Oklahoma microblading and permanent makeup rules

Do you need a license to do microblading in Oklahoma?

Not stated at the state level. Oklahoma's Health Department licenses medical micropigmentologists (21 or older, approved training, written and skills exams, a $500 application fee) and tattoo artists, but its pages we read do not say which license microblading falls under. Ask the Oklahoma State Department of Health before you start. Below: the studio license, the agency that issues them, local rules and what Oklahoma says about microblading itself, each answered from Oklahoma's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026.

Artist license
Not stated
Studio license
Not stated
Artist fee
Not stated
Local rules
Not stated

Licensed by Oklahoma State Department of Health, Consumer Health Service (Medical Micropigmentation license).The agency's page The state's own words

The artist

Do you need a license to do permanent makeup in Oklahoma?

Not stated at the state level. Oklahoma's Health Department licenses medical micropigmentologists (21 or older, approved training, written and skills exams, a $500 application fee) and tattoo artists, but its pages we read do not say which license microblading falls under. Ask the Oklahoma State Department of Health before you start.

License needed
Not stated

The studio

Does a microblading studio need a license in Oklahoma?

Not stated. Oklahoma's establishment rules are written for tattoo and body piercing establishments; its pages we read do not say whether a studio doing only microblading falls under them. Ask the Oklahoma State Department of Health.

License needed
Not stated

Microblading by name

Is microblading considered tattooing in Oklahoma?

Not by name. Oklahoma's official pages we read do not use the word microblading.

Good to know

What else Oklahoma asks of permanent makeup artists

  • Under the Health Department's tattoo rules, no one under 18 may receive a tattoo.
  • Under the Health Department's rules, no one may buy or possess tattoo equipment or supplies without holding either a medical micropigmentologist license or a tattoo artist license.
  • To hold a Medical Micropigmentation license, the applicant must be at least 21 years old.

Sources

What Oklahoma's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of Oklahoma's own statutes, rules or agency pages, read on October 24, 2026. Rules change, and counties can add their own: confirm with the Oklahoma State Department of Health before you start.

Who issues it
“Submit a correctly completed license and the required $500.00 application fee through the licensing portal.”
oklahoma.gov
Also good to know
“No person under eighteen (18) years of age shall be allowed to receive a tattoo.”
oklahoma.gov
Also good to know
“No person shall be allowed to purchase or possess tattoo equipment or supplies without being licensed either as an Oklahoma Medical Micropigmentologist or as an Oklahoma tattoo artist”
oklahoma.gov
Also good to know
“Be at least 21 years old.”
oklahoma.gov

Questions

Oklahoma microblading licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do microblading in Oklahoma?
Not stated at the state level. Oklahoma's Health Department licenses medical micropigmentologists (21 or older, approved training, written and skills exams, a $500 application fee) and tattoo artists, but its pages we read do not say which license microblading falls under. Ask the Oklahoma State Department of Health before you start.
Is microblading considered tattooing or permanent makeup in Oklahoma?
Not by name. Oklahoma's official pages we read do not use the word microblading.
Does a permanent makeup studio need a license in Oklahoma?
Not stated. Oklahoma's establishment rules are written for tattoo and body piercing establishments; its pages we read do not say whether a studio doing only microblading falls under them. Ask the Oklahoma State Department of Health.
Who licenses permanent makeup artists in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma State Department of Health, Consumer Health Service (Medical Micropigmentation license).
Does a cosmetology or esthetician license cover microblading in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma's Health Department licenses medical micropigmentologists (21 or older, approved training, written and skills exams, a $500 application fee) and tattoo artists, but its pages we read do not say which license microblading falls under. A certificate from a microblading course is not a state license; ask the Oklahoma State Department of Health.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a permanent makeup practice in Oklahoma: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits for long appointments, consent forms and touch-up reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Microblading and Permanent Makeup License in Oklahoma | SalonAI