artist
Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in Nebraska?
Yes. To do permanent makeup in Nebraska you need a Nebraska Permanent Color Technician license from DHHS, and you may only practice in a Nebraska-licensed body art facility.
- License needed
- License needed
- License name
- Permanent Color Technician
- Training hours
- Not stated
- State fee
- Not stated
The studio
Does a microblading studio need a license in Nebraska?
Yes. A place where body art is performed must hold a Nebraska body art facility license from DHHS, and no person may establish or operate one without it.
- License needed
- License needed
- License name
- Body Art Facility License
- State fee
- Not stated
Microblading by name
Is microblading considered tattooing in Nebraska?
Not by name. Nebraska's official pages we read do not use the word microblading, but they license permanent makeup or tattooing, and microblading deposits pigment in the skin the same way. Ask the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services before you treat it as anything else.
Local rules
Do counties or cities license permanent makeup in Nebraska?
Yes. Many Nebraska cities and counties also require their own license to practice or operate a business, so check with local offices as well as the state.
Good to know
What else Nebraska asks of permanent makeup artists
- Initial licensure requires at least 4 hours of training within 3 years, covering bloodborne pathogens and basic first aid.
- To renew, a body artist must complete at least two hours of bloodborne pathogens training, which requires an examination.
- The DHHS 2025 renewal notice for body art licenses, including Permanent Color Technician, lists a renewal fee of $118.
Sources
What Nebraska's official pages say
Each answer above, in the words of Nebraska's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services before you start.
- The artist's license
“Body art means body piercing, branding, permanent color technology, and tattooing.”
dhhs.ne.gov “Permanent color technology means the process by which the skin is marked or colored by insertion of nontoxic dyes or pigments into or under the subcutaneous portion of the skin upon the body of a live human being so as to form indelible marks for cosmetic purposes.”
dhhs.ne.gov “(1) No person shall perform any of the practices of body art or display a sign to, or in any other way, advertise or purport to be engaged in the business of practicing body art unless such person is licensed by the department.”
dhhs.ne.gov “Includes permanent makeup/cosmetic tattoo. Inserts nontoxic dyes for cosmetic purposes.”
dhhs.ne.gov “no person may assume the title of cosmetologist, electrologist, esthetician, instructor, nail technician, nail technology instructor, esthetics instructor, permanent color technician, tattoo artist, body piercer, or body brander without first being licensed by the department”
dhhs.ne.gov - The studio's license
“No person shall establish or operate a body art facility in this state unless such facility is licensed by the department”
dhhs.ne.gov “Body Art Facility License Application”
dhhs.ne.gov - Who issues it
“Department of Health & Human Services/Division of Public Health/Licensure Unit”
dhhs.ne.gov - Local rules
“many cities and/or counties in Nebraska require a license to practice or to operate a business”
dhhs.ne.gov - Also good to know
“To qualify for licensure, you must have completed at least 4 hours of training within 3 years immediately prior to this application.”
dhhs.ne.gov - Also good to know
“To renew, a licensee must complete at least two hours of Bloodborne Pathogens (disease) training”
dhhs.ne.gov - Also good to know
“The renewal fee is $118.”
dhhs.ne.gov
Questions
Nebraska microblading licenses, answered
Do you need a license to do microblading in Nebraska?
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in Nebraska?
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in Nebraska?
Who licenses permanent makeup artists in Nebraska?
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in Nebraska?
Plan the rest
Licensed and ready to book clients
- Lash extensions, brow lamination, waxing and threading in Nebraska: which license each needs
- Microneedling, peels, laser and Botox: what an esthetician may do in Nebraska
- What Nebraska requires to open a salon or studio
- What Nebraska inspectors check in a salon
- Renting a room or a chair? Start from a booth rental agreement
Microblading rules in other states
Ready when you are
Licensed? Fill the book next
SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in Nebraska: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.