Rhode Island microblading and permanent makeup rules
Do you need a license to do microblading in Rhode Island?
Yes. In Rhode Island, a person who does microblading or permanent makeup must hold a Department of Health tattoo artist registration, which the state's application form calls a Tattoo Artist license; the application fee for licensure is $90.00. Below: the studio license, the agency that issues them, local rules and what Rhode Island says about microblading itself, each answered from Rhode Island's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.
- Artist license
- License needed
- Studio license
- License needed
- Artist fee
- $90
- Local rules
- Not stated
Licensed by Rhode Island Department of Health (Tattooing / Body Piercing licensing).The agency's page The state's own words
The artist
Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in Rhode Island?
Yes. In Rhode Island, a person who does microblading or permanent makeup must hold a Department of Health tattoo artist registration, which the state's application form calls a Tattoo Artist license; the application fee for licensure is $90.00.
- License needed
- License needed
- License name
- Tattoo Artist registration, Tattoo Artist license
- Training hours
- Not stated
- State fee
- $90
The studio
Does a microblading studio need a license in Rhode Island?
Yes. A place that offers tattooing or permanent makeup must be registered with the Department of Health as a tattoo parlor/shop, and the tattoo parlor application fee is $90.00.
- License needed
- License needed
- License name
- Tattoo parlor/shop registration
- State fee
- $90
Microblading by name
Is microblading considered tattooing in Rhode Island?
Yes, by name. The state tattoo rules define tattooing to include microblading, so microblading is regulated under the same Department of Health registration as other tattooing.
Good to know
What else Rhode Island asks of permanent makeup artists
- Only Rhode Island registered tattoo artists, or duly licensed physicians, may practice tattooing, which the rules define to include permanent makeup.
- A person who provides permanent cosmetics only and has no apprenticeship or other listed credential may qualify with a course certificate, but the course must be in person with hands-on work on live models.
- The tattoo parlor apprenticeship program must span 18 months.
Sources
What Rhode Island's official pages say
Each answer above, in the words of Rhode Island's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with the Rhode Island Department of Health before you start.
- The artist's license
“For the purposes of these rules and regulations, “tattooing” includes cosmetic procedures such as eye lining, lip lining, microblading, or repigmentation, as defined in this Part.”
rules.sos.ri.gov “"Tattoo artist" means an individual who is registered in this state to practice tattooing or permanent makeup in accordance with the requirements of this Part.”
rules.sos.ri.gov “no person shall engage in the practice of tattooing or hold himself/herself as a tattoo artist in this state unless he/she is registered in this state under the statutory and regulatory provisions of this Part.”
rules.sos.ri.gov “IMPORTANT: Upon receipt of your completed application for licensure, a RI Dept of Health employee will contact you via email to schedule the RI Tattoo Artist or Body Piercing License Exam.”
health.ri.gov “For licensure only: Check or money order (preferred) made payable (in U.S. funds only) to RI General Treasurer in the amount of $90.00 and attached to the upper left-hand corner of the first (Top) page of the application.”
health.ri.gov - The studio's license
“No person, acting severally or jointly with any other person, shall conduct, maintain, or operate a tattoo parlor/shop in the state without a registration issued by the registration agency.”
rules.sos.ri.gov “Application fee is $90.00. Make your check or money order (preferred) payable to”
health.ri.gov - Who issues it
“"Registration agency" means the Rhode Island Department of Health.”
rules.sos.ri.gov - Also good to know
“Only individuals who hold current Rhode Island registration as a tattoo artist or a duly licensed physician shall practice tattooing”
rules.sos.ri.gov - Also good to know
“For individuals providing permanent cosmetics ONLY who do not have any of the above credentials: Certificate of completion from an approved course. (Courses must be completed in person with hands-on training on live models.)”
health.ri.gov - Also good to know
“A tattoo parlor’s apprenticeship training program must span eighteen (18) months from the apprentice registration date”
rules.sos.ri.gov
Questions
Rhode Island microblading licenses, answered
Do you need a license to do microblading in Rhode Island?
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in Rhode Island?
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in Rhode Island?
Who licenses permanent makeup artists in Rhode Island?
How much does a permanent makeup license cost in Rhode Island?
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in Rhode Island?
Plan the rest
Licensed and ready to book clients
- Lash extensions, brow lamination, waxing and threading in Rhode Island: which license each needs
- Microneedling, peels, laser and Botox: what an esthetician may do in Rhode Island
- What Rhode Island requires to open a salon or studio
- What Rhode Island inspectors check in a salon
- Renting a room or a chair? Start from a booth rental agreement
Microblading rules in other states
Ready when you are
Licensed? Fill the book next
SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in Rhode Island: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.