Nevada beauty licenses

Nevada cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Nevada you need a Cosmetologist license from the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology. It takes 1,600 hours of school and $125 in state fees. Exams: theory and practical examinations. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 23, 2026.

Licensed by the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Nevada cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Nevada State Board of Cosmetology
Training
1,600 hours1,600 hours in a Board-approved school, or 3,200 hours as a cosmetologist's apprentice. About 11 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
3,200 hours
Exams
Theory and practical examinations
Who can apply
18 years old, 10th grade or equivalent
State fees, first license
$125 (application forms (required to apply for the examination) $15 plus examination $110)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $70
Continuing education
4 hours per renewal

Nevada's 1,600 hours are more than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

Nevada barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The State Barbers’ Health and Sanitation Board
Training
1,500 hours1,500 hours at a Board-approved barber school, then an apprenticeship before the barber examination. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Practical demonstration plus a written and oral test
Who can apply
18 years old, good moral character and temperate habits
State fees, first license
$100
Renewal
Every 2 years, $60
Continuing education
Not stated

Nevada's 1,500 hours are more than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Nevada nail technician license

Nevada calls it the Nail technologist license.

License
Nail technologist
Issued by
The Nevada State Board of Cosmetology
Training
600 hours600 hours of practical training in a licensed school, or 1,200 hours as a nail technologist's apprentice. About 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
1,200 hours
Exams
Theory and practical examinations
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$125 (application forms (required to apply for the examination) $15 plus examination $110)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $70
Continuing education
4 hours per renewal

Nevada's 600 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Nevada esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The Nevada State Board of Cosmetology
Training
600 hours600 hours in a licensed school of cosmetology, or 1,200 hours as an esthetician's apprentice. About 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Apprenticeship route
1,200 hours
Exams
Theory and practical examinations
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$125 (application forms (required to apply for the examination) $15 plus examination $110)
Renewal
Every 2 years, $70
Continuing education
4 hours per renewal

Nevada's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Nevada requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Nevada requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Nevada.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

Cosmetology: a person licensed in another state or D.C. applies with a $200 fee and may be licensed without examination unless the Board requires one.

Good to know in Nevada

  • Barbers must complete 18 months of full-time apprenticeship under a licensed barber before taking the barber examination.
  • The practical examination requires the applicant to bring a model or mannequin and all required equipment.
  • The cosmetology, nail technologist and esthetician examinations include a theory test (75 percent to pass) and a practical test (pass).

Sources

What Nevada's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 23, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
““Cosmetologist” means a person who engages in the practices of:”
leg.state.nv.us
Cosmetologist: training hours
“Training of at least 1,600 hours in a school of cosmetology approved by the Board.”
leg.state.nv.us
Cosmetologist: apprenticeship
“At least 3,200 hours of service as a cosmetologist’s apprentice in a licensed cosmetological establishment in which all of the occupations of cosmetology are practiced.”
leg.state.nv.us
Cosmetologist: exams
“not less than 75 percent on the theory examination and a “Pass” on the practical examination”
leg.state.nv.us
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“Is not less than 18 years of age.”
leg.state.nv.us
“Has successfully completed the 10th grade in school or its equivalent.”
leg.state.nv.us
Cosmetologist: fees
“The Board shall charge a nonrefundable fee of $15 for furnishing the forms.”
leg.state.nv.us
“For examination as a cosmetologist, $110.”
leg.state.nv.us
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Expires 2 years after the date of issuance or renewal of a license that was issued or renewed for a 2-year period.”
leg.state.nv.us
“Complete at least 4 hours of instruction relating to infection control and prevention in a professional course or seminar approved by the Board”
leg.state.nv.us
“1. For instructors, hair designers, nail technologists, electrologists, estheticians, advanced estheticians, hair braiders and cosmetologists:”
leg.state.nv.us
“(a) For 2 years, $70.”
leg.state.nv.us
“The license or certificate of registration, as applicable, of every cosmetologist, esthetician, advanced esthetician, electrologist, hair designer, shampoo technologist, hair braider, nail technologist and instructor expires on either:”
leg.state.nv.us
“(a) Complete at least 4 hours of instruction relating to infection control and prevention in a professional course or seminar approved by the Board”
leg.state.nv.us
Barber: license
““Licensed barber” means a person who is licensed to engage in the practice of barbering pursuant to the provisions of this chapter.”
leg.state.nv.us
Barber: issued by
““Board” means the State Barbers’ Health and Sanitation Board.”
leg.state.nv.us
Barber: training hours
“Have completed 1,500 hours of instruction in a barber school approved by the Board”
leg.state.nv.us
Barber: exams
“The examination of applicants for licenses as barbers and apprentices must include a practical demonstration and a written and oral test”
leg.state.nv.us
Barber: who can apply
“Who is at least 18 years of age.”
leg.state.nv.us
“Who is of good moral character and temperate habits.”
leg.state.nv.us
Barber: fees
“The fee for an examination is $100.”
leg.state.nv.us
Barber: renewal
“A licensed barber or apprentice may renew his or her license by paying a fee of $60.”
leg.state.nv.us
“Each licensed barber and each licensed apprentice who continues in active practice or service shall biennially, on or before April 1 of each even-numbered year, renew the license and pay the required fee.”
leg.state.nv.us
“A licensed barber or apprentice may renew his or her license by paying a fee of $60.”
leg.state.nv.us
Nail technician: license
““Nail technologist” means any person who, for compensation or by demonstration, engages in the practice of nail technology.”
leg.state.nv.us
Nail technician: training hours
“Practical training of at least 600 hours under the immediate supervision of a licensed instructor in a licensed school of cosmetology in which the practice is taught.”
leg.state.nv.us
Nail technician: apprenticeship
“At least 1,200 hours of service as a nail technologist’s apprentice in a licensed cosmetological establishment in which nail technology is practiced.”
leg.state.nv.us
Nail technician: exams
“not less than 75 percent on the theory examination and a “Pass” on the practical examination”
leg.state.nv.us
Nail technician: fees
“The Board shall charge a nonrefundable fee of $15 for furnishing the forms.”
leg.state.nv.us
“For examination as a nail technologist, $110.”
leg.state.nv.us
Nail technician: renewal
“Expires 2 years after the date of issuance or renewal of a license that was issued or renewed for a 2-year period.”
leg.state.nv.us
“Complete at least 4 hours of instruction relating to infection control and prevention in a professional course or seminar approved by the Board”
leg.state.nv.us
“1. For instructors, hair designers, nail technologists, electrologists, estheticians, advanced estheticians, hair braiders and cosmetologists:”
leg.state.nv.us
“(a) For 2 years, $70.”
leg.state.nv.us
“The license or certificate of registration, as applicable, of every cosmetologist, esthetician, advanced esthetician, electrologist, hair designer, shampoo technologist, hair braider, nail technologist and instructor expires on either:”
leg.state.nv.us
“(a) Complete at least 4 hours of instruction relating to infection control and prevention in a professional course or seminar approved by the Board”
leg.state.nv.us
Esthetician: license
““Esthetician” means any person who engages in the practice of esthetics.”
leg.state.nv.us
Esthetician: training hours
“A minimum of 600 hours of training, which includes theory and practice, in a licensed school of cosmetology.”
leg.state.nv.us
Esthetician: apprenticeship
“At least 1,200 hours of service as an esthetician’s apprentice in a licensed cosmetological establishment in which esthetics is practiced.”
leg.state.nv.us
Esthetician: exams
“not less than 75 percent on the theory examination and a “Pass” on the practical examination”
leg.state.nv.us
Esthetician: fees
“The Board shall charge a nonrefundable fee of $15 for furnishing the forms.”
leg.state.nv.us
“For examination as an esthetician, $110.”
leg.state.nv.us
Esthetician: renewal
“Expires 2 years after the date of issuance or renewal of a license that was issued or renewed for a 2-year period.”
leg.state.nv.us
“Complete at least 4 hours of instruction relating to infection control and prevention in a professional course or seminar approved by the Board”
leg.state.nv.us
“1. For instructors, hair designers, nail technologists, electrologists, estheticians, advanced estheticians, hair braiders and cosmetologists:”
leg.state.nv.us
“(a) For 2 years, $70.”
leg.state.nv.us
“The license or certificate of registration, as applicable, of every cosmetologist, esthetician, advanced esthetician, electrologist, hair designer, shampoo technologist, hair braider, nail technologist and instructor expires on either:”
leg.state.nv.us
“(a) Complete at least 4 hours of instruction relating to infection control and prevention in a professional course or seminar approved by the Board”
leg.state.nv.us
Licensed in another state
“Upon application to the Board, accompanied by a fee of $200, a person currently licensed in any branch of cosmetology under the laws of another state”
leg.state.nv.us
Also good to know
“An apprentice must complete 18 months of full-time apprenticeship under the direct supervision of a licensed barber before taking the examination for a license as a barber.”
leg.state.nv.us
Also good to know
“must bring to the practical examination a model or mannequin and all equipment required for the examination.”
leg.state.nv.us
Also good to know
“not less than 75 percent on the theory examination and a “Pass” on the practical examination”
leg.state.nv.us

Questions

Nevada beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Nevada?
1,600 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license, or 3,200 hours as an apprentice. About 11 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Nevada's 1,600 hours are more than the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Nevada?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $125 (application forms (required to apply for the examination) $15 plus examination $110), and it renews every 2 years, $70. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Nevada?
The Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years for $70. Each renewal needs 4 hours of continuing education. Renew with the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Nevada?
Nevada calls it a Nail technologist license, issued by the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology. It takes 600 hours of training, theory and practical examinations, $125 (application forms (required to apply for the examination) $15 plus examination $110) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $70.
How do you get an esthetician license in Nevada?
Nevada calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology. It takes 600 hours of training, theory and practical examinations, $125 (application forms (required to apply for the examination) $15 plus examination $110) in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $70.
How do you get a barber license in Nevada?
Nevada calls it a Barber license, issued by the State Barbers’ Health and Sanitation Board. It takes 1,500 hours of training, practical demonstration plus a written and oral test, $100 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $60.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Nevada?
Cosmetology: a person licensed in another state or D.C. applies with a $200 fee and may be licensed without examination unless the Board requires one. The fee is $200. Apply with the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Nevada?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Nevada requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Nevada: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Nevada Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI