Kansas salon licensing

How to get a salon license in Kansas

To open a salon in Kansas you need a Salon or Clinic License for the business, issued by the Kansas Board of Cosmetology, on top of the license each stylist or technician holds. It costs $60 to the state and is renewed every year for $50. Every fact below is quoted from the state's own pages, read on October 17, 2026.

Licensed by
Kansas Board of Cosmetology
Business license
Salon or Clinic License
New salon fee
$60
Renewal
Every year, $50
Inspection before opening
Yes
Owner must hold a license
Not stated
Booth renters need a license
Not stated
Barbershops
Own license: Barber Shop License

Licensed by the Kansas Board of Cosmetology.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Step by step

Opening a salon in Kansas

  1. 1

    Make sure everyone who will do services is licensed. The salon license covers the business; each stylist, barber, nail technician or esthetician needs a Kansas license of their own, which you can check in the state's license lookup. The Kansas cosmetology, barber, nail and esthetician licenses page lists each one's training hours, fees and renewal.

  2. 2

    Apply for the Salon or Clinic License with the Kansas Board of Cosmetology (application), paying $60 to the state. Apply before you open: the business needs its own license to operate.

  3. 3

    Pass the inspection before you open. the Kansas Board of Cosmetology inspects a new salon before it may open or before the license is issued, so finish the build-out and set up your sanitation first.

  4. 4

    Put the renewal in your calendar. The salon license is renewed every year for $50.

  5. 5

    Then the local paperwork (general advice, not from the board). Register the business with the state, get a city or county business license where one is required, and check zoning and the building permits for your build-out with the city before you sign a lease.

These are the license steps. The full opening checklist for Kansas puts them in order with everything else a new salon needs: registering the business, taxes, insurance, hiring and getting booked before you open. For the inspection itself, the Kansas salon inspection checklist lists every sanitation rule an inspector checks.

  • Kansas's $60 for a new salon is below the middle of the 46 states with a published fee, $123.

Good to know

What else Kansas asks of a salon

  • Licensed salons may be reinspected on a schedule the Board sets by rule, or after a complaint that a salon is not in compliance.
  • A salon establishment license is valid only for the premises named on it. The licensee must notify the Board in writing within 15 days of a sale or other change of ownership.
  • The salon license and the most recent inspection report, along with the sanitation standards, must be displayed in a conspicuous place in the salon.

Sources

What Kansas's official pages say

Each fact above, in the words of the Kansas Board of Cosmetology's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 17, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you apply.

The salon license
“the board shall issue a new salon or clinic license”
ksrevisor.gov
Fees for a new salon
“New Salon or Clinic License ....................................................................................... $60.00”
kansas.gov
Renewal
“Salon or Clinic Renewal ............................................................................................. $50.00”
kansas.gov
“The license shall expire one year from the last day of the month of its issuance.”
ksrevisor.gov
Inspection
“Upon filing of the application, the board shall inspect the equipment as to safety and sanitary condition of the premises”
ksrevisor.gov
Barbershops
“You will need to send a new shop application along with the perscribed fee of $80”
kbob.kansas.gov
“the Application for Barber Shop License can be found under the FORMS tab above”
kbob.kansas.gov
“Kansas Board of Barbering”
kbob.kansas.gov
“may enter into an agreement with the chairperson of the board of barbering as to which board's inspectors shall inspect a dual-licensed salon and barber shop.”
ksrevisor.gov
Who licenses salons
“Our purpose is to protect the health and safety of consumers by licensing and providing oversite to all of the cosmetology, body art, and tanning professions.”
kansas.gov
Also good to know
“Licensed salons and clinics may be reinspected in accordance with a schedule determined by the board”
ksrevisor.gov
Also good to know
“Each establishment license shall be valid only for the premises named in the”
kansas.gov
Also good to know
“Each holder of a salon, clinic or school license shall display the license and most recent inspection report”
ksrevisor.gov

Questions

Kansas salon licenses, answered

How much is a salon license in Kansas?
A new Salon or Clinic License costs $60 to the state and is renewed every year for $50. That is the state's fee only: build-out, equipment and opening stock are most of the cost of opening (see what it costs to open a salon).
Do you need a license to own a salon in Kansas?
Kansas's official pages we read do not say whether the owner personally needs a cosmetology license. What they do require: the business holds a Salon or Clinic License. If you are not licensed yourself, ask the Kansas Board of Cosmetology before you sign a lease.
Is a new salon inspected before it opens in Kansas?
Yes. the Kansas Board of Cosmetology inspects a new salon before it may open or before the license is issued, so plan the inspection into your opening date.
Does a barbershop need a different license in Kansas?
Yes. Barbershops have a license of their own in Kansas: the Barber Shop License, issued by the Kansas Board of Barbering ($80 for a new shop).

Ready when you are

Open with the website and the bookings ready

While the license comes through, SalonAI plans the digital side of your Kansas salon: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking, your Google profile, reviews, and client follow-ups. Founden builds and runs it.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Kansas Salon License: Requirements and Fees (2026) | SalonAI