South Dakota beauty licenses
South Dakota cosmetology license requirements
To work as a cosmetologist in South Dakota you need a Cosmetologist License from the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission. It takes 1,500 hours of school and $120 in state fees. Exams: NIC national written theory exam and South Dakota Laws and Rules exam. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.
- Cosmetology hours
- 1,500
- Barber hours
- 1,500
Licensed by the South Dakota Cosmetology Commission.How to apply License lookup The state's own words
Cosmetologist
South Dakota cosmetology license
- License
- Cosmetologist License
- Issued by
- The South Dakota Cosmetology Commission
- Training
- 1,500 hoursAbout 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- NIC national written theory exam and South Dakota Laws and Rules exam
- Who can apply
- 18 years or older, with Commission-approved education
- State fees, first license
- $120
- Renewal
- Every year, $45
- Continuing education
- Not stated
South Dakota's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
Barber
South Dakota barber license
South Dakota calls it the Registered Barber license.
- License
- Registered Barber
- Issued by
- The South Dakota Board of Barber Examiners
- Training
- 1,500 hours1,500 hours of education or equivalent credit hours at a board-approved barber school About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- Written test and practical barber demonstration
- Who can apply
- 18 years or older
- State fees, first license
- $225
- Renewal
- Every year, $200
- Continuing education
- Not stated
South Dakota's 1,500 hours are more than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.
Nail technician
South Dakota nail technician license
- License
- Nail Technician License
- Issued by
- The South Dakota Cosmetology Commission
- Training
- 400 hoursAbout 3 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- NIC national written theory exam and South Dakota Laws and Rules exam
- Who can apply
- 18 years or older, with Commission-approved education
- State fees, first license
- $120
- Renewal
- Every year, $45
- Continuing education
- Not stated
South Dakota's 400 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.
Esthetician
South Dakota esthetician license
- License
- Esthetician License
- Issued by
- The South Dakota Cosmetology Commission
- Training
- 600 hoursAbout 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
- Exams
- NIC national written theory exam and South Dakota Laws and Rules exam
- Who can apply
- 18 years or older, with Commission-approved education
- State fees, first license
- $120
- Renewal
- Every year, $45
- Continuing education
- Not stated
South Dakota's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.
Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license South Dakota requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what South Dakota requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in South Dakota.
Moving here
Licensed in another state?
Cosmetology, nail technician and esthetician licenses: an active license in good standing from another state plus the South Dakota Laws & Rules exam; barbers transfer their license for a $150 fee.
Good to know in South Dakota
- After passing the exam, a licensee may print a Provisional Work Authorization and work while the license is in the mail.
- Students enrolled at a Commission-approved school may take the state board exam at any time, though the Commission encourages finishing 50% of education first.
- Barber and barbershop licenses must be renewed each year by May 31.
Sources
What South Dakota's official pages say
Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.
- Cosmetologist: license
“Cosmetologist License”
dlr.sd.gov - Cosmetologist: training hours
“Complete 1,500 hours of cosmetology education, as shown by transcript from a South Dakota school.”
dlr.sd.gov “Cosmetologists must earn 1500 Commission approved education hours.”
dlr.sd.gov - Cosmetologist: exams
“Pass all required examinations: NIC national written theory and South Dakota Laws and Rules.”
dlr.sd.gov - Cosmetologist: who can apply
“Be 18 years or older, as shown by copy of driver’s license”
dlr.sd.gov - Cosmetologist: fees
“Pay $120 examination or reciprocity fee, which includes the first license.”
dlr.sd.gov - Cosmetologist: renewal
“The fee for cosmetologist, nail technician and esthetician license renewals is $45”
dlr.sd.gov “Pay annual renewal fee, and late penalties when applicable.”
