California microblading and permanent makeup rules
Do you need a license to do microblading in California?
Yes. A person who applies permanent cosmetics must be registered as a practitioner with the local enforcement agency (the county, city or city-and-county health agency) and may work only in a permitted body art facility. Below: the studio license, who licenses the work, local rules and what California says about microblading itself, each answered from California's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.
- Artist license
- License needed
- Studio license
- License needed
- Artist fee
- Not stated
- Local rules
- County or city too
No state agency licenses the work; counties or cities do.The state's own words
The artist
Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in California?
Yes. A person who applies permanent cosmetics must be registered as a practitioner with the local enforcement agency (the county, city or city-and-county health agency) and may work only in a permitted body art facility.
- License needed
- License needed
- License name
- Practitioner Registration
- Training hours
- Not stated
- State fee
- Not stated
The studio
Does a microblading studio need a license in California?
Yes. A body art facility must hold a health permit from the local enforcement agency before it does business, and it may not let anyone work there who lacks a valid practitioner registration.
- License needed
- License needed
- License name
- health permit
- State fee
- Not stated
Microblading by name
Is microblading considered tattooing in California?
Not by name. California's official pages we read do not use the word microblading, but they license permanent makeup or tattooing, and microblading deposits pigment in the skin the same way. Ask your county or city health department before you treat it as anything else.
Local rules
Do counties or cities license permanent makeup in California?
Yes. The local enforcement agency, the county, city or city-and-county health agency, registers body art practitioners, issues body art facility health permits and sets the fees.
Good to know
What else California asks of permanent makeup artists
- Clients must be at least 18 years old to receive a tattoo or permanent cosmetics application, regardless of parental consent.
- Before registering, a practitioner must complete Bloodborne Pathogens Exposure Control Training specific to their practice. This is a bloodborne course, not a tattoo training hours requirement.
- Practitioner registration must be renewed annually through a process set by the local enforcement agency.
Sources
What California's official pages say
Each answer above, in the words of California's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with your county or city health department before you start.
- The artist's license
““Body art” means body piercing, tattooing, branding, or application of permanent cosmetics.”
leginfo.legislature.ca.gov “A practitioner shall obtain all necessary permits to conduct business, including, but not limited to, being registered with the local enforcement agency.”
leginfo.legislature.ca.gov “A person shall not perform body art at any location other than a permitted permanent or temporary body art facility.”
leginfo.legislature.ca.gov “ARTICLE 3. Practitioner Registration [119306 - 119311]”
leginfo.legislature.ca.gov “No body art facility shall allow a practitioner who does not possess a valid practitioner registration to perform body art procedures at the facility.”
leginfo.legislature.ca.gov - The studio's license
“A body art facility shall not conduct business without a valid health permit.”
leginfo.legislature.ca.gov “ARTICLE 4. Permanent Body Art Facilities [119312 - 119315]”
leginfo.legislature.ca.gov - Local rules
““Local enforcement agency” means the local health agency of the county, city, or city and county.”
leginfo.legislature.ca.gov “Payment of a registration fee directly to the local enforcement agency.”
leginfo.legislature.ca.gov - Also good to know
“a client shall be at least 18 years of age to be offered or to receive a tattoo or permanent cosmetics application, regardless of parental consent.”
leginfo.legislature.ca.gov - Also good to know
“Prior to registering with the local enforcement agency, a practitioner shall complete a Bloodborne Pathogens Exposure Control Training program that is specific to his or her practice.”
leginfo.legislature.ca.gov - Also good to know
“Practitioner registration shall be renewed annually by a process to be determined by the local enforcement agency.”
leginfo.legislature.ca.gov
Questions
California microblading licenses, answered
Do you need a license to do microblading in California?
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in California?
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in California?
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in California?
Plan the rest
Licensed and ready to book clients
- Lash extensions, brow lamination, waxing and threading in California: which license each needs
- Microneedling, peels, laser and Botox: what an esthetician may do in California
- What California requires to open a salon or studio
- What California inspectors check in a salon
- Renting a room or a chair? Start from a booth rental agreement
Microblading rules in other states
Ready when you are
Licensed? Fill the book next
SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in California: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.