All 50 states and DC, from each state's own board

Salon license requirements by state

Every state and DC except Connecticut and Utah licenses a salon as a business, separately from the people who work in it. A new salon's license costs $123 in the middle state, from $11 in Wisconsin to $410 in Alaska. Pick your state for its license, fees, inspection, owner and booth rental rules, each quoted from the state's own board, rules or statutes.

Read from the official sources on October 17, 2026. How we checked ยท Download every state (CSV)

New salon license, middle state
$123
Lowest to highest
$11 to $410
Inspected before opening
25 states

Across the states

What every new salon owner should know

  • The license is cheap; opening is not. The state's fee for a new salon is $123 in the middle state and $410 at the most (Alaska), a rounding error beside the build-out and equipment that make up most of what it costs to open a salon.
  • Inspection timing decides your opening date. In 25 states the official pages require an inspection before a new salon may open or before the license is issued; in 10 states the inspection comes after opening; 16 states do not say.
  • Few states spell out whether the owner needs a license. 13 states say plainly that the owner need not be licensed, 2 states require the owner to hold a license, and 36 states do not address it on the pages we read.
  • Booth renters and barbershops can need their own paperwork. 22 states require a separate license or permit for booth renters. 25 states license barbershops separately from salons, often through a separate board.

Every state compared

Salon license fees and rules, state by state

"Not stated" means the state's official pages we read did not say; it is not a no. The fee is what a new salon pays the state for its license, before any city or county license.

StateSalon licenseNew salon feeRenewalInspected before openingOwner licensedBooth renter license
AlabamaShop License$200Every 2 years, $150YesNot statedNot required
AlaskaShop Owner License$410Every 2 years, $260Not statedNot requiredRequired
ArizonaEstablishment License$113$50Not statedNot requiredNot stated
ArkansasCosmetology Establishment License$100Every year, $50YesNot statedNot stated
CaliforniaEstablishment License$50Every 2 years, $40NoNot requiredNot required
ColoradoShop and Salon RegistrationNot statedEvery 2 yearsNot statedNot statedNot required
ConnecticutNone statedNot statedNot statedNot statedRequiredNot stated
DelawareCosmetology/Barbering Establishment License$142Every 2 yearsNoNot statedNot stated
District of ColumbiaBasic Business License with a Beauty Shop endorsement$274Every 2 years, $99YesRequiredRequired
FloridaCosmetology Salon License$90Every 2 years, $45NoNot statedNot stated
GeorgiaSalon/Shop LicenseNot statedEvery 2 yearsNot statedNot statedNot stated
HawaiiBeauty Shop License$226Every 2 years, $176NoNot statedRequired
IdahoPrimary Establishment License$50Every 2 years, $50Not statedNot statedRequired
IllinoisSalon/Shop Registration$40Every 2 yearsNot statedNot requiredRequired
IndianaBeauty Culture Salon License$40Every 4 years, $40Not statedNot statedNot required
IowaEstablishment License$80Every 2 years, $80Not statedNot statedNot stated
KansasSalon or Clinic License$60Every year, $50YesNot statedNot stated
KentuckyBeauty Salon License$100Every 2 years, $200YesNot requiredNot stated
LouisianaBeauty Shop or Salon Certificate of Registration$105Every year, $55YesNot statedRequired
MaineLevel 1 Establishment LicenseNot statedEvery year, $20Not statedNot statedRequired
MarylandSalon Permit$225Every 2 years, $56NoNot statedNot required
MassachusettsCosmetology Salon License$136Every 2 years, $82YesNot statedNot required
MichiganCosmetology Establishment License$75Every 2 years, $50YesNot statedNot stated
MinnesotaSalon License$350Every 3 years, $225Not statedNot statedNot required
MississippiSalon License$85$60YesNot statedNot stated
MissouriCosmetology Establishment License$100Every 2 years, $75YesNot statedRequired
MontanaSalon or Shop License$275Every year, $125YesNot statedRequired
NebraskaCosmetology Salon License$150Every 2 years, $150NoNot statedNot stated
NevadaCosmetological Establishment License$215Every 2 years, $200YesNot statedNot stated
New HampshireShop License$260Every 2 years, $110YesNot requiredRequired
New JerseyShop License$350Every 2 yearsYesNot requiredRequired
New MexicoEnterprise or Establishment License$200Every year, $50NoNot statedNot required
New YorkAppearance Enhancement Business License$60Every 4 years, $60NoNot statedRequired
North CarolinaSalon License$35Every yearYesNot statedNot stated
North DakotaEstablishment License$150Every year, $100YesNot requiredRequired
OhioSalon License$85Every 2 years, $75NoNot statedRequired
OklahomaCosmetology Establishment License$120Every 2 years, $90YesNot requiredNot stated
OregonFacility License$295Every year, $155Not statedNot statedRequired
PennsylvaniaCosmetology Salon License$142Every 2 years, $144YesNot statedNot stated
Rhode IslandHair Design Shop License$170Every year, $170YesNot requiredRequired
South CarolinaSalon License$100Every 2 years, $72YesNot statedRequired
South DakotaSalon/Booth License$75Every year, $55NoNot statedRequired
TennesseeCosmetology Shop License$150Every 2 years, $75YesNot requiredNot stated
TexasBarbering or Cosmetology Establishment License$78Every 2 years, $78Not statedNot statedNot required
UtahNone statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
VermontShop License$355Every 2 years, $285YesNot statedNot stated
VirginiaCosmetology Salon License$220Every 2 years, $220Not statedNot statedNot stated
WashingtonSalon/Shop License$126Every year, $121Not statedNot statedRequired
West VirginiaSalon License$90Every year, $40YesNot statedRequired
WisconsinCosmetology Establishment License$11Every 2 years, $11YesNot requiredRequired
WyomingSalon License$300Every year, $75YesNot requiredRequired

Method

How we checked each state

  • Official sources only. For each state we read the licensing board's own pages, its fee schedule and application forms, and its administrative rules and statutes. Other guides were not used as sources.
  • Every fact carries the state's own words. Each fee and rule is stored with the official page it came from and a verbatim quote, and a script confirmed that every quote appears on its page before the page was published. Each state's page shows those quotes under "What the official pages say".
  • "Not stated" is honest, not a no. Where the pages we read did not answer a question (most often whether the owner must be licensed), the state reads "Not stated" rather than a guess.
  • Fees change. These are the state's own fees as published on October 17, 2026; cities and counties may add a business license of their own. Confirm with the board before you apply.

Questions

Salon licenses, answered

Do you need a license to open a salon?
In every state and DC except Connecticut and Utah, yes: the salon itself needs an establishment (or shop) license from the state, separate from the license each stylist holds. Connecticut and Utah have no state salon license on the official pages we read; see its page for what applies there. The state's fee for a new salon is $123 in the middle state. Pick your state above for its license, fee and how to apply; the licenses each person needs (hours, exams and fees) are in cosmetology license requirements by state.
Can you own a salon without a cosmetology license?
State rules license two things: the salon as a business, and each person who does services. Whether the owner must also hold a license is spelled out in only some states. The official pages of Alaska, Arizona, California, Illinois, Kentucky and 8 more states say plainly that the owner need not be licensed. Connecticut and District of Columbia are exceptions: their official pages require the owner to hold a license. Where a state's pages do not say, its page here marks it "not stated": ask the board before you sign a lease.
How much does a salon license cost?
The state's fees for a new salon license run from $11 in Wisconsin to $410 in Alaska, with $123 in the middle of the 46 states that publish one. They are a small part of opening: see what it costs to open a salon.
Do booth renters need their own license?
Every booth renter needs their own practitioner license. Alaska, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois and 17 more states also require a separate booth rental license or permit, per their official pages. Put the terms between you and your renters in a booth rental agreement.
Where do these requirements come from?
From each state's own licensing board pages, fee schedules, administrative rules and statutes, read between October 17, 2026 and today, never from other guides. Each fact carries the official page and the board's own words, and a script confirmed each quote is on that page. Rules and fees change: confirm with the board before you apply.

Ready when you are

Open with the website and the bookings ready

While the license comes through, SalonAI plans the digital side of your salon: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking, your Google profile, reviews, and client follow-ups. Founden builds and runs it.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Salon License Requirements by State (2026): Fees and Rules | SalonAI