Connecticut microblading and permanent makeup rules

Do you need a license to do microblading in Connecticut?

Not stated at the state level. Connecticut licenses tattoo technicians through the Department of Public Health, but its tattoo law and pages do not say whether that license covers permanent makeup or microblading. Ask the Connecticut Department of Public Health before you start. Below: the studio license, the agency that issues them, local rules and what Connecticut says about microblading itself, each answered from Connecticut's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.

Artist license
Not stated
Studio license
Not stated
Artist fee
Not stated
Local rules
County or city too

Licensed by Connecticut Department of Public Health, Practitioner Licensing and Investigations Section (tattoo technician licensing).The agency's page The state's own words

The artist

Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in Connecticut?

Not stated at the state level. Connecticut licenses tattoo technicians through the Department of Public Health, but its tattoo law and pages do not say whether that license covers permanent makeup or microblading. Ask the Connecticut Department of Public Health before you start.

License needed
Not stated

The studio

Does a microblading studio need a license in Connecticut?

Not stated. Connecticut's tattoo law licenses individual tattoo technicians and lets local health directors inspect tattoo establishments; it names no separate studio license. Ask the Connecticut Department of Public Health.

License needed
Not stated

Microblading by name

Is microblading considered tattooing in Connecticut?

Not by name. Connecticut's official pages we read do not use the word microblading.

Local rules

Do counties or cities license permanent makeup in Connecticut?

Yes. Local health directors may inspect tattoo establishments each year under the state tattoo law.

Good to know

What else Connecticut asks of permanent makeup artists

  • Connecticut defines tattooing as marking or coloring the skin indelibly by pricking in coloring matter or producing scars; the definition does not name permanent cosmetics or microblading.
  • Under the tattoo statute, it is unlawful to practice tattooing on an unemancipated minor under 18 without the parent's or guardian's permission.
  • For tattoo technician licenses, renewal requires a bloodborne pathogens course with a proficiency exam, completed within six months before expiry.

Sources

What Connecticut's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of Connecticut's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with the Connecticut Department of Public Health before you start.

Who issues it
“has obtained a license or temporary permit from the Department of Public Health pursuant to this section”
cga.ct.gov
Local rules
“may, on an annual basis, inspect establishments where tattooing is practiced”
cga.ct.gov
Also good to know
“marking or coloring, in an indelible manner, the skin of any person by pricking in coloring matter or by producing scars”
cga.ct.gov
Also good to know
“practice tattooing on a person who is an unemancipated minor under eighteen years of age without the permission of such person's parent or guardian”
cga.ct.gov
Also good to know
“A licensee applying for license renewal shall, as a condition of license renewal, successfully complete a course on prevention of disease transmission and blood-borne pathogens”
cga.ct.gov

Questions

Connecticut microblading licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do microblading in Connecticut?
Not stated at the state level. Connecticut licenses tattoo technicians through the Department of Public Health, but its tattoo law and pages do not say whether that license covers permanent makeup or microblading. Ask the Connecticut Department of Public Health before you start.
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in Connecticut?
Not by name. Connecticut's official pages we read do not use the word microblading.
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in Connecticut?
Not stated. Connecticut's tattoo law licenses individual tattoo technicians and lets local health directors inspect tattoo establishments; it names no separate studio license. Ask the Connecticut Department of Public Health.
Who licenses permanent makeup artists in Connecticut?
Connecticut Department of Public Health, Practitioner Licensing and Investigations Section (tattoo technician licensing). Local health directors may inspect tattoo establishments each year under the state tattoo law.
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in Connecticut?
Connecticut licenses tattoo technicians through the Department of Public Health, but its tattoo law and pages do not say whether that license covers permanent makeup or microblading. A certificate from a microblading course is not a state license; ask the Connecticut Department of Public Health.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in Connecticut: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Microblading and Permanent Makeup License in Connecticut | SalonAI