dlr.sd.gov - Barber: license
“entitled to a license or certificate of registration as a registered barber”
dlr.sd.gov - Barber: issued by
“The Governor shall appoint a Board of Barber Examiners”
dlr.sd.gov - Barber: training hours
“Each barber school offering a complete barber program, totaling 1500 hours, shall meet the following minimum curriculum requirements:”
sdlegislature.gov “Completes fifteen hundred hours of education or equivalent credit hours in a barber”
dlr.sd.gov - Barber: exams
“Passes the written test and practical barber demonstration certified by the board.”
dlr.sd.gov - Barber: who can apply
“Is at least eighteen years old”
dlr.sd.gov - Barber: fees
“The fee for the initial barber license is two hundred twenty-five dollars and includes the cost of examination”
sdlegislature.gov - Barber: renewal
“For the annual renewal of a certificate of registration to practice barbering, the fee is two hundred dollars.”
sdlegislature.gov “All barber and barbershop licenses must be renewed each year by May 31.”
dlr.sd.gov - Nail technician: license
“Nail Technician License”
dlr.sd.gov - Nail technician: training hours
“Complete 400 hours of nail technology education, as shown by transcript from a South Dakota school.”
dlr.sd.gov “Nail Technicians must earn 400 Commission approved education hours.”
dlr.sd.gov - Nail technician: exams
“Pass all required examinations: NIC national written theory and South Dakota Laws and Rules.”
dlr.sd.gov - Nail technician: who can apply
“Be 18 years or older, as shown by copy of driver’s license”
dlr.sd.gov - Nail technician: fees
“Pay $120 examination or reciprocity fee, which includes the first license.”
dlr.sd.gov - Nail technician: renewal
“The fee for cosmetologist, nail technician and esthetician license renewals is $45”
dlr.sd.gov “Pay annual renewal fee, and late penalties when applicable.”
dlr.sd.gov - Esthetician: license
“Esthetician License”
dlr.sd.gov - Esthetician: training hours
“Complete 600 hours of esthetics education, as shown by transcript from a South Dakota school.”
dlr.sd.gov “Estheticians must earn 600 Commission approved education hours.”
dlr.sd.gov - Esthetician: exams
“Pass all required examinations: NIC national written theory and South Dakota Laws and Rules.”
dlr.sd.gov - Esthetician: who can apply
“Be 18 years or older, as shown by copy of driver’s license”
dlr.sd.gov - Esthetician: fees
“Pay $120 examination or reciprocity fee, which includes the first license.”
dlr.sd.gov - Esthetician: renewal
“The fee for cosmetologist, nail technician and esthetician license renewals is $45”
dlr.sd.gov “Pay annual renewal fee, and late penalties when applicable.”
dlr.sd.gov - Licensed in another state
“If you hold an active Cosmetology, Esthetics, or Nail Technology license in good standing in another state, you may be eligible to receive a reciprocity license in South Dakota.”
dlr.sd.gov “Pay $120 examination or reciprocity fee, which includes the first license.”
dlr.sd.gov “pay the license transfer fee of $150.00”
dlr.sd.gov - Also good to know
“If you pass your examination, you will receive a ‘Provisional Work Authorization’ document that you can print and post at your workstation while you wait for your license to arrive in the mail”
dlr.sd.gov - Also good to know
“Students with an active enrollment status at a Commission approved school or college may take the State board examination at any time.”
dlr.sd.gov - Also good to know
“All barber and barbershop licenses must be renewed each year by May 31.”
dlr.sd.gov
Questions
South Dakota beauty licenses, answered
How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in South Dakota?
How much does a cosmetology license cost in South Dakota?
How do you renew a cosmetology license in South Dakota?
How do you get a nail technician license in South Dakota?
How do you get an esthetician license in South Dakota?
How do you get a barber license in South Dakota?
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to South Dakota?
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in South Dakota?
Once you are licensed
Working for yourself, or opening a salon
- What South Dakota requires to open a salon of your own
- Every step to opening a salon in South Dakota, as a checklist
- Commission or booth rent? Compare what you would take home
- Renting a chair? Start from a booth rental agreement
Beauty licenses in other states
Ready when you are
Licensed? Build the clientele next
SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in South Dakota: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.