Ohio microblading and permanent makeup rules

Do you need a license to do microblading in Ohio?

Not stated at the state level. Ohio's body art rules name no license or registration for the individual artist. They require documented training for anyone doing body art, which includes permanent cosmetics, and approval of the business by the local board of health. Ask your county or city health department before you start. Below: the studio license, who licenses the work, local rules and what Ohio says about microblading itself, each answered from Ohio's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.

Artist license
Not stated
Studio license
License needed
Artist fee
Not stated
Local rules
County or city too

No state agency licenses the work; counties or cities do.The state's own words

The artist

Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in Ohio?

Not stated at the state level. Ohio's body art rules name no license or registration for the individual artist. They require documented training for anyone doing body art, which includes permanent cosmetics, and approval of the business by the local board of health. Ask your county or city health department before you start.

License needed
Not stated

The studio

Does a microblading studio need a license in Ohio?

Yes. A business offering body art, permanent cosmetics included, needs approval from the board of health of the city or district where it operates before it opens.

License needed
License needed
License name
Approval
State fee
Not stated

Microblading by name

Is microblading considered tattooing in Ohio?

Not by name. Ohio's official pages we read do not use the word microblading.

Local rules

Do counties or cities license permanent makeup in Ohio?

Yes. State law sends applications for approval to operate a tattooing or body piercing business to the local board of health of the city or general health district where the business is located, so local health boards approve and inspect these businesses.

Good to know

What else Ohio asks of permanent makeup artists

  • Clients under 18 need parent, guardian or custodian consent, and that person must sign a document and be present at the procedure.
  • Artists must hold records of first aid and bloodborne pathogen standard precautions training from a provider the board of health recognizes.
  • Approval remains valid for one year.

Sources

What Ohio's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of Ohio's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with your county or city health department before you start.

The studio's license
“no person shall operate a business offering body art services without first obtaining approval of the board of health in the jurisdiction in which the business will operate.”
codes.ohio.gov
“"Approval" means written approval from the board of health indicating that the body art establishment has been inspected and meets all terms of this chapter.”
codes.ohio.gov
“"Body art" means the practice of physical body adornment, including tattooing, permanent cosmetics and/or body piercing.”
codes.ohio.gov
Local rules
“shall apply to the board of health of the city or general health district in which the business is located”
codes.ohio.gov
Also good to know
“no person shall perform a body art procedure, or ear piercing procedure with an ear piercing gun on an individual who is under eighteen years of age, unless consent has been given”
codes.ohio.gov
Also good to know
“Standard precautions for preventing transmission of bloodborne and other infectious diseases.”
codes.ohio.gov
Also good to know
“Approval remains valid for one year”
codes.ohio.gov

Questions

Ohio microblading licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do microblading in Ohio?
Not stated at the state level. Ohio's body art rules name no license or registration for the individual artist. They require documented training for anyone doing body art, which includes permanent cosmetics, and approval of the business by the local board of health. Ask your county or city health department before you start.
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in Ohio?
Not by name. Ohio's official pages we read do not use the word microblading.
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in Ohio?
Yes. A business offering body art, permanent cosmetics included, needs approval from the board of health of the city or district where it operates before it opens.
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in Ohio?
Ohio's body art rules name no license or registration for the individual artist. They require documented training for anyone doing body art, which includes permanent cosmetics, and approval of the business by the local board of health. A certificate from a microblading course is not a state license; ask your county or city health department.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in Ohio: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Microblading and Permanent Makeup License in Ohio | SalonAI