Rhode Island beauty licenses

Rhode Island cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Rhode Island you need a Hairdresser and Cosmetician license from the Rhode Island Board of Hairdressing and Barbering. It takes 1,000 hours of school and $25 in state fees. Exams: written and practical exams. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by the Rhode Island Board of Hairdressing and Barbering.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Rhode Island cosmetology license

Rhode Island calls it the Hairdresser and Cosmetician license.

License
Hairdresser and Cosmetician
Issued by
The Rhode Island Board of Hairdressing and Barbering
Training
1,000 hoursAbout 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written and practical exams
Who can apply
18 years old; high school graduate or equivalent (or 25+ years of prior experience); citizen or legal entry; good moral character
State fees, first license
$25
Renewal
Every 2 years, $25
Continuing education
Not stated

Rhode Island's 1,000 hours are fewer than the 1,500 hours of the middle state, tied for the fewest of any state that publishes them.

Barber

Rhode Island barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The Rhode Island Board of Hairdressing and Barbering
Training
1,500 hours1,500 school hours, or 1,000 school hours plus 840 registered-apprentice on-the-job hours under the rules About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
840 hours
Exams
Written and practical exams
Who can apply
18 years old; high school graduate or equivalent combination of education and experience; citizen or legal entry; good moral character
State fees, first license
$25
Renewal
Every 2 years, $25
Continuing education
Not stated

Rhode Island's 1,500 hours are more than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Rhode Island nail technician license

Rhode Island calls it the Manicurist license.

License
Manicurist
Issued by
The Rhode Island Board of Hairdressing and Barbering
Training
300 hoursAbout 2 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written and practical exams
Who can apply
18 years old; high school graduate or equivalent (or 25+ years of prior experience); citizen or legal entry; good moral character
State fees, first license
$25
Renewal
Every 2 years, $25
Continuing education
Not stated

Rhode Island's 300 hours are fewer than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Rhode Island esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The Rhode Island Board of Hairdressing and Barbering
Training
600 hours600 hours over at least four months About 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written and practical exams
Who can apply
18 years old; high school graduate or equivalent (or 25+ years of prior experience); citizen or legal entry; good moral character
State fees, first license
$25
Renewal
Every 2 years, $25
Continuing education
Not stated

Rhode Island's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Rhode Island requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Rhode Island requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Rhode Island.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

By endorsement: a license from another state whose requirements are equivalent to Rhode Island's, if that state gives Rhode Island licensees the same privilege; manicurists and estheticians may instead pass the written and practical exams.

Good to know in Rhode Island

  • Out-of-state licensees can get a 90-day temporary license after applying, paying the fee and sending a copy of an active out-of-state license.
  • Written exam candidates must book their own appointment and should not book until all required training hours are complete.
  • Someone licensed by examination in another state may practice here for three months while applying for a Rhode Island license.

Sources

What Rhode Island's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“A “hairdresser’s and cosmetician’s license” shall be issued by the division to every applicant”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“has completed a course of instruction in hairdressing and cosmetology consisting of not less than one thousand (1,000) hours of continuous study and practice”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“Has satisfactorily passed a written and a practical examination approved by the division to determine the fitness of the applicant to receive a license”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“Is at least eighteen (18) years of age;”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
“Is a citizen of the United States of America or has legal entry into the country;”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
“Is of good moral character;”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
“Is a high school graduate or holds the equivalent or has twenty-five (25) or more years of prior experience in the practice for which the license is sought;”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“Hairdresser/Cosmetologist: Application by Examination § 5-10-10(a) $25.00”
rules.sos.ri.gov
“in the amount of $25.00 and attached to the upper left-hand corner”
health.ri.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Hairdresser/Cosmetologist: Renewal § 5-10-10(a) § 23-1-54 $25.00”
rules.sos.ri.gov
“Upon receipt of the application and fee, the administrator of professional regulation shall grant a renewal license effective October 1 and expiring two (2) years later on September 30.”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Barber: license
“A “barber” license shall be issued by the division to every applicant”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Barber: training hours
“Has completed a course of instruction in barbering consisting of not less than one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours of continuous study and practice in an approved school”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Barber: apprenticeship
“Has successfully completed one thousand (1,000) hours of barber instruction in an approved school and has completed a minimum of eight hundred forty (840) hours of barber on-the-job training”
rules.sos.ri.gov
Barber: exams
“Has satisfactorily passed a written and a practical examination approved by the division to determine the fitness of the applicant to receive a license”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Barber: who can apply
“Is at least eighteen (18) years of age;”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
“Is a citizen of the United States of America or has legal entry into the country;”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
“Is of good moral character;”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
“an applicant seeking licensure as a barber must be a high school graduate or hold the equivalent combination of education and experience.”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Barber: fees
“Barber: Application by Examination § 5-10-10(a) $25.00”
rules.sos.ri.gov
“in the amount of $25.00 and attached to the upper left-hand corner”
health.ri.gov
Barber: renewal
“Barber: Renewal § 5-10-10(a) § 23-1-54 $25.00”
rules.sos.ri.gov
“Upon receipt of the application and fee, the administrator of professional regulation shall grant a renewal license effective October 1 and expiring two (2) years later on September 30.”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Nail technician: license
“A “manicurist license” shall be granted to any applicant for the license who meets the following qualifications”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“Has completed a course of instruction, consisting of not less than three hundred (300) hours of professional training in manicuring, in an approved school.”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Nail technician: exams
“Has satisfactorily passed a written and a practical examination approved by the division to determine the fitness of the applicant to receive a license”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Nail technician: who can apply
“Is at least eighteen (18) years of age;”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
“Is a citizen of the United States of America or has legal entry into the country;”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
“Is of good moral character;”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
“Is a high school graduate or holds the equivalent or has twenty-five (25) or more years of prior experience in the practice for which the license is sought;”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Nail technician: fees
“Manicurist: Application by Examination § 5-10-10(a) $25.00”
rules.sos.ri.gov
“in the amount of $25.00 and attached to the upper left-hand corner”
health.ri.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“Manicurist: Renewal § 5-10-10(a) § 23-1-54 $25.00”
rules.sos.ri.gov
“Upon receipt of the application and fee, the administrator of professional regulation shall grant a renewal license effective October 1 and expiring two (2) years later on September 30.”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Esthetician: license
“An “esthetician license” shall be granted to any applicant for the license who meets the following qualifications”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“Has completed a course of instruction in esthetics, consisting of not less than six hundred (600) hours of continuous study and practice over a period of not less than four (4) months”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Esthetician: exams
“Has satisfactorily passed a written and a practical examination approved by the division to determine the fitness of the applicant to receive a license”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Esthetician: who can apply
“Is at least eighteen (18) years of age;”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
“Is a citizen of the United States of America or has legal entry into the country;”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
“Is of good moral character;”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
“Is a high school graduate or holds the equivalent or has twenty-five (25) or more years of prior experience in the practice for which the license is sought;”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Esthetician: fees
“Esthetician: Application by Examination § 5-10-10(a) $25.00”
rules.sos.ri.gov
“in the amount of $25.00 and attached to the upper left-hand corner”
health.ri.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“Esthetician: Renewal § 5-10-10(a) § 23-1-54 $25.00”
rules.sos.ri.gov
“Upon receipt of the application and fee, the administrator of professional regulation shall grant a renewal license effective October 1 and expiring two (2) years later on September 30.”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
Licensed in another state
“Any person licensed to practice barbering, hairdressing, and cosmetic therapy and/or manicuring or esthetics in another state where the requirements are the equivalent of those of this state is entitled to a license”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
“If a person applies for a manicurist or esthetician license and is currently licensed in another state, that person may be granted a license if he or she passes the written and practical examinations conducted by the division.”
webserver.rilegislature.gov
“Hairdresser/Cosmetologist: Application by Verification (Endorsement) § 5-10-11(c) § 23-1-54 $25.00”
rules.sos.ri.gov
Also good to know
“A 90 Day Temporary License will be issued after reciept of a completed application, fee and a photocopy of an active out-of-state-license.”
health.ri.gov
Also good to know
“schedule the written exam until he/she has completed all of the required hours for licensure.”
health.ri.gov
Also good to know
“for a period of three (3) months; provided, that they apply for and are licensed in this state within three (3) months from the commencement of their employment”
webserver.rilegislature.gov

Questions

Rhode Island beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Rhode Island?
1,000 hours of training for a Hairdresser and Cosmetician license. About 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Rhode Island's 1,000 hours are fewer than the 1,500 hours of the middle state, tied for the fewest of any state that publishes them.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Rhode Island?
The state's fees for a first Hairdresser and Cosmetician license are $25, and it renews every 2 years, $25. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Rhode Island?
The Hairdresser and Cosmetician license renews every 2 years for $25. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the Rhode Island Board of Hairdressing and Barbering before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Rhode Island?
Rhode Island calls it a Manicurist license, issued by the Rhode Island Board of Hairdressing and Barbering. It takes 300 hours of training, written and practical exams, $25 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $25.
How do you get an esthetician license in Rhode Island?
Rhode Island calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the Rhode Island Board of Hairdressing and Barbering. It takes 600 hours of training, written and practical exams, $25 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $25.
How do you get a barber license in Rhode Island?
Rhode Island calls it a Barber license, issued by the Rhode Island Board of Hairdressing and Barbering. It takes 1,500 hours of training, written and practical exams, $25 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $25.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Rhode Island?
By endorsement: a license from another state whose requirements are equivalent to Rhode Island's, if that state gives Rhode Island licensees the same privilege; manicurists and estheticians may instead pass the written and practical exams. The fee is $25. Apply with the Rhode Island Board of Hairdressing and Barbering.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Rhode Island?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Rhode Island requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Rhode Island: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Rhode Island Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI