Indiana beauty licenses

Indiana cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Indiana you need a Cosmetologist license from the Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners. It takes 1,500 hours of school and $40 in state fees. Exams: written test (through PSI) and a final practical demonstration. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by the Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Indiana cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
Training
1,500 hours1,500 hours at a beauty culture school; a Department of Labor registered apprenticeship is also accepted, but no apprenticeship hour count is stated. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written test (through PSI) and a final practical demonstration
Who can apply
17 years old, completed 10th grade or equivalent, and graduated from a beauty culture school or completed a registered apprenticeship
State fees, first license
$40
Renewal
Every 4 years, $40
Continuing education
Not stated

Indiana's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.

Barber

Indiana barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
Training
1,500 hoursAbout 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written and practical exams
Who can apply
18 years old, or 17 and a graduate of an accredited high school
State fees, first license
$40
Renewal
Every 4 years, $40
Continuing education
Not stated

Indiana's 1,500 hours are more than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Indiana nail technician license

Indiana calls it the Manicurist license.

License
Manicurist
Issued by
The Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
Training
450 hoursAbout 3 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written test and practical demonstration
Who can apply
18 years old and completed 8th grade or equivalent
State fees, first license
$40
Renewal
Every 4 years, $40
Continuing education
Not stated

Indiana's 450 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Indiana esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
Training
700 hoursAbout 5 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written test and practical demonstration
Who can apply
17 years old and completed 10th grade or equivalent
State fees, first license
$40
Renewal
Every 4 years, $40
Continuing education
Not stated

Indiana's 700 hours are more than the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Indiana requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Indiana requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Indiana.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

By reciprocity: a valid license from another state that imposes substantially equal requirements; otherwise the board may approve education hours plus licensed practice.

Good to know in Indiana

  • The written exam is taken through PSI, a testing company, and the state application fee is paid separately.
  • Applicants from a state that does not issue the license may get an initial provisional license and must work under a licensed supervisor.
  • For endorsement, the other state must send license certification directly; a copy of your license is not enough.

Sources

What Indiana's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“The board may license a person to be a cosmetologist.”
secure.in.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“Totals 575 925 1,500”
secure.in.gov
“(A) one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours of education required by 820 IAC 4-4-4”
secure.in.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“Each applicant must pass a final practical demonstration examination of the acts permitted by the license.”
secure.in.gov
“The examinations described in section 7 of this chapter must include: (1) a practical demonstration of the acts permitted by the license; and (2) a written test”
secure.in.gov
“You must pass the written examination through PSI”
in.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“(1) is at least seventeen (17) years of age; (2) has successfully completed the tenth grade or received the equivalent of tenth grade education;”
secure.in.gov
“(3) has graduated from a beauty culture school or completed a United States Department of Labor registered apprenticeship program to practice cosmetology;”
secure.in.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“(1) Cosmetologist: $40 (2) Electrologist: $40 (3) Esthetician: $40 (4) Manicurist: $40”
secure.in.gov
“Application Fee of $40.00”
in.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“expires four (4) years after the initial expiration date”
secure.in.gov
“The board shall charge and collect the following renewal fees every four (4) years for licenses:”
secure.in.gov
“(1) Cosmetologist: $40 (2) Electrologist: $40 (3) Esthetician: $40 (4) Manicurist: $40”
secure.in.gov
Barber: license
“The board may license a person to be a barber.”
secure.in.gov
Barber: training hours
“has graduated with not less than one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours of training in a barber program in a beauty culture school;”
secure.in.gov
Barber: exams
“An applicant shall be deemed to have passed the barber examination upon attaining a passing score of 75% on the written portion and a passing score of 75% on the practical portion of the examination.”
secure.in.gov
Barber: who can apply
“(1) is either: (A) at least eighteen (18) years of age; or (B) at least seventeen (17) years of age and is a graduate of an accredited high school;”
secure.in.gov
Barber: fees
“(1) Barber license: $40 (2) Barber instructor license: $40”
secure.in.gov
Barber: renewal
“expires four (4) years after the initial expiration date”
secure.in.gov
“(1) Barber license: $40 (2) Barber instructor license: $40”
secure.in.gov
Nail technician: license
“"Manicurist" means a person licensed under IC 25-8-11 to provide manicuring.”
secure.in.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“Totals 195 255 450”
secure.in.gov
Nail technician: exams
“The examinations described in section 7 of this chapter must include: (1) a practical demonstration of the acts permitted by the license; and (2) a written test”
secure.in.gov
Nail technician: who can apply
“(1) is at least eighteen (18) years of age; (2) has successfully completed the eighth grade or received the equivalent of an eighth grade education;”
secure.in.gov
Nail technician: fees
“(1) Cosmetologist: $40 (2) Electrologist: $40 (3) Esthetician: $40 (4) Manicurist: $40”
secure.in.gov
“Application Fee of $40.00”
in.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“expires four (4) years after the initial expiration date”
secure.in.gov
“(1) Cosmetologist: $40 (2) Electrologist: $40 (3) Esthetician: $40 (4) Manicurist: $40”
secure.in.gov
Esthetician: license
“The board may license a person to be an esthetician.”
secure.in.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“An esthetician curriculum shall be a minimum course of seven hundred (700) hours of instruction in the theory and practice of esthetics”
secure.in.gov
Esthetician: exams
“(4) have received a satisfactory grade (as defined by IC 25-8-4-9) on an examination for esthetician license applicants prescribed by the board;”
secure.in.gov
“The examinations described in section 7 of this chapter must include: (1) a practical demonstration of the acts permitted by the license; and (2) a written test”
secure.in.gov
Esthetician: who can apply
“(1) be at least seventeen (17) years of age; (2) have successfully completed the tenth grade or received the equivalent of a tenth grade education;”
secure.in.gov
Esthetician: fees
“(1) Cosmetologist: $40 (2) Electrologist: $40 (3) Esthetician: $40 (4) Manicurist: $40”
secure.in.gov
“Application Fee of $40.00”
in.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“expires four (4) years after the initial expiration date”
secure.in.gov
“(1) Cosmetologist: $40 (2) Electrologist: $40 (3) Esthetician: $40 (4) Manicurist: $40”
secure.in.gov
Licensed in another state
“To apply by reciprocity, a person must possess a valid license from another jurisdiction to perform acts that require a license”
in.gov
“Application Fee of $40.00”
in.gov
Also good to know
“You must pass the written examination through PSI”
in.gov
Also good to know
“If an applicant comes from a jurisdiction that does not issue a beauty culture license, the board may issue an initial provisional license”
in.gov
Also good to know
“Request a license certification from the state(s) or country you hold, or have held, a license in.”
in.gov

Questions

Indiana beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Indiana?
1,500 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license. About 10 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Indiana's 1,500 hours are the same as the 1,500 hours of the middle state.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Indiana?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $40, and it renews every 4 years, $40. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Indiana?
The Cosmetologist license renews every 4 years for $40. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Indiana?
Indiana calls it a Manicurist license, issued by the Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners. It takes 450 hours of training, written test and practical demonstration, $40 in state fees. It renews every 4 years, $40.
How do you get an esthetician license in Indiana?
Indiana calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners. It takes 700 hours of training, written test and practical demonstration, $40 in state fees. It renews every 4 years, $40.
How do you get a barber license in Indiana?
Indiana calls it a Barber license, issued by the Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners. It takes 1,500 hours of training, written and practical exams, $40 in state fees. It renews every 4 years, $40.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Indiana?
By reciprocity: a valid license from another state that imposes substantially equal requirements; otherwise the board may approve education hours plus licensed practice. The fee is $40. Apply with the Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Indiana?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Indiana requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Indiana: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Indiana Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI