Indiana microblading and permanent makeup rules

Do you need a license to do microblading in Indiana?

Not stated at the state level. Indiana has no state license or registration for microblading or permanent makeup artists: the state's FAQ says the tattoo rule does not require artists to register with the state, and county health departments may set their own registration or licensing rules. Ask your county or city health department before you start. Below: the studio license, who licenses the work, local rules and what Indiana says about microblading itself, each answered from Indiana's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.

Artist license
Not stated
Studio license
Not stated
Artist fee
Not stated
Local rules
County or city too

No state agency licenses the work; counties or cities do.The state's own words

The artist

Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in Indiana?

Not stated at the state level. Indiana has no state license or registration for microblading or permanent makeup artists: the state's FAQ says the tattoo rule does not require artists to register with the state, and county health departments may set their own registration or licensing rules. Ask your county or city health department before you start.

License needed
Not stated

The studio

Does a microblading studio need a license in Indiana?

Not stated. Indiana has no state license for a permanent makeup studio; the state's FAQ sends shop owners to their county health department about local registration or licensing. Ask your county or city health department.

License needed
Not stated

Microblading by name

Is microblading considered tattooing in Indiana?

Yes, by name. A county copy of the state's tattoo fact sheet names eyebrow tattooing (microblading) as facial tattooing and says facial tattooing, permanent make-up included, is considered a tattoo.

Local rules

Do counties or cities license permanent makeup in Indiana?

Yes. The state's FAQ says county health departments may have their own rules on registering or licensing tattoo artists and facilities, and some inspect under county ordinances.

Good to know

What else Indiana asks of permanent makeup artists

  • The state tattoo rule does not require tattoo or piercing artists or shop owners to register with the Indiana State Department of Health.
  • All tattooists must receive yearly bloodborne pathogen training, which the state FAQ describes as training on how diseases are spread by contact with blood.
  • Anyone under 18 needs to be accompanied by, and have written permission from, a parent or legal guardian to get a tattoo or body piercing.

Sources

What Indiana's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of Indiana's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with your county or city health department before you start.

Local rules
“Tattoo and body piercing artists and shop owners should contact their local, county health department for local laws that might pertain to the registration or licensing of tattoo and body piercing facilities.”
secure.in.gov
“Some local health departments perform routine inspections based on county ordinances.”
secure.in.gov
Microblading by name
“Examples of facial tattooing include eyebrow tattooing (microblading), lip liner, eyeliner, or blush that looks like make-up.”
in.gov
Also good to know
“Require a tattoo or piercing artists or shop owners to register with the ISDH”
secure.in.gov
Also good to know
“All tattooists must receive yearly training concerning how diseases are spread by contact with blood”
secure.in.gov
Also good to know
“To receive a tattoo or body piercing, anyone under 18 years of age must be accompanied by, and have written permission from, a parent or legal guardian”
secure.in.gov

Questions

Indiana microblading licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do microblading in Indiana?
Not stated at the state level. Indiana has no state license or registration for microblading or permanent makeup artists: the state's FAQ says the tattoo rule does not require artists to register with the state, and county health departments may set their own registration or licensing rules. Ask your county or city health department before you start.
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in Indiana?
Yes, by name. A county copy of the state's tattoo fact sheet names eyebrow tattooing (microblading) as facial tattooing and says facial tattooing, permanent make-up included, is considered a tattoo.
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in Indiana?
Not stated. Indiana has no state license for a permanent makeup studio; the state's FAQ sends shop owners to their county health department about local registration or licensing. Ask your county or city health department.
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in Indiana?
Indiana has no state license or registration for microblading or permanent makeup artists: the state's FAQ says the tattoo rule does not require artists to register with the state, and county health departments may set their own registration or licensing rules. A certificate from a microblading course is not a state license; ask your county or city health department.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in Indiana: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Microblading and Permanent Makeup License in Indiana | SalonAI