South Dakota microblading and permanent makeup rules

Do you need a license to do microblading in South Dakota?

Not stated at the state level. South Dakota has no state license for microblading or permanent makeup artists. State law counts microblading as tattooing and lets cities license tattoo practitioners, so check with the city where you will work. Ask your county or city health department before you start. Below: the studio license, who licenses the work, local rules and what South Dakota says about microblading itself, each answered from South Dakota's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.

Artist license
Not stated
Studio license
Not stated
Artist fee
Not stated
Local rules
County or city too

No state agency licenses the work; counties or cities do.The state's own words

The artist

Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in South Dakota?

Not stated at the state level. South Dakota has no state license for microblading or permanent makeup artists. State law counts microblading as tattooing and lets cities license tattoo practitioners, so check with the city where you will work. Ask your county or city health department before you start.

License needed
Not stated

The studio

Does a microblading studio need a license in South Dakota?

Not stated. South Dakota has no state studio license; state law sets minimum sanitation standards for tattoo establishments, and cities may license and inspect them. Ask your county or city health department.

License needed
Not stated

Microblading by name

Is microblading considered tattooing in South Dakota?

Yes, by name. South Dakota law defines tattooing to include microblading and similar techniques that simulate natural hair.

Local rules

Do counties or cities license permanent makeup in South Dakota?

Yes. State law lets municipalities license tattoo practitioners and inspect their establishments.

Good to know

What else South Dakota asks of permanent makeup artists

  • A tattoo artist may not provide services to a patron without first obtaining a signed consent.
  • Artists must keep a patron record (name, address, age, consent form, and tattoo locations and description) for at least two years.
  • The Cosmetology Commission does not regulate permanent makeup and tattooing, so a cosmetology license does not cover this work.

Sources

What South Dakota's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of South Dakota's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with your county or city health department before you start.

Local rules
“Any municipality may regulate the practice of tattooing, saline tattoo removal, and body piercing by licensing practitioners of tattooing, saline tattoo removal, or body piercing;”
sdlegislature.gov
Microblading by name
“The term includes microblading and similar techniques used to partially or fully simulate natural hair”
sdlegislature.gov
Also good to know
“A tattoo or saline tattoo removal artist may not provide services to a patron without first obtaining a signed consent.”
sdlegislature.gov
Also good to know
“This record must be available for inspection and kept for a period of at least two years.”
sdlegislature.gov
Also good to know
“permanent makeup and tattooing”
dlr.sd.gov

Questions

South Dakota microblading licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do microblading in South Dakota?
Not stated at the state level. South Dakota has no state license for microblading or permanent makeup artists. State law counts microblading as tattooing and lets cities license tattoo practitioners, so check with the city where you will work. Ask your county or city health department before you start.
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in South Dakota?
Yes, by name. South Dakota law defines tattooing to include microblading and similar techniques that simulate natural hair.
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in South Dakota?
Not stated. South Dakota has no state studio license; state law sets minimum sanitation standards for tattoo establishments, and cities may license and inspect them. Ask your county or city health department.
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in South Dakota?
South Dakota has no state license for microblading or permanent makeup artists. State law counts microblading as tattooing and lets cities license tattoo practitioners, so check with the city where you will work. A certificate from a microblading course is not a state license; ask your county or city health department.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in South Dakota: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Microblading and Permanent Makeup License in South Dakota | SalonAI