Maine beauty licenses

Maine cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Maine you need a Cosmetologist license from the Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR). It takes 1,500 hours of school and $20 in state fees. Exams: NIC written and practical exams. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 23, 2026.

Licensed by OPOR.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Maine cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR)
Training
1,500 hoursAbout 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
2,500 hours
Exams
NIC written and practical exams
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$20
Exam fees to the testing company
written exam $99 plus practical exam $149Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
Every year, $20
Continuing education
Not stated

Maine's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

Maine barber license

Maine calls it the Barber Hair Stylist license.

License
Barber Hair Stylist
Issued by
The Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR)
Training
800 hoursAbout 5 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
1,600 hours
Exams
NIC written and practical exams
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$20
Exam fees to the testing company
written exam $99 plus practical exam $149Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
Every year, $20
Continuing education
Not stated

Maine's 800 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Maine nail technician license

License
Nail Technician
Issued by
The Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR)
Training
200 hoursAbout 1 month of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
400 hours
Exams
NIC written and practical exams
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$20
Exam fees to the testing company
written exam $99 plus practical exam $149Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
Every year, $20
Continuing education
Not stated

Maine's 200 hours are fewer than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Maine esthetician license

Maine calls it the Aesthetician license.

License
Aesthetician
Issued by
The Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR)
Training
600 hoursAbout 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
1,000 hours
Exams
NIC written and practical exams
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$20
Exam fees to the testing company
written exam $99 plus practical exam $149Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
Every year, $20
Continuing education
Not stated

Maine's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Maine requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Maine requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Maine.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

By endorsement: proof of a license from another U.S. state or jurisdiction, with no cause for denial; the applicant must also pass Maine's two-part exam and pay the fee.

Good to know in Maine

  • A temporary license lets a qualified applicant work under direct supervision in a licensed establishment while awaiting the exam; it expires after 6 months and cannot be renewed.
  • The licensing exam is the NIC two-part exam: a written part and a practical part.
  • Renewing after the expiration date carries a $50 late fee.

Sources

What Maine's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 23, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“The director shall furnish to each licensed cosmetologist, barber hair stylist, hair designer, nail technician or aesthetician a license certifying that the holder of that license is entitled to practice in this State.”
legislature.maine.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“Has satisfactorily completed a course of instruction in cosmetology of 1,500 hours in not less than 9 months in a school licensed by the director”
legislature.maine.gov
Cosmetologist: apprenticeship
“has experience in the practice of cosmetology as a trainee of 2,500 hours distributed over a period of at least 18 months”
legislature.maine.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“Has passed an approved examination.”
legislature.maine.gov
“consists of the NIC National Written Examination and the NIC National Practical”
maine.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“$20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20”
maine.gov
“Each written exam costs $99.00 and each practical”
maine.gov
“exam costs $149.00. The exam fee is the same whether”
maine.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Annual renewal fee $20.00”
maine.gov
“Annually October 31st.”
maine.gov
Barber: license
“The director shall furnish to each licensed cosmetologist, barber hair stylist, hair designer, nail technician or aesthetician a license certifying that the holder of that license is entitled to practice in this State.”
legislature.maine.gov
Barber: training hours
“Has satisfactorily completed a course of instruction in the practice of barber hair styling of 800 hours in not less than 5 months in a school licensed by the director”
legislature.maine.gov
Barber: apprenticeship
“has experience in the practice of barber hair styling as a trainee of 1,600 hours distributed over a period of at least 10 months”
legislature.maine.gov
Barber: exams
“Has passed an approved examination.”
legislature.maine.gov
“consists of the NIC National Written Examination and the NIC National Practical”
maine.gov
Barber: fees
“$20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20”
maine.gov
“Each written exam costs $99.00 and each practical”
maine.gov
“exam costs $149.00. The exam fee is the same whether”
maine.gov
Barber: renewal
“Annual renewal fee $20.00”
maine.gov
“Annually October 31st.”
maine.gov
Nail technician: license
“The director shall furnish to each licensed cosmetologist, barber hair stylist, hair designer, nail technician or aesthetician a license certifying that the holder of that license is entitled to practice in this State.”
legislature.maine.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“Has satisfactorily completed a course of instruction in nail technology of 200 hours in not less than 5 weeks in a school licensed by the director”
legislature.maine.gov
Nail technician: apprenticeship
“has experience in the practice of nail technology as a trainee of 400 hours distributed over a period of at least 10 weeks”
legislature.maine.gov
Nail technician: exams
“Has passed an approved examination.”
legislature.maine.gov
“consists of the NIC National Written Examination and the NIC National Practical”
maine.gov
Nail technician: fees
“$20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20”
maine.gov
“Each written exam costs $99.00 and each practical”
maine.gov
“exam costs $149.00. The exam fee is the same whether”
maine.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“Annual renewal fee $20.00”
maine.gov
“Annually October 31st.”
maine.gov
Esthetician: license
“The director shall furnish to each licensed cosmetologist, barber hair stylist, hair designer, nail technician or aesthetician a license certifying that the holder of that license is entitled to practice in this State.”
legislature.maine.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“Has satisfactorily completed a course of instruction in aesthetics of 600 hours in not less than 3 months in a school licensed by the director”
legislature.maine.gov
Esthetician: apprenticeship
“or has experience in the practice of aesthetics as a trainee of up to 1,000 hours distributed over a period of at least 6 months”
legislature.maine.gov
Esthetician: exams
“Has passed an approved examination.”
legislature.maine.gov
“consists of the NIC National Written Examination and the NIC National Practical”
maine.gov
Esthetician: fees
“$20 $20 $20 $20 $20 $20”
maine.gov
“Each written exam costs $99.00 and each practical”
maine.gov
“exam costs $149.00. The exam fee is the same whether”
maine.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“Annual renewal fee $20.00”
maine.gov
“Annually October 31st.”
maine.gov
Licensed in another state
“The director may issue a license to any applicant who presents proof of being licensed to practice by another state or other jurisdiction of the United States”
legislature.maine.gov
“An applicant applying by endorsement shall be subject to the Maine required”
maine.gov
Also good to know
“A temporary license expires 6 months from the date of issuance and is not renewable.”
legislature.maine.gov
Also good to know
“consists of the NIC National Written Examination and the NIC National Practical”
maine.gov
Also good to know
“A person who submits an application for renewal after the expiration date is subject to a late fee of $50.00;”
maine.gov

Questions

Maine beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Maine?
1,500 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license, or 2,500 hours as an apprentice. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Maine's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Maine?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $20, and it renews every year, $20. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Maine?
The Cosmetologist license renews every year for $20. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with OPOR before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Maine?
Maine calls it a Nail Technician license, issued by the Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR). It takes 200 hours of training, NIC written and practical exams, $20 in state fees. It renews every year, $20.
How do you get an esthetician license in Maine?
Maine calls it an Aesthetician license, issued by the Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR). It takes 600 hours of training, NIC written and practical exams, $20 in state fees. It renews every year, $20.
How do you get a barber license in Maine?
Maine calls it a Barber Hair Stylist license, issued by the Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR). It takes 800 hours of training, NIC written and practical exams, $20 in state fees. It renews every year, $20.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Maine?
By endorsement: proof of a license from another U.S. state or jurisdiction, with no cause for denial; the applicant must also pass Maine's two-part exam and pay the fee. Apply with OPOR.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Maine?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Maine requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Maine: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Maine Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI