Arizona beauty licenses

Arizona cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Arizona you need a Cosmetologist license from the Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board. It takes 1,500 hours of school and $60 in state fees. Exams: written (theory) and practical exams, computer-based, through PCS. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by the Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Arizona cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board
Training
1,500 hoursAn apprenticeship route is also allowed. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written (theory) and practical exams, computer-based, through PCS
Who can apply
16 years old with two years of high school or equivalent, or 18 years old
State fees, first license
$60
Exam fees to the testing company
written exam $100 plus practical exam $77Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
Every 2 years, $60
Continuing education
Not stated

Arizona's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

Arizona barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board
Training
1,200 hoursAn apprenticeship route is also allowed. About 8 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written (theory) and practical exams, computer-based, through PCS
Who can apply
16 years old with two years of high school or equivalent, or 18 years old
State fees, first license
$40
Exam fees to the testing company
written exam $100 plus practical exam $77Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
Every 2 years, $80
Continuing education
Not stated

Arizona's 1,200 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Arizona nail technician license

License
Nail technician
Issued by
The Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board
Training
600 hoursAn apprenticeship route is also allowed. About 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written (theory) and practical exams, computer-based, through PCS
Who can apply
16 years old with two years of high school or equivalent, or 18 years old
State fees, first license
$60
Exam fees to the testing company
written exam $100 plus practical exam $77Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
Every 2 years, $60
Continuing education
Not stated

Arizona's 600 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Arizona esthetician license

Arizona calls it the Aesthetician license.

License
Aesthetician
Issued by
The Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board
Training
600 hoursAn apprenticeship route is also allowed. About 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written (theory) and practical exams, computer-based, through PCS
Who can apply
16 years old with two years of high school or equivalent, or 18 years old
State fees, first license
$60
Exam fees to the testing company
written exam $100 plus practical exam $77Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
Every 2 years, $60
Continuing education
Not stated

Arizona's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Arizona requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Arizona requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Arizona.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

License-for-license reciprocity: a current license from another state held for at least one year and in good standing, with an official license verification from that state. Barbers pay $175.

Good to know in Arizona

  • The written and practical exams cost $177 in total, paid to Virtual Inc. (PCS).
  • A failed exam part only needs to be retaken for that part.
  • A $3 service fee is added to every fee.

