Tennessee beauty licenses

Tennessee cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Tennessee you need a Cosmetologist license from the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners. It takes 1,500 hours of school and $60 in state fees. Exams: written and practical examinations (PSI). Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Tennessee cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
Training
1,500 hoursAbout 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written and practical examinations (PSI)
Who can apply
At least 16 years old
State fees, first license
$60
Renewal
Every 2 years, $60
Continuing education
Not stated

Tennessee's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

Tennessee barber license

Tennessee calls it the Master Barber license.

License
Master Barber
Issued by
The Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
Training
1,500 hoursAbout 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Not stated
Who can apply
At least 16 years old
State fees, first license
$60
Renewal
Every 2 years, $60
Continuing education
Not stated

Tennessee's 1,500 hours are more than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Tennessee nail technician license

Tennessee calls it the Manicurist license.

License
Manicurist
Issued by
The Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
Training
600 hoursAbout 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written and practical examinations (PSI)
Who can apply
At least 16 years old
State fees, first license
$60
Renewal
Every 2 years, $60
Continuing education
Not stated

Tennessee's 600 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Tennessee esthetician license

Tennessee calls it the Aesthetician license.

License
Aesthetician
Issued by
The Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
Training
750 hoursAbout 5 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written and practical examinations (PSI)
Who can apply
At least 16 years old
State fees, first license
$60
Renewal
Every 2 years, $60
Continuing education
Not stated

Tennessee's 750 hours are more than the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Tennessee requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Tennessee requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Tennessee.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

Reciprocity: the other state's board sends a Certification of License, and you complete the Out of State application on CORE; if you have fewer hours than Tennessee requires, you must also submit proof of work history.

Good to know in Tennessee

  • You may not work until you receive your license or can confirm you are active on the board's verification site.
  • A license expired more than three years becomes invalid and requires reinstatement exams.
  • Tennessee has a minimum hour requirement and a theory and practical exam for all license types.

Sources

What Tennessee's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“A cosmetologist performs, for compensation, arranging, dressing, curling, waving”
tn.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“Completion of 1,500 hours in practice and theory at a school of cosmetology.”
tn.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“A written and practical examination is required.”
tn.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“Be at least sixteen (16) years of age.”
tn.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“The fee for the application is $60.”
tn.gov
“Eyelash Specialist$60”
tn.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Eyelash Specialist$60”
tn.gov
“Your license expires every two years”
tn.gov
Barber: license
“Tennessee Master Barber License”
tn.gov
Barber: training hours
“Satisfactory completion of fifteen hundred (1,500) hours in a registered barber school.”
tn.gov
Barber: who can apply
“Be at least sixteen (16) years of age.”
tn.gov
Barber: fees
“The fee for an initial application is $60.”
tn.gov
“Eyelash Specialist$60”
tn.gov
Barber: renewal
“Eyelash Specialist$60”
tn.gov
“Your license expires every two years”
tn.gov
Nail technician: license
“A manicurist is a person who manicures or pedicures the nails of any person”
tn.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“Satisfactory completion of a course of instruction of not less than 600 hours in the practice and theory of manicuring”
tn.gov
Nail technician: exams
“A written and practical examination is required.”
tn.gov
Nail technician: who can apply
“Be at least sixteen (16) years of age.”
tn.gov
Nail technician: fees
“The fee for the application is $60.”
tn.gov
“Eyelash Specialist$60”
tn.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“Eyelash Specialist$60”
tn.gov
“Your license expires every two years”
tn.gov
Esthetician: license
“An aesthetician does one or more of the following:”
tn.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“Satisfactory completion of a course of instruction of not less than 750 hours in the practice and theory of aesthetics”
tn.gov
Esthetician: exams
“A written and practical examination is required.”
tn.gov
Esthetician: who can apply
“Be at least sixteen (16) years of age.”
tn.gov
Esthetician: fees
“The fee for the application is $60.”
tn.gov
“Eyelash Specialist$60”
tn.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“Eyelash Specialist$60”
tn.gov
“Your license expires every two years”
tn.gov
Licensed in another state
“Reciprocity - _All License Types_$100”
tn.gov
“States in which the licensee has substantially met the qualifications for licensing in Tennessee may be eligible to receive a reciprocal license.”
tn.gov
Also good to know
“You may not work until you receive your license or can confirm you are active by visiting”
tn.gov
Also good to know
“Licenses expired more than three (3) years become invalid”
tn.gov
Also good to know
“Tennessee has a minimum hour requirement, as well as a theory and practical exam for all license types.”
tn.gov

Questions

Tennessee beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Tennessee?
1,500 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Tennessee's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Tennessee?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $60, and it renews every 2 years, $60. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Tennessee?
The Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years for $60. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Tennessee?
Tennessee calls it a Manicurist license, issued by the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners. It takes 600 hours of training, written and practical examinations (PSI), $60 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $60.
How do you get an esthetician license in Tennessee?
Tennessee calls it an Aesthetician license, issued by the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners. It takes 750 hours of training, written and practical examinations (PSI), $60 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $60.
How do you get a barber license in Tennessee?
Tennessee calls it a Master Barber license, issued by the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners. It takes 1,500 hours of training, $60 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $60.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Tennessee?
Reciprocity: the other state's board sends a Certification of License, and you complete the Out of State application on CORE; if you have fewer hours than Tennessee requires, you must also submit proof of work history. The fee is $100. Apply with the Tennessee Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Tennessee?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Tennessee requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Tennessee: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Tennessee Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI