All 50 states and DC, from each state's own board

Cosmetology license requirements by state

Every state licenses the people who cut, color, do nails and do skin care, each with its own hours, exams and fees. A cosmetology license takes 1,500 hours of school in the middle state, from 1,000 hours in California, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, Texas, Vermont and Virginia to 1,800 hours in Hawaii, Nebraska and West Virginia. Pick your state for its cosmetology, barber, nail technician and esthetician licenses, each figure quoted from the state's own board, rules or statutes.

Read from the official sources on October 23, 2026. How we checked ยท Download every state (CSV)

Cosmetology school, middle state
1,500 hours
Fewest to most hours
1,000 to 1,800
State fees, first license, middle state
$77.50

Across the states

What the states have in common, and where they split

  • Where you train decides how long it takes. The same cosmetology license takes 1,000 hours in California, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, Texas, Vermont and Virginia and 1,800 hours in Hawaii, Nebraska and West Virginia, 1.8 times as long. At 35 hours a week, the middle state's 1,500 hours is about 10 months of full-time school (our estimate).
  • Every other license is shorter. Against 1,500 hours for cosmetology, the middle state asks nail technicians 350 hours, estheticians 600 hours and barbers 1,250 hours.
  • The state's fees are small next to tuition. A first cosmetology license costs $77.50 in state fees in the middle state, from $11 in Wisconsin to $330 in Alaska, among the 46 states that publish them.
  • Continuing education is a state-by-state rule. 13 states require continuing education to renew a cosmetology license, 4 say none is required, and the rest do not say on the pages we read.
  • Barbers often answer to a different board. In 17 states a separate barber board or agency issues barber licenses.

Every state compared

Hours, fees and renewal, state by state

Pick a license and sort. "Not stated" means the state's official pages we read did not say; it is not a zero. Fees are what the state charges for a first license; school tuition and a testing company's own exam fees are extra.

License
Sort by
Cosmetology license requirements by state
StateLicenseTraining hoursState fees, first licenseRenewalCE per renewal
AlabamaCosmetologist1,500$255Every 2 years, $100Not stated
AlaskaHairdresser1,650$330Every 2 years, $180Not stated
ArizonaCosmetologist1,500$60Every 2 years, $60Not stated
ArkansasCosmetologist1,500$125Every 2 years, $50Not stated
CaliforniaCosmetologist1,000$125Every 2 years, $50None
ColoradoCosmetologist1,500Not statedNot statedNot stated
ConnecticutRegistered Hairdresser and Cosmetician1,500$100Every 2 years, $100Not stated
DelawareCosmetologist1,500Not statedEvery 2 yearsNot stated
District of ColumbiaCosmetologist1,500$175Every 2 years, $1106 h
FloridaCosmetologist1,200$40Every 2 years, $4510 h
GeorgiaMaster Cosmetologist1,500$30Every 2 years5 h
HawaiiBeauty Operator (Cosmetologist category)1,800Not statedEvery 2 years, $146None
IdahoCosmetologist1,600$90Every 2 years, $60Not stated
IllinoisCosmetologist1,500$30Every 2 years14 h
IndianaCosmetologist1,500$40Every 4 years, $40Not stated
IowaBarbering and cosmetology license1,550$60Every 2 years, $606 h
KansasCosmetologist1,500$60Every 2 years, $50Not stated
KentuckyCosmetologist1,500$135Every 2 years, $100Not stated
LouisianaRegistered Cosmetologist1,500$85Every year, $35Not stated
MaineCosmetologist1,500$20Every year, $20Not stated
MarylandCosmetologist1,500$28Every 2 years, $286 h
MassachusettsCosmetologist1,000$68Every 2 years, $68Not stated
MichiganCosmetologist1,500$63Every 2 years, $48Not stated
MinnesotaCosmetologist1,550$195Every 3 years, $1158 h
MississippiCosmetologist1,500$50Every 2 years, $50Not stated
MissouriClass CA - Hairdressing & Manicuring1,500Not statedEvery 2 years, $60Not stated
MontanaCosmetologist1,500$100Every 2 years, $100None
NebraskaCosmetologist1,800$95Every 2 years8 h
NevadaCosmetologist1,600$125Every 2 years, $704 h
New HampshireCosmetologist1,200$85Every 2 yearsNot stated
New JerseyCosmetologist-Hairstylist1,200$140Every 2 years, $90Not stated
New MexicoCosmetologist1,600$100Every year, $100Not stated
New YorkCosmetology1,000$70Every 4 years, $40Not stated
North CarolinaCosmetologist1,500$49Every 3 years24 h
North DakotaCosmetologist1,500$50Every year, $50Not stated
OhioCosmetologist1,500$85Every 2 years, $654 h
OklahomaCosmetologistNot stated$130Every 2 years, $80Not stated
OregonHair Design1,110$155Every 2 years, $65Not stated
PennsylvaniaCosmetologist1,250$26Every 2 years, $97None
Rhode IslandHairdresser and Cosmetician1,000$25Every 2 years, $25Not stated
South CarolinaRegistered Cosmetologist1,500$45Every 2 years, $524 h
South DakotaCosmetologist License1,500$120Every year, $45Not stated
TennesseeCosmetologist1,500$60Every 2 years, $60Not stated
TexasCosmetology Operator1,000$50Every 2 years, $504 h
UtahCosmetology license1,250Not statedEvery 2 years, $52Not stated
VermontCosmetologist1,000$120Every 2 years, $155Not stated
VirginiaCosmetologist1,000$120Every 2 years, $120Not stated
WashingtonCosmetologist1,600$40Every 2 years, $66Not stated
West VirginiaCosmetologist1,800$110Every year, $35Not stated
WisconsinCosmetologist1,550$11Every 2 years, $11Not stated
WyomingCosmetologist1,600$48Every 2 years, $96Not stated