Sources

What Arizona's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“"Cosmetologist" means a person who is licensed to practice cosmetology pursuant to this chapter.”
azleg.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“Cosmetology: 1,500 hours”
bcb.az.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“All exams are computer-based for theory and practical exams.”
bcb.az.gov
“Take and pass both the written and practical exams through Virtual Inc. (PCS)”
bcb.az.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“Completes and receives appropriate credits for at least two years of high school education or its equivalent as prescribed by the board in its rules and submits satisfactory evidence that the person is at least sixteen years of age.”
azleg.gov
“Submits to the board satisfactory evidence that the person is at least eighteen years of age.”
azleg.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“Personal License | Initial: $40 Renewal: $80 Delinquent: $25-$75 | Initial: $60 Renewal: $60 Delinquent: $30”
bcb.az.gov
“Written Examination (Paid to a third-party testing organization) | $100 | $100”
bcb.az.gov
“Practical Examination(Paid to a third-party testing organization) | $77 | $77”
bcb.az.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Personal License | Initial: $40 Renewal: $80 Delinquent: $25-$75 | Initial: $60 Renewal: $60 Delinquent: $30”
bcb.az.gov
“Licenses expire every two years on your birthday.”
bcb.az.gov
Barber: license
“"Barber" means a person who is licensed to practice barbering pursuant to this chapter.”
azleg.gov
Barber: training hours
“Barbering: 1,200 hours”
bcb.az.gov
Barber: exams
“Barber exams have computer-based exams for both their theory and practical.”
bcb.az.gov
“Take and pass both the written and practical exams through Virtual Inc. (PCS)”
bcb.az.gov
Barber: who can apply
“Submits satisfactory evidence that the person is at least sixteen years old and has completed and received appropriate credits for at least two years of high school education or its equivalent as prescribed in rules adopted by the board.”
azleg.gov
“Submits to the board satisfactory evidence that the person is at least eighteen years of age.”
azleg.gov
Barber: fees
“Personal License | Initial: $40 Renewal: $80 Delinquent: $25-$75 | Initial: $60 Renewal: $60 Delinquent: $30”
bcb.az.gov
“Written Examination (Paid to a third-party testing organization) | $100 | $100”
bcb.az.gov
“Practical Examination(Paid to a third-party testing organization) | $77 | $77”
bcb.az.gov
Barber: renewal
“Personal License | Initial: $40 Renewal: $80 Delinquent: $25-$75 | Initial: $60 Renewal: $60 Delinquent: $30”
bcb.az.gov
“Licenses expire every two years on your birthday.”
bcb.az.gov
Nail technician: license
“"Nail technician" means a person who is licensed to practice nail technology pursuant to this chapter.”
azleg.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“Nail Technology: 600 hours”
bcb.az.gov
Nail technician: exams
“All exams are computer-based for theory and practical exams.”
bcb.az.gov
“Take and pass both the written and practical exams through Virtual Inc. (PCS)”
bcb.az.gov
Nail technician: who can apply
“Completes and receives appropriate credits for at least two years of high school education or its equivalent as prescribed by the board in its rules and submits satisfactory evidence that the person is at least sixteen years of age.”
azleg.gov
“Submits to the board satisfactory evidence that the person is at least eighteen years of age.”
azleg.gov
Nail technician: fees
“Personal License | Initial: $40 Renewal: $80 Delinquent: $25-$75 | Initial: $60 Renewal: $60 Delinquent: $30”
bcb.az.gov
“Written Examination (Paid to a third-party testing organization) | $100 | $100”
bcb.az.gov
“Practical Examination(Paid to a third-party testing organization) | $77 | $77”
bcb.az.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“Personal License | Initial: $40 Renewal: $80 Delinquent: $25-$75 | Initial: $60 Renewal: $60 Delinquent: $30”
bcb.az.gov
“Licenses expire every two years on your birthday.”
bcb.az.gov
Esthetician: license
“"Aesthetician" means a person who is licensed to practice aesthetics pursuant to this chapter.”
azleg.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“Aesthetics: 600 hours”
bcb.az.gov
Esthetician: exams
“All exams are computer-based for theory and practical exams.”
bcb.az.gov
“Take and pass both the written and practical exams through Virtual Inc. (PCS)”
bcb.az.gov
Esthetician: who can apply
“Completes and receives appropriate credits for at least two years of high school education or its equivalent as prescribed by the board in its rules and submits to the board satisfactory evidence that the person is at least sixteen years of age.”
azleg.gov
“Submits to the board satisfactory evidence that the person is at least eighteen years of age.”
azleg.gov
Esthetician: fees
“Personal License | Initial: $40 Renewal: $80 Delinquent: $25-$75 | Initial: $60 Renewal: $60 Delinquent: $30”
bcb.az.gov
“Written Examination (Paid to a third-party testing organization) | $100 | $100”
bcb.az.gov
“Practical Examination(Paid to a third-party testing organization) | $77 | $77”
bcb.az.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“Personal License | Initial: $40 Renewal: $80 Delinquent: $25-$75 | Initial: $60 Renewal: $60 Delinquent: $30”
bcb.az.gov
“Licenses expire every two years on your birthday.”
bcb.az.gov
Licensed in another state
“The person has been licensed or certified by another state for at least one year.”
bcb.az.gov
“License or certification is in good standing in all states in which the person holds a license or certification.”
bcb.az.gov
“Request an official license verification from your state”
bcb.az.gov
“Reciprocity & Universal Recognition | $175 | $60”
bcb.az.gov
Also good to know
“The cost is $177.00 for the written and practical exam.”
bcb.az.gov
Also good to know
“If an applicant fails either part of the examination, the applicant shall only retake the part of the examination that the applicant failed.”
azleg.gov
Also good to know
“All fees have a $3 Service Fee added.”
bcb.az.gov

Questions

Arizona beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Arizona?
1,500 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Arizona's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Arizona?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $60, and it renews every 2 years, $60. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Arizona?
The Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years for $60. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Arizona?
Arizona calls it a Nail technician license, issued by the Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board. It takes 600 hours of training, written (theory) and practical exams, computer-based, through PCS, $60 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $60.
How do you get an esthetician license in Arizona?
Arizona calls it an Aesthetician license, issued by the Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board. It takes 600 hours of training, written (theory) and practical exams, computer-based, through PCS, $60 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $60.
How do you get a barber license in Arizona?
Arizona calls it a Barber license, issued by the Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board. It takes 1,200 hours of training, written (theory) and practical exams, computer-based, through PCS, $40 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $80.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Arizona?
License-for-license reciprocity: a current license from another state held for at least one year and in good standing, with an official license verification from that state. Barbers pay $175. The fee is $60. Apply with the Arizona Barbering and Cosmetology Board.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Arizona?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Arizona requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Arizona: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Arizona Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI