Connecticut salon licensing

How to get a salon license in Connecticut

Connecticut does not issue a state license for a salon as a business on the official pages we read. The rules that do apply to opening one are below, each quoted from the official source with a link to it.

Licensed by
Connecticut Department of Public Health and local health departments
Business license
None stated
New salon fee
Not stated
Renewal
Not stated
Inspection before opening
Not stated
Owner must hold a license
Yes
Booth renters need a license
Not stated
Barbershops
Same rules

Licensed by the Connecticut Department of Public Health and local health departments.The state's own words

Step by step

Opening a salon in Connecticut

  1. 1

    Make sure everyone who will do services is licensed. Each stylist, barber, nail technician or esthetician needs a Connecticut license of their own. The Connecticut cosmetology, barber, nail and esthetician licenses page lists each one's training hours, fees and renewal.

  2. 2

    Put a licensed person in charge. A salon that employs hairdressers, estheticians, eyelash or nail technicians or massage therapists must be managed by a registered hairdresser and cosmetician or another licensed practitioner of those types.

  3. 3

    Then the local paperwork (general advice, not from the board). Register the business with the state, get a city or county business license where one is required, and check zoning and the building permits for your build-out with the city before you sign a lease.

These are the license steps. The full opening checklist for Connecticut puts them in order with everything else a new salon needs: registering the business, taxes, insurance, hiring and getting booked before you open. For the inspection itself, the Connecticut salon inspection checklist lists every sanitation rule an inspector checks.

Good to know

What else Connecticut asks of a salon

  • A salon's permit comes from its local health department or district, and the permit must be displayed prominently.
  • The local director of health must inspect every salon each year for sanitary condition, and may charge the operator an inspection fee of up to $250.
  • Connecticut's definition of a salon includes barbering, so barbershops fall under the same local salon inspection and permit framework.

Sources

What Connecticut's official pages say

Each fact above, in the words of the Connecticut Department of Public Health and local health departments's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 17, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you apply.

Other license types
“The director of health may collect from the operator of any such salon a reasonable fee, not to exceed two hundred fifty dollars, for the cost of conducting any annual inspection of such salon pursuant to this section.”
cga.ct.gov
The owner
“No person, other than a person operating a hairdressing shop on May 17, 1982, may operate any hairdressing shop unless such person has been licensed as a registered hairdresser and cosmetician for not less than two years.”
cga.ct.gov
Person in charge
“each spa or salon that employs hairdressers and cosmeticians, estheticians, eyelash technicians, nail technicians or massage therapists shall be under the management of a hairdresser and cosmetician registered under this chapter”
cga.ct.gov
Barbershops
“Public Act 19-177 defines a salon as any shop, store, day spa, or other commercial establishment at which the practice of barbering, hairdressing and cosmetology, or the services of a nail technician, esthetician, or eyelash technician is offered and provided.”
portal.ct.gov
Who licenses salons
“The director of health for any town, city, borough or district department of health, or the director's authorized representative, shall, on an annual basis, inspect all salons within the director's jurisdiction regarding their sanitary condition”
cga.ct.gov
“Local health districts and departments are free to incorporate more stringent standards for salons in their jurisdiction.”
portal.ct.gov
Also good to know
“The current permit or license issued (if applicable) from the Local Health Department or District must be prominently displayed.”
portal.ct.gov
Also good to know
“The director of health may collect from the operator of any such salon a reasonable fee, not to exceed two hundred fifty dollars, for the cost of conducting any annual inspection of such salon pursuant to this section.”
cga.ct.gov
Also good to know
“Public Act 19-177 defines a salon as any shop, store, day spa, or other commercial establishment at which the practice of barbering, hairdressing and cosmetology, or the services of a nail technician, esthetician, or eyelash technician is offered and provided.”
portal.ct.gov

Questions

Connecticut salon licenses, answered

Do you need a license to own a salon in Connecticut?
Yes. Connecticut's official pages say the owner must hold a license. A salon that employs hairdressers, estheticians, eyelash or nail technicians or massage therapists must be managed by a registered hairdresser and cosmetician or another licensed practitioner of those types. The business also needs its own license.
Does a barbershop need a different license in Connecticut?
No. In Connecticut barbershops follow the same rules as salons.

Ready when you are

Open with the website and the bookings ready

While the license comes through, SalonAI plans the digital side of your Connecticut salon: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking, your Google profile, reviews, and client follow-ups. Founden builds and runs it.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Connecticut Salon License: Requirements and Fees (2026) | SalonAI