Method

How we checked each state

  • Official sources only. For each state we read the licensing board's own pages, its fee schedule and application forms, and its administrative rules and statutes. Schools and other guides were not used as sources.
  • Every figure carries the state's own words. Each number is stored with the official page it came from and a verbatim quote, and a script confirmed that every quote appears on its page and that every number appears in its quote before the page was published. Each state's page shows those quotes under its sources.
  • "Not stated" is honest, not a zero. Where the pages we read did not answer a question (most often continuing education for the specialty licenses, or an exam fee paid to a testing company), the state reads "Not stated" rather than a guess.
  • School time is our estimate. Months of school assume 35 hours a week of full-time training; part-time programs take longer. It is a planning figure, not a state rule.
  • Fees change. These are the state's own fees as published on October 23, 2026. Confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Questions

Cosmetology licenses, answered

How many hours is cosmetology school?
It depends on the state: 1,500 hours in the middle state, from 1,000 hours in California, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, Texas, Vermont and Virginia to 1,800 hours in Hawaii, Nebraska and West Virginia. Pick your state above for its exact hours and whether it offers an apprenticeship instead.
Which state requires the fewest hours for a cosmetology license?
California, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, Texas, Vermont and Virginia, at 1,000 hours, among the 50 states whose official pages state the hours. Most states license people who move in by endorsement, so check the rules of the state where you plan to work before you choose a school.
How much does a cosmetology license cost?
The state's own fees for a first license run from $11 in Wisconsin to $330 in Alaska, $77.50 in the middle state. Tuition is the large cost; testing companies may charge their own exam fees on top.
Do nail techs and estheticians need a license?
Yes, in almost every state, and it is a license of its own: 51 states and DC issue a nail technician license (350 hours of training in the middle state) and 51 an esthetician license (600 hours). The state's own names vary: manicurist, nail specialist, skin care or facial specialist.
Can I transfer my cosmetology license to another state?
Most states license people already licensed elsewhere by endorsement or reciprocity, usually against proof of equal training hours or years of experience. Each state's page says what its official pages require.
Where do these requirements come from?
From each state's own board pages, fee schedules, administrative rules and statutes, read on October 23, 2026, never from schools or other guides. Each figure carries the official page and the board's own words, and a script confirmed each quote is on that page and each number is in its quote. Rules and fees change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Cosmetology License Requirements by State (2026) | SalonAI