New Jersey beauty licenses
New Jersey cosmetology license requirements
To work as a cosmetologist in New Jersey you need a Cosmetologist-Hairstylist license from the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling. It takes 1,200 hours of school and $140 in state fees. Exams: board examination: written licensing exam (Prometric) and a practical exam. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.
- Cosmetology hours
- 1,200
- Barber hours
- 900
Licensed by the New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling.How to apply License lookup The state's own words
Cosmetologist
New Jersey cosmetology license
New Jersey calls it the Cosmetologist-Hairstylist license.
- License
- Cosmetologist-Hairstylist
- Issued by
- The New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling
- Training
- 1,200 hoursAbout 8 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Board examination: written licensing exam (Prometric) and a practical exam
- Who can apply
- 17 years old, high school diploma or equivalent
- State fees, first license
- $140 (application fee for examination $50 plus initial license fee, if paid in the first year of a license cycle $90)
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $90
- Continuing education
- Not stated
New Jersey's 1,200 hours are fewer than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
Barber
New Jersey barber license
- License
- Barber
- Issued by
- The New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling
- Training
- 900 hoursAbout 6 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Not stated
- Who can apply
- High school diploma or equivalent
- State fees, first license
- $140 (application fee for examination $50 plus initial license fee, if paid in the first year of a license cycle $90)
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $90
- Continuing education
- Not stated
New Jersey's 900 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.
Nail technician
New Jersey nail technician license
New Jersey calls it the Manicurist license.
- License
- Manicurist
- Issued by
- The New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling
- Training
- 300 hoursAbout 2 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Board examination: written licensing exam (Prometric) and a practical exam
- Who can apply
- 17 years old, high school diploma or equivalent
- State fees, first license
- $140 (application fee for examination $50 plus initial license fee, if paid in the first year of a license cycle $90)
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $90
- Continuing education
- Not stated
New Jersey's 300 hours are fewer than the 350 hours of the middle state.
Esthetician
New Jersey esthetician license
New Jersey calls it the Skin Care Specialist license.
- License
- Skin Care Specialist
- Issued by
- The New Jersey State Board of Cosmetology and Hairstyling
- Training
- 600 hoursAbout 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Board examination: written licensing exam (Prometric) and a practical exam
- Who can apply
- 17 years old, high school diploma or equivalent
- State fees, first license
- $140 (application fee for examination $50 plus initial license fee, if paid in the first year of a license cycle $90)
- Renewal
- Every 2 years, $90
- Continuing education
- Not stated
New Jersey's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.
Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license New Jersey requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what New Jersey requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in New Jersey.
Moving here
Licensed in another state?
By endorsement: hold a current and active license from another state; cosmetologist-hairstylist applicants must also hold a barber and beautician license there.
Good to know in New Jersey
- A temporary permit is valid for 120 days and may be issued only once while you wait to be scheduled for the licensing exam.
- The written licensing exams are administered by Prometric, which the Board contracted with starting August 3, 2020.
- Individual licenses are valid for 2 years and expire in September of even-numbered years.
Sources
What New Jersey's official pages say
Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.
- Cosmetologist: license
“To become a cosmetologist-hairstylist you must:”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Cosmetologist: training hours
“Provide proof of successful completion of 1,200 hours of instruction in cosmetology and hairstyling at an approved school in New Jersey”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Cosmetologist: exams
“Take and pass an examination administered by the Board.”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “Prometric has been awarded the contract to administer the written licensing examinations”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “temporary suspension of practical examinations during the COVID-19 pandemic”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Cosmetologist: who can apply
“Be at least 17 years of age.”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “Provide proof of successful completion of high school or its equivalent.”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Cosmetologist: fees
“$50 application fee”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “$90 licensing fee in the first year of a license cycle”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Cosmetologist: renewal
“Licenses are valid for 2 years”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “Biennial license renewal (individual) $ 90.00”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Barber: license
“"Barber" means any person holding a barbering license”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Barber: training hours
“An applicant for licensure as a barber shall have completed a 900-hour course of”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Barber: who can apply
“All applications must be accompanied by proof of satisfactory completion of high school or its equivalent.”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Barber: fees
“$50 application fee”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “$90 licensing fee in the first year of a license cycle”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Barber: renewal
“Licenses are valid for 2 years”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “Biennial license renewal (individual) $ 90.00”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Nail technician: license
“To become a manicurist you must:”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Nail technician: training hours
“Provide proof of successful completion of 300 hours of instruction in manicuring at an approved school in New Jersey”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Nail technician: exams
“Take and pass an examination administered by the Board.”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “Prometric has been awarded the contract to administer the written licensing examinations”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “temporary suspension of practical examinations during the COVID-19 pandemic”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Nail technician: who can apply
“Be at least 17 years of age.”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “Provide proof of successful completion of high school or its equivalent.”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Nail technician: fees
“$50 application fee”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “$90 licensing fee in the first year of a license cycle”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Nail technician: renewal
“Licenses are valid for 2 years”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “Biennial license renewal (individual) $ 90.00”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Esthetician: license
“To become a skin care specialist you must:”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Esthetician: training hours
“Provide proof of successful completion of a 600-hour course of instruction at an approved school in New Jersey”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Esthetician: exams
“Take and pass an examination administered by the Board.”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “Prometric has been awarded the contract to administer the written licensing examinations”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “temporary suspension of practical examinations during the COVID-19 pandemic”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Esthetician: who can apply
“Be at least 17 years of age.”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “Provide proof of successful completion of high school or its equivalent.”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Esthetician: fees
“$50 application fee”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “$90 licensing fee in the first year of a license cycle”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Esthetician: renewal
“Licenses are valid for 2 years”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “Biennial license renewal (individual) $ 90.00”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Licensed in another state
“You must hold a current and active license in order to”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “presently hold a current license as a barber and beautician in another state or foreign country.”
njconsumeraffairs.gov “$100 application fee”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Also good to know
“The temporary permit is valid for 120 days and may be issued”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Also good to know
“Prometric has been awarded the contract to administer the written licensing examinations”
njconsumeraffairs.gov - Also good to know
“Every individual license expires in September of even-numbered”
njconsumeraffairs.gov
Questions
New Jersey beauty licenses, answered
How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in New Jersey?
How much does a cosmetology license cost in New Jersey?
How do you renew a cosmetology license in New Jersey?
How do you get a nail technician license in New Jersey?
How do you get an esthetician license in New Jersey?
How do you get a barber license in New Jersey?
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to New Jersey?
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in New Jersey?
Once you are licensed
Working for yourself, or opening a salon
- What New Jersey requires to open a salon of your own
- Every step to opening a salon in New Jersey, as a checklist
- Commission or booth rent? Compare what you would take home
- Renting a chair? Start from a booth rental agreement
Beauty licenses in other states
Ready when you are
Licensed? Build the clientele next
SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in New Jersey: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.