Tennessee lash and brow rules

Do you need a license to do lashes in Tennessee?

Yes. Lash extensions need a cosmetologist, aesthetician or eyelash specialist license; the eyelash specialist license requires 300 hours of training and a $60 original license fee. Below: lash lifts, tinting and brow lamination (not stated), waxing (license needed) and eyebrow threading (license needed), each answered from Tennessee's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 23, 2026, with the state's own words.

Lash extensions
License needed
Lifts and tints
Not stated
Waxing
License needed
Threading
License needed

Licensed by the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.The board's site Hours and fees for each licenseThe state's own words

Lash extensions

Do you need a license to do lash extensions in Tennessee?

Yes. Lash extensions need a cosmetologist, aesthetician or eyelash specialist license; the eyelash specialist license requires 300 hours of training and a $60 original license fee.

License needed
License needed
License for this work alone
Eyelash Specialist, 300 hours of training, $60

Tennessee is one of 9 states with a license for lash extensions alone.

Lash lifts, tinting and brow lamination

Do you need a license to do lash lifts, tinting or brow lamination in Tennessee?

Not stated. Tennessee's official pages we read do not say whether lash lifts, tinting and brow lamination need a license. Ask the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners before you offer them.

License needed
Not stated

Waxing

Do you need a license to do waxing in Tennessee?

Yes. Waxing needs a cosmetologist or aesthetician license.

License needed
License needed
Licenses that allow it
Cosmetologist, Aesthetician
License for this work alone
None

Eyebrow threading

Do you need a license to do eyebrow threading in Tennessee?

Yes. Tennessee's aesthetics rule covers removing superfluous hair by all customary means, so threading needs an aesthetician license; threading is not named, so confirm with the board.

License needed
License needed
Licenses that allow it
Aesthetician
License for this work alone
None

Good to know

What else Tennessee asks of lash and brow artists

  • An eyelash specialist course must be at least 300 hours, including at least 8 hours of theory, and cover eyelash extension application and isolation procedures.
  • A place where a licensee performs only eyelash services is an eyelash services shop.
  • A license is not required for makeup services alone, but any other cosmetologist, eyelash specialist or aesthetician work requires one of those licenses.

Sources

What Tennessee's official pages say

Each answer above, in the words of Tennessee's own statutes, rules or board pages, read on October 23, 2026. Rules change: confirm with the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners before you start offering a service.

Lash extensions
“(K) Providing eyelash services;”
publications.tnsosfiles.com
“Cosmetologist, Eyelash Specialist, or an Aesthetician, you must hold one of those licenses.”
support.commerce.tn.gov
“place or apply artificial eyelashes”
tn.gov
“places or applies artificial eyelashes”
tn.gov
“(300) hours in classroom instruction and practical experience, including at least eight”
publications.tnsosfiles.com
“Eyelash Specialist$60”
tn.gov
Waxing
“remove superfluous hair by tweezing, depilatories, or waxing”
tn.gov
“Removal of superfluous hair by all customary means not including electrolysis.”
publications.tnsosfiles.com
“removes superfluous hair by tweezing, depilatories or waxing”
tn.gov
Eyebrow threading
“Removal of superfluous hair by all customary means not including electrolysis.”
publications.tnsosfiles.com
Also good to know
“(300) hours in classroom instruction and practical experience, including at least eight”
publications.tnsosfiles.com
Also good to know
“"Eyelash services shop" means a place of business where a person licensed”
publications.tnsosfiles.com
Also good to know
“If you are _just_ doing makeup services, whether for a fee or not, a license is not required.”
support.commerce.tn.gov

Questions

Tennessee lash and brow licenses, answered

Do you need a license to do lash extensions in Tennessee?
Yes. Lash extensions need a cosmetologist, aesthetician or eyelash specialist license; the eyelash specialist license requires 300 hours of training and a $60 original license fee. Hours and fees for each license are on the Tennessee cosmetology license page.
Do you need a license to do lash lifts, tinting or brow lamination in Tennessee?
Not stated. Tennessee's official pages we read do not say whether lash lifts, tinting and brow lamination need a license. Ask the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners before you offer them.
Do you need a license to do waxing in Tennessee?
Yes. Waxing needs a cosmetologist or aesthetician license. Hours and fees for each license are on the Tennessee cosmetology license page.
Do you need a license to do eyebrow threading in Tennessee?
Yes. Tennessee's aesthetics rule covers removing superfluous hair by all customary means, so threading needs an aesthetician license; threading is not named, so confirm with the board. Hours and fees for each license are on the Tennessee cosmetology license page.
What do you need to open a lash or brow studio in Tennessee?
Your own license for the services you offer, and usually a license for the studio itself as a business. See what Tennessee requires to open a salon, with its fees and inspection rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Fill the book next

SalonAI plans the business side of a lash and brow practice in Tennessee: a website clients can book from in one tap, deposits and fill reminders, your Google profile and Instagram, reviews and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Do You Need a License to Do Lashes in Tennessee? (2026) | SalonAI