Indiana salon licensing
How to get a salon license in Indiana
To open a salon in Indiana you need a Beauty Culture Salon License for the business, issued by the Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners, on top of the license each stylist or technician holds. It costs $40 to the state and is renewed every 4 years for $40. Every fact below is quoted from the state's own pages, read on October 17, 2026.
- Licensed by
- Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners
- Business license
- Beauty Culture Salon License
- New salon fee
- $40
- Renewal
- Every 4 years, $40
- Inspection before opening
- Not stated
- Owner must hold a license
- Not stated
- Booth renters need a license
- No
- Barbershops
- Own license: Barber shop license
Licensed by the Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners.How to apply License lookup The state's own words
Step by step
Opening a salon in Indiana
- 1
Make sure everyone who will do services is licensed. The salon license covers the business; each stylist, barber, nail technician or esthetician needs an Indiana license of their own, which you can check in the state's license lookup. The Indiana cosmetology, barber, nail and esthetician licenses page lists each one's training hours, fees and renewal.
- 2
Put a licensed person in charge. The salon must be under the personal supervision of a licensed beauty culture professional.
- 3
Apply for the Beauty Culture Salon License with the Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners (application), paying $40 to the state. Apply before you open: the business needs its own license to operate.
- 4
Put the renewal in your calendar. The salon license is renewed every 4 years for $40.
- 5
Then the local paperwork (general advice, not from the board). Register the business with the state, get a city or county business license where one is required, and check zoning and the building permits for your build-out with the city before you sign a lease.
These are the license steps. The full opening checklist for Indiana puts them in order with everything else a new salon needs: registering the business, taxes, insurance, hiring and getting booked before you open. For the inspection itself, the Indiana salon inspection checklist lists every sanitation rule an inspector checks.
- Indiana's $40 for a new salon is below the middle of the 46 states with a published fee, $123.
Good to know
What else Indiana asks of a salon
- Temporary permits are issued on receipt of a complete application and are valid for three months, so the salon must be ready to operate when it applies.
- If the salon shares a building with a residence, the salon must be separated from the residence by a substantial floor-to-ceiling partition and have a separate entry.
- The salon must display a sign at the main public entrance that complies with the board's standards and states that it is a licensed beauty culture salon.
Sources
What Indiana's official pages say
Each fact above, in the words of the Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 17, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you apply.
- The salon license
“APPLICATION FOR BEAUTY CULTURE SALON LICENSE”
forms.in.gov - Fees for a new salon
“The fee for this application is $40.00, payable to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency”
forms.in.gov “Beauty Culture Salon/Mobile Salon | $40.00”
in.gov “(7) Cosmetology salon: $40”
secure.in.gov - Renewal
“expires four (4) years after the initial expiration date”
secure.in.gov “The board shall charge and collect the following renewal fees every four (4) years for licenses: (1) Cosmetologist: $40 (2) Electrologist: $40 (3) Esthetician: $40 (4) Manicurist: $40 (5) Beauty culture instructor: $40 (6) Cosmetology school: $400 (7) Cosmetology salon: $40”
secure.in.gov - Person in charge
“The beauty culture salon must be under the personal supervision of a person who is licensed as a beauty culture professional.”
in.gov - Barbershops
“for a barber shop must state, in prominent type on the license”
secure.in.gov “(3) Barber shop license: $40 (4) Barber school license: $300”
secure.in.gov - Booth renters
“The board may not require a beauty culture professional to obtain a license under this chapter if the beauty culture professional has leased or subleased a portion of a beauty culture salon from a person licensed under this chapter.”
in.gov - Who licenses salons
“issued by the Indiana State Board of Cosmetology and Barber Examiners”
in.gov - Also good to know
“Temporary permits are issued upon receipt of a complete application and are valid for three (3) months.”
in.gov - Also good to know
“if the site is in the same building as a residence, it must be separated from the residence by a substantial floor to ceiling partition and have a separate entry”
in.gov - Also good to know
“shall display a sign complying with standards prescribed by the board at the main public entrance to the salon”
secure.in.gov
Questions
Indiana salon licenses, answered
How much is a salon license in Indiana?
Do you need a license to own a salon in Indiana?
Do booth renters need their own license in Indiana?
Does a barbershop need a different license in Indiana?
Plan the rest
Before you sign a lease
- Every step to opening a salon in Indiana, as a checklist
- What Indiana inspectors check, as a printable checklist
- Are haircuts taxable in Indiana? Sales tax on services, products and the permit
- Hours and fees for each Indiana cosmetology, barber, nail and esthetician license
- See what it costs to open a salon, line by line
- Write it up with the salon business plan template
- Find a name and a free domain
- Renting out chairs? Start from a booth rental agreement
Salon licenses in other states
Ready when you are
Open with the website and the bookings ready
While the license comes through, SalonAI plans the digital side of your Indiana salon: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking, your Google profile, reviews, and client follow-ups. Founden builds and runs it.
Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.