Oklahoma lash and brow rules

Do you need a license to do lashes in Oklahoma?

Yes. Lash extensions need a Cosmetologist, Facialist/Esthetician or Eyelash Extension Specialist license; the specialty license course is 120 clock hours and the board lists a $80 fee. Below: lash lifts, tinting and brow lamination (license needed), waxing (not stated) and eyebrow threading (license needed), each answered from Oklahoma's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 23, 2026, with the state's own words.

Lash extensions
License needed
Lifts and tints
License needed
Waxing
Not stated
Threading
License needed

Licensed by the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.The board's site Hours and fees for each licenseThe state's own words

Lash extensions

Do you need a license to do lash extensions in Oklahoma?

Yes. Lash extensions need a Cosmetologist, Facialist/Esthetician or Eyelash Extension Specialist license; the specialty license course is 120 clock hours and the board lists a $80 fee.

License needed
License needed
License for this work alone
Eyelash Extension Specialist, 120 hours of training, $80

Oklahoma is one of 9 states with a license for lash extensions alone.

Lash lifts, tinting and brow lamination

Do you need a license to do lash lifts, tinting or brow lamination in Oklahoma?

Yes. Lash tinting and lifting are named in the rule's definition of eyelash extensions, so they need the same licenses; brow tinting and brow lamination are not addressed.

License needed
License needed
License for this work alone
Eyelash Extension Specialist, 120 hours of training, $80

Oklahoma is one of 3 states with a license for lash lifts, tinting and brow lamination alone.

Waxing

Do you need a license to do waxing in Oklahoma?

Not stated. Oklahoma's official pages we read do not say whether waxing needs a license. Ask the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering before you offer it.

License needed
Not stated

Eyebrow threading

Do you need a license to do eyebrow threading in Oklahoma?

Yes. Threading needs a Threading Technician, Cosmetologist, Facialist/Esthetician or Barber license; the Threading Technician license has a $50 application fee and no training hours are stated.

License needed
License needed
License for this work alone
Threading Technician, $50

Oklahoma is one of 5 states with a license for eyebrow threading alone.

Good to know

What else Oklahoma asks of lash and brow artists

  • Roll-on wax is prohibited for waxing services.
  • Eyelash extension licensees must wash their hands with soap and water before any service on a client.
  • The board's cosmetology page says the Act does not prohibit non-permanent hair removal that does not puncture the skin; it does not say whether that allows unlicensed waxing.

Sources

What Oklahoma's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of Oklahoma's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 23, 2026. Rules change: confirm with the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering before you start offering a service.

Lash extensions
“Only a licensed Facialist/Esthetician, Cosmetologist or Eyelash Extension Specialist may perform”
oklahoma.gov
“Total hours one hundred twenty 120) clock hours.”
oklahoma.gov
“Eyelash Extension Tech License - $80”
oklahoma.gov
Lash lifts, tinting and brow lamination
“includes the cleansing of the eye area and lashes, as well as tinting,”
oklahoma.gov
“laminating and lifting lashes.”
oklahoma.gov
“Only a licensed Facialist/Esthetician, Cosmetologist or Eyelash Extension Specialist may perform”
oklahoma.gov
“Total hours one hundred twenty 120) clock hours.”
oklahoma.gov
“Eyelash Extension Tech License - $80”
oklahoma.gov
Waxing
“licensed by the Board to perform skin care, make-up and hair removal services to the public”
oklahoma.gov
“Services include applying eyelashes or removing facial hair by tweezing, depilatories or waxing.”
oklahoma.gov
Eyebrow threading
“A Threading Technician is a person licensed by the Board to perform temporary hair removal by using thread”
oklahoma.gov
“Only licensed Facialist/Estheticians, Cosmetologists, Threading Technician or Barbers may perform”
oklahoma.gov
“"Threading Technician" means a person with a limited specialty cosmetology license issued”
oklahoma.gov
“Application/Initial Fee - $50.00”
oklahoma.gov
Also good to know
“(a) Roll on wax is prohibited”
oklahoma.gov
Also good to know
“Each licensee performing eyelash extensions shall wash his or her hands with soap and water”
oklahoma.gov
Also good to know
“Nothing in the Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act shall be construed to prohibit the use of hands or mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances for the non-permanent removal of hair from the human body without puncturing of the skin”
oklahoma.gov

Questions

Oklahoma lash and brow licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do lash extensions in Oklahoma?
Yes. Lash extensions need a Cosmetologist, Facialist/Esthetician or Eyelash Extension Specialist license; the specialty license course is 120 clock hours and the board lists a $80 fee. Hours and fees for each license are on the Oklahoma cosmetology license page.
Do you need a license to do lash lifts, tinting or brow lamination in Oklahoma?
Yes. Lash tinting and lifting are named in the rule's definition of eyelash extensions, so they need the same licenses; brow tinting and brow lamination are not addressed. Hours and fees for each license are on the Oklahoma cosmetology license page.
Do you need a license to do waxing in Oklahoma?
Not stated. Oklahoma's official pages we read do not say whether waxing needs a license. Ask the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering before you offer it. Hours and fees for each license are on the Oklahoma cosmetology license page.
Do you need a license to do eyebrow threading in Oklahoma?
Yes. Threading needs a Threading Technician, Cosmetologist, Facialist/Esthetician or Barber license; the Threading Technician license has a $50 application fee and no training hours are stated. Hours and fees for each license are on the Oklahoma cosmetology license page.
What do you need to open a lash or brow studio in Oklahoma?
Your own license for the services you offer, and usually a license for the studio itself as a business. See what Oklahoma requires to open a salon, with its fees and inspection rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a lash and brow practice in Oklahoma: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits and fill reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Do You Need a License to Do Lashes in Oklahoma? (2026) | SalonAI