Maryland microblading and permanent makeup rules

Do you need a license to do microblading in Maryland?

Not stated at the state level. Maryland has no state license for microblading or permanent makeup: the Board of Cosmetologists says it offers none, and the Department of Health does not license tattoo businesses. Some counties and Baltimore City regulate tattooing by local ordinance. Ask your county or city health department before you start. Below: the studio license, who licenses the work, local rules and what Maryland says about microblading itself, each answered from Maryland's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.

Artist license
Not stated
Studio license
Not stated
Artist fee
Not stated
Local rules
County or city too

No state agency licenses the work; counties or cities do.The state's own words

The artist

Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in Maryland?

Not stated at the state level. Maryland has no state license for microblading or permanent makeup: the Board of Cosmetologists says it offers none, and the Department of Health does not license tattoo businesses. Some counties and Baltimore City regulate tattooing by local ordinance. Ask your county or city health department before you start.

License needed
Not stated

The studio

Does a microblading studio need a license in Maryland?

Not stated. Cosmetic tattooing is not allowed in Maryland beauty salons, and the Department of Health does not license tattoo businesses; some counties and Baltimore City regulate them by local ordinance. Ask your county or city health department.

License needed
Not stated

Microblading by name

Is microblading considered tattooing in Maryland?

Yes, by name. The Board of Cosmetologists names microblading as cosmetic tattooing, which licensed salons may not offer.

Local rules

Do counties or cities license permanent makeup in Maryland?

Yes. The Department of Health says some local jurisdictions regulate tattoo and body piercing under local ordinance, and it lists examples such as Allegany County, Baltimore City, Calvert County, and Worcester County.

Good to know

What else Maryland asks of permanent makeup artists

  • The Board of Cosmetologists says it does not currently offer a license for microblading or permanent makeup.
  • Cosmetic tattooing, including microblading, is prohibited in any full service or limited practice salon or in regard to any salon-sponsored services.
  • Local ordinances may apply to tattoo and body piercing work in addition to any state rules.

Sources

What Maryland's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of Maryland's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with your county or city health department before you start.

Local rules
“Some local jurisdictions regulate tattoo and body piercing under local ordinance”
health.maryland.gov
Microblading by name
“Microblading and other forms of permanent, semi-permanent, or long-lasting make-up are all cosmetic tattooing.”
labor.maryland.gov
“We do not currently offer a license for microblading or permanent makeup. Cosmetic tattooing is prohibited in salons in Maryland.”
labor.maryland.gov
Also good to know
“Cosmetic tattooing is prohibited in any full service or limited practice salon or in regard to any salon-sponsored services.”
labor.maryland.gov

Questions

Maryland microblading licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do microblading in Maryland?
Not stated at the state level. Maryland has no state license for microblading or permanent makeup: the Board of Cosmetologists says it offers none, and the Department of Health does not license tattoo businesses. Some counties and Baltimore City regulate tattooing by local ordinance. Ask your county or city health department before you start.
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in Maryland?
Yes, by name. The Board of Cosmetologists names microblading as cosmetic tattooing, which licensed salons may not offer.
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in Maryland?
Not stated. Cosmetic tattooing is not allowed in Maryland beauty salons, and the Department of Health does not license tattoo businesses; some counties and Baltimore City regulate them by local ordinance. Ask your county or city health department.
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in Maryland?
Maryland has no state license for microblading or permanent makeup: the Board of Cosmetologists says it offers none, and the Department of Health does not license tattoo businesses. Some counties and Baltimore City regulate tattooing by local ordinance. A certificate from a microblading course is not a state license; ask your county or city health department.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in Maryland: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Microblading and Permanent Makeup License in Maryland | SalonAI