Delaware microblading and permanent makeup rules

Do you need a license to do microblading in Delaware?

Not stated at the state level. Delaware's body art permit, which covers permanent make-up, goes to the establishment; the official pages we read name no separate license for the artist. Ask the Delaware Division of Public Health before you start. Below: the studio license, the agency that issues them, local rules and what Delaware says about microblading itself, each answered from Delaware's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.

Artist license
Not stated
Studio license
License needed
Local rules
Not stated

Licensed by Delaware Division of Public Health (Department of Health and Social Services), Community Environmental Health Services.The agency's page The state's own words

The artist

Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in Delaware?

Not stated at the state level. Delaware's body art permit, which covers permanent make-up, goes to the establishment; the official pages we read name no separate license for the artist. Ask the Delaware Division of Public Health before you start.

License needed
Not stated

The studio

Does a microblading studio need a license in Delaware?

Yes. Permanent make-up is body art in Delaware, so the establishment needs a permit from the Division of Public Health, renewed every year for a $100 fee.

License needed
License needed
License name
Permanent permit
State fee
$100

Microblading by name

Is microblading considered tattooing in Delaware?

Not by name. Delaware's official pages we read do not use the word microblading.

Good to know

What else Delaware asks of permanent makeup artists

  • The body art operator/technician must be at least 18 years old.
  • Body art establishment permits are renewed annually, with a $100 licensing fee.
  • A November 1, 2025 proposed rewrite of the body art rule would define permanent cosmetics to include microblading. It is not confirmed as adopted, so check the current rule before relying on it.

Sources

What Delaware's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of Delaware's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with the Delaware Division of Public Health before you start.

The studio's license
“written approval by the Division to operate a body art establishment.”
archive.regulations.delaware.gov
“shall issue a permit to a tattoo parlor or body piercing establishment”
delcode.delaware.gov
“Permanent make-up services are a form of body art/tattooing.”
dpr.delaware.gov
“You need a permit from the Division of Public Health.”
dpr.delaware.gov
“Permanent permit – a permit issued for businesses that operate at a fixed location.”
archive.regulations.delaware.gov
“Upon receipt of an application for a permit and a permit fee of $100”
delcode.delaware.gov
“The licensing fee for Body Art Establishments is $100.”
firststeps.delaware.gov
Who issues it
“the Delaware Division of Public Health as the agency”
archive.regulations.delaware.gov
Also good to know
“The body art operator/technician must be a minimum of eighteen (18) years of age.”
archive.regulations.delaware.gov
Also good to know
“Permits for Body Art Establishments are renewed annually.”
firststeps.delaware.gov
Also good to know
“means a tattoo, whether permanent, semipermanent, or temporary, by someone other”
regulations.delaware.gov

Questions

Delaware microblading licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do microblading in Delaware?
Not stated at the state level. Delaware's body art permit, which covers permanent make-up, goes to the establishment; the official pages we read name no separate license for the artist. Ask the Delaware Division of Public Health before you start.
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in Delaware?
Not by name. Delaware's official pages we read do not use the word microblading.
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in Delaware?
Yes. Permanent make-up is body art in Delaware, so the establishment needs a permit from the Division of Public Health, renewed every year for a $100 fee.
Who licenses permanent makeup artists in Delaware?
Delaware Division of Public Health (Department of Health and Social Services), Community Environmental Health Services.
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in Delaware?
Delaware's body art permit, which covers permanent make-up, goes to the establishment; the official pages we read name no separate license for the artist. A certificate from a microblading course is not a state license; ask the Delaware Division of Public Health.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in Delaware: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Microblading and Permanent Makeup License in Delaware | SalonAI