Kentucky beauty licenses

Kentucky cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Kentucky you need a Cosmetologist license from the Kentucky Board of Cosmetology. It takes 1,500 hours of school and $135 in state fees. Exams: theory test and practical demonstration. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by the Kentucky Board of Cosmetology.How to apply The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Kentucky cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Kentucky Board of Cosmetology
Training
1,500 hoursAbout 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Theory test and practical demonstration
Who can apply
Grade 12 equivalency education (diploma or certified testing documents)
State fees, first license
$135 (initial license fee $50 plus examination application fee $85)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $100
Continuing education
Not stated

Kentucky's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

Kentucky barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The Kentucky Board of Barbering
Training
1,500 hoursAbout 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written examination and practical demonstration on a living model
Who can apply
17-1/2 years old, high school diploma or equivalent, graduate of a licensed barber school
State fees, first license
$500 (apprentice license $50 plus apprentice examination $200 plus barber examination $200 plus barber license $50)
Renewal
Every year, $50
Continuing education
Not stated

Kentucky's 1,500 hours are more than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Kentucky nail technician license

License
Nail Technician
Issued by
The Kentucky Board of Cosmetology
Training
450 hoursAbout 3 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Theory test and practical demonstration
Who can apply
Grade 12 equivalency education (diploma or certified testing documents)
State fees, first license
$135 (initial license fee $50 plus examination application fee $85)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $100
Continuing education
Not stated

Kentucky's 450 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Kentucky esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The Kentucky Board of Cosmetology
Training
750 hoursAbout 5 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Theory test and practical demonstration
Who can apply
Grade 12 equivalency education (diploma or certified testing documents)
State fees, first license
$135 (initial license fee $50 plus examination application fee $85)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $100
Continuing education
Not stated

Kentucky's 750 hours are more than the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Kentucky requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Kentucky requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Kentucky.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

Cosmetology, nail technician and esthetician: a license from another state that meets Kentucky's hours (1,500, 450 or 750), plus a passing theory and practical exam or two years of continuous practice, and the $100 endorsement fee. Barber: an out-of-state license in good standing plus three years' experience, or equivalent training.

Good to know in Kentucky

  • Cosmetologist, nail technician and esthetician licenses expire July 31 of each even-numbered year; the renewal window is July 1 through July 31.
  • Barber licenses expire on July 1 each year and cost $50 to renew.
  • After school, a barber must serve an apprentice period of at least six months before the barber exam and license.

Sources

What Kentucky's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“Individual License - Cosmetologist, Esthetician, Nail Technician, and Shampoo Stylist | $50.00 | $100.00 | $50.00”
kbc.ky.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“A cosmetology student shall receive not less than 1,500 hours in clinical class work and scientific lectures”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“The examination shall consist of a theory test and a practical demonstration taken from the curriculum requirements specified in 201 KAR 12:082.”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“A diploma or certified testing documents proving grade 12 equivalency education for initial personal licensure or out-of-state transfers into Kentucky;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“Cosmetologist - fifty (50) dollars;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
“Cosmetologist - eighty-five (85) dollars;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Cosmetologist - $100;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
“Your renewal will cover a two-year licensing period”
kbc.ky.gov
“Each license shall expire on July 31 of each even numbered year, regardless of the date when the license was issued.”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Barber: license
“Barber license: fifty (50) dollars;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Barber: issued by
“KRS 317.450(1)(a)-(d) requires the Board of Barbering to issue apprentice licenses before issuing a license to practice barbering.”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Barber: training hours
“A student shall receive at least 1,500 hours in practice work and lectures based on the following courses of study:”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Barber: exams
“A written examination that covers all subjects set forth in the administrative regulations relating to barbers, 201 KAR Chapter 14;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
“A practical demonstration on a living model.”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Barber: who can apply
“Is at least seventeen and one-half (17-1/2) years of age;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
“Possesses a high school diploma, a High School Equivalency Diploma,”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
“Has graduated from a licensed school of barbering;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Barber: fees
“Apprentice license: fifty (50) dollars;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
“Apprentice examination $200;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
“Barber examination: $200;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
“Barber license: fifty (50) dollars;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Barber: renewal
“Every license issued by the Board of Barbering expires on July 1st each year. The cost to renew each license is $50.”
barbering.ky.gov
Nail technician: license
“Nail technician - fifty (50) dollars;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“A nail technician student shall receive no less than 450 hours in clinical and theory class work”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Nail technician: exams
“The examination shall consist of a theory test and a practical demonstration taken from the curriculum requirements specified in 201 KAR 12:082.”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Nail technician: who can apply
“A diploma or certified testing documents proving grade 12 equivalency education for initial personal licensure or out-of-state transfers into Kentucky;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Nail technician: fees
“Nail technician - fifty (50) dollars;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
“Nail technician - eighty-five (85) dollars;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“Nail technician - $100;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
“Your renewal will cover a two-year licensing period”
kbc.ky.gov
Esthetician: license
“Esthetician - fifty (50) dollars;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“An esthetician student shall receive no less than 750 hours in clinical and theory class work”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Esthetician: exams
“The examination shall consist of a theory test and a practical demonstration taken from the curriculum requirements specified in 201 KAR 12:082.”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Esthetician: who can apply
“A diploma or certified testing documents proving grade 12 equivalency education for initial personal licensure or out-of-state transfers into Kentucky;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Esthetician: fees
“Esthetician - fifty (50) dollars;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
“Esthetician - eighty-five (85) dollars;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“Esthetician - $100;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
“Your renewal will cover a two-year licensing period”
kbc.ky.gov
Licensed in another state
“proof of continuous practice for the last two (2) years”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
“Out-of-state endorsement application fee - $100;”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
“years or more experience immediately before making application and be”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Also good to know
“Each license shall expire on July 31 of each even numbered year, regardless of the date when the license was issued.”
apps.legislature.ky.gov
Also good to know
“Every license issued by the Board of Barbering expires on July 1st each year. The cost to renew each license is $50.”
barbering.ky.gov
Also good to know
“A barber shall serve an apprentice period of at least six (6) months but not”
apps.legislature.ky.gov

Questions

Kentucky beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Kentucky?
1,500 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Kentucky's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Kentucky?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $135 (initial license fee $50 plus examination application fee $85), and it renews every 2 years, $100. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Kentucky?
The Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years for $100. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the Kentucky Board of Cosmetology before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Kentucky?
Kentucky calls it a Nail Technician license, issued by the Kentucky Board of Cosmetology. It takes 450 hours of training, theory test and practical demonstration, $135 (initial license fee $50 plus examination application fee $85) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $100.
How do you get an esthetician license in Kentucky?
Kentucky calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the Kentucky Board of Cosmetology. It takes 750 hours of training, theory test and practical demonstration, $135 (initial license fee $50 plus examination application fee $85) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $100.
How do you get a barber license in Kentucky?
Kentucky calls it a Barber license, issued by the Kentucky Board of Barbering. It takes 1,500 hours of training, written examination and practical demonstration on a living model, $500 (apprentice license $50 plus apprentice examination $200 plus barber examination $200 plus barber license $50) in state fees. It renews every year, $50.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Kentucky?
Cosmetology, nail technician and esthetician: a license from another state that meets Kentucky's hours (1,500, 450 or 750), plus a passing theory and practical exam or two years of continuous practice, and the $100 endorsement fee. Barber: an out-of-state license in good standing plus three years' experience, or equivalent training. The fee is $100. Apply with the Kentucky Board of Cosmetology.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Kentucky?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Kentucky requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Kentucky: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Kentucky Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI