District of Columbia microblading and permanent makeup rules
Do you need a license to do microblading in District of Columbia?
Yes. A person who does body art, which in DC includes micro-pigmentation and cosmetic tattooing, needs a body artist license from the Board of Barber and Cosmetology, with at least 500 hours of apprenticeship under a DC-licensed body artist unless exempt. Below: the studio license, the agency that issues them, local rules and what District of Columbia says about microblading itself, each answered from District of Columbia's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.
- Artist license
- License needed
- Studio license
- License needed
- Artist fee
- Not stated
- Local rules
- Not stated
Licensed by District of Columbia Board of Barber and Cosmetology (Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection).The agency's page The state's own words
The artist
Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in District of Columbia?
Yes. A person who does body art, which in DC includes micro-pigmentation and cosmetic tattooing, needs a body artist license from the Board of Barber and Cosmetology, with at least 500 hours of apprenticeship under a DC-licensed body artist unless exempt.
- License needed
- License needed
- License name
- Body Artist license
- Training hours
- 500 hours
- State fee
- Not stated
The studio
Does a microblading studio need a license in District of Columbia?
Yes. A studio where body art procedures are performed needs a valid body art establishment license issued by the Mayor, and its body artists must each hold a body artist license.
- License needed
- License needed
- License name
- Body art establishment license
- State fee
- Not stated
Microblading by name
Is microblading considered tattooing in District of Columbia?
Not by name. District of Columbia's official pages we read do not use the word microblading, but they license permanent makeup or tattooing, and microblading deposits pigment in the skin the same way. Ask the District of Columbia Board of Barber and Cosmetology before you treat it as anything else.
Good to know
What else District of Columbia asks of permanent makeup artists
- Body artist applicants must hold a certificate of completion of a bloodborne pathogens, CPR and first aid course.
- Body artists must use single-use disposable sharps, pigments, gloves and cleansing products on each client.
- Body art procedures must be performed in a licensed body art establishment.
Sources
What District of Columbia's official pages say
Each answer above, in the words of District of Columbia's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with the District of Columbia Board of Barber and Cosmetology before you start.
- The artist's license
“"Tattoo" means the placing of pigment into the skin dermis for cosmetic or other non-medical purposes, including the process of micro-pigmentation or cosmetic tattooing.”
code.dccouncil.gov “No body art establishment shall employ or permit body artists to perform body art procedures in the body art establishment unless the body artist holds a valid body art license issued by the Mayor.”
code.dccouncil.gov “Body Artists (Tattooists, Piercers, Micropigmentation Specialists)”
dlcp.dc.gov “Has worked as an apprentice body artist, under the training of a body artist who has been licensed in the District of Columbia, for at least 500 hours;”
code.dccouncil.gov - The studio's license
“No person shall operate a body art establishment or perform body art procedures in a body art establishment unless that establishment has obtained a valid body art establishment license issued by the Mayor.”
code.dccouncil.gov - Who issues it
“The District of Columbia Board of Barber and Cosmetology oversees the practices of barbers, body artists, and cosmetologists”
dlcp.dc.gov - Also good to know
“Has received a certificate of completion of a course in blood borne pathogens, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and first aid”
code.dccouncil.gov - Also good to know
“Body art technicians shall use single-use disposable sharps, pigments, gloves, and cleansing products while performing body art procedures on each client.”
code.dccouncil.gov - Also good to know
“Body art technicians shall perform body art procedures in a licensed body art establishment.”
code.dccouncil.gov
Questions
District of Columbia microblading licenses, answered
Do you need a license to do microblading in District of Columbia?
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in District of Columbia?
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in District of Columbia?
Who licenses permanent makeup artists in District of Columbia?
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in District of Columbia?
Plan the rest
Licensed and ready to book clients
- Lash extensions, brow lamination, waxing and threading in District of Columbia: which license each needs
- Microneedling, peels, laser and Botox: what an esthetician may do in District of Columbia
- What District of Columbia requires to open a salon or studio
- What District of Columbia inspectors check in a salon
- Renting a room or a chair? Start from a booth rental agreement
Microblading rules in other states
Ready when you are
Licensed? Fill the book next
SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in District of Columbia: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.