Oregon salon licensing

How to get a salon license in Oregon

To open a salon in Oregon you need a Facility License for the business, issued by the Oregon Health Licensing Office, on top of the license each stylist or technician holds. It costs $295 to the state (application fee $140 plus license (first year) $155) and is renewed every year for $155. Every fact below is quoted from the state's own pages, read on October 17, 2026.

Licensed by
Oregon Health Licensing Office
Business license
Facility License
New salon fee
$295
Renewal
Every year, $155
Inspection before opening
Not stated
Owner must hold a license
Not stated
Booth renters need a license
Independent contractor registration
Barbershops
Same license

Licensed by the Oregon Health Licensing Office.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Step by step

Opening a salon in Oregon

  1. 1

    Make sure everyone who will do services is licensed. The salon license covers the business; each stylist, barber, nail technician or esthetician needs an Oregon license of their own, which you can check in the state's license lookup. The Oregon cosmetology, barber, nail and esthetician licenses page lists each one's training hours, fees and renewal.

  2. 2

    Apply for the Facility License with the Oregon Health Licensing Office (application), paying $295 to the state (application fee $140 plus license (first year) $155). Apply before you open: the business needs its own license to operate.

  3. 3

    If you rent out chairs, check your renters' licenses. In Oregon a booth renter needs an Independent contractor registration ($140). Put the terms in a booth rental agreement.

  4. 4

    Put the renewal in your calendar. The salon license is renewed every year for $155.

  5. 5

    Then the local paperwork (general advice, not from the board). Register the business with the state, get a city or county business license where one is required, and check zoning and the building permits for your build-out with the city before you sign a lease.

These are the license steps. The full opening checklist for Oregon puts them in order with everything else a new salon needs: registering the business, taxes, insurance, hiring and getting booked before you open. For the inspection itself, the Oregon salon inspection checklist lists every sanitation rule an inspector checks.

  • Oregon's $295 for a new salon is above the middle of the 46 states with a published fee, $123.

Good to know

What else Oregon asks of a salon

  • All practitioners who provide services in Oregon must work in a licensed facility; the only exception is a practitioner holding a freelance authorization.
  • A facility license is valid for one year and becomes inactive at the end of that year unless renewed.
  • Moving a salon to a new physical address requires a new facility application and fees.

Sources

What Oregon's official pages say

Each fact above, in the words of the Oregon Health Licensing Office's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 17, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you apply.

The salon license
“To obtain a facility license, the applicant must:”
oregon.gov
“a facility license must be obtained when operating a business establishment and providing services in one or more fields of practice defined in ORS 690.005.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
Fees for a new salon
“(E) Facility license: $140.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
“(E) Facility license: $155 for one year.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
Renewal
“Facility license: $155 for one year. Fee applies to each renewal cycle even while in inactive status.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
Barbershops
“a facility license must be obtained when operating a business establishment and providing services in one or more fields of practice defined in ORS 690.005.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
Booth renters
“a practitioner who provides services within a licensed facility and who is not an employee must hold an independent contractor registration.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
“Independent contractor registration: $140 for one year.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
Who licenses salons
“The following regulated professions are overseen by the Board of Cosmetology.”
oregon.gov
Also good to know
“All practitioners who provide services in Oregon must do so in a licensed facility”
oregon.gov
Also good to know
“A facility license is valid for one year and becomes inactive on the last day of the month one year from the date of issuance.”
secure.sos.state.or.us
Also good to know
“An existing facility moves or relocates to a new physical address.”
oregon.gov

Questions

Oregon salon licenses, answered

How much is a salon license in Oregon?
A new Facility License costs $295 to the state (application fee $140 plus license (first year) $155) and is renewed every year for $155. That is the state's fee only: build-out, equipment and opening stock are most of the cost of opening (see what it costs to open a salon).
Do you need a license to own a salon in Oregon?
Oregon's official pages we read do not say whether the owner personally needs a cosmetology license. What they do require: the business holds a Facility License. If you are not licensed yourself, ask the Oregon Health Licensing Office before you sign a lease.
Do booth renters need their own license in Oregon?
Yes. A booth renter in Oregon needs an Independent contractor registration, $140, as well as a practitioner license.
Does a barbershop need a different license in Oregon?
No. In Oregon the same establishment license covers barbershops and salons.

Ready when you are

Open with the website and the bookings ready

While the license comes through, SalonAI plans the digital side of your Oregon salon: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking, your Google profile, reviews, and client follow-ups. Founden builds and runs it.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Oregon Salon License: Requirements and Fees (2026) | SalonAI