Virginia beauty licenses

Virginia cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Virginia you need a Cosmetologist license from the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology. It takes 1,000 hours of school and $120 in state fees. Exams: written and practical exams. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Virginia cosmetology license

License
Cosmetologist
Issued by
The Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology
Training
1,000 hoursAbout 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written and practical exams
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$120
Exam fees to the testing company
written (theory) exam $99 plus practical exam $95Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
Every 2 years, $120
Continuing education
Not stated

Virginia's 1,000 hours are fewer than the 1,500 hours of the middle state, tied for the fewest of any state that publishes them.

Barber

Virginia barber license

License
Barber
Issued by
The Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology
Training
750 hoursAbout 5 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written and practical exams
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$120
Exam fees to the testing company
written (theory) exam $99 plus practical exam $95Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
Every 2 years, $120
Continuing education
Not stated

Virginia's 750 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Virginia nail technician license

License
Nail Technician
Issued by
The Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology
Training
150 hoursAbout 1 month of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written and practical exams
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$120
Exam fees to the testing company
written (theory) exam $99 plus practical exam $95Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
Every 2 years, $120
Continuing education
Not stated

Virginia's 150 hours are fewer than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Virginia esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology
Training
600 hoursCounted in clock hours or equivalent credit hours. About 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written and practical exams
Who can apply
Not stated
State fees, first license
$120
Exam fees to the testing company
practical exam $95 plus written (theory) exam $99Paid to the company that runs the exam, as stated on the state's own pages.
Renewal
$120
Continuing education
Not stated

Virginia's 600 hours are the same as the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Virginia requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Virginia requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Virginia.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

By endorsement: a current license from another state, plus substantially equivalent training and written and practical exams, or three years of licensed work experience in place of training.

Good to know in Virginia

  • A temporary permit to work under a licensed practitioner's supervision may be issued to applicants for initial licensure who are eligible and scheduled for examination.
  • A license from another state does not allow you to practice in Virginia.
  • Renewal is allowed within a 30-day grace period without penalty.

Sources

What Virginia's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“Cosmetologist - Exam & License Application”
dpor.virginia.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“d. Cosmetology curricula must be based on a minimum of 1,000 clock hours and must include performances in accordance with 18VAC41-20-220 D.”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“A. Applicants for initial licensure must pass a practical examination and written examination approved by the board.”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“Individuals: Application $120 With application”
law.lis.virginia.gov
“The new examination fees are $99.00 for the written (theory) exam and $95.00 for the practical exam.”
dpor.virginia.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Cosmetologist $120 With renewal card prior to expiration date”
law.lis.virginia.gov
“A license or certificate issued under this chapter expires two years from the last day of the month in which it was issued.”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Barber: license
“Barber - Exam & License Application”
dpor.virginia.gov
Barber: training hours
“a. Barber curricula must be based on a minimum of 750 clock hours and must include performances in accordance with 18VAC41-20-220 A.”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Barber: exams
“A. Applicants for initial licensure must pass a practical examination and written examination approved by the board.”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Barber: fees
“Individuals: Application $120 With application”
law.lis.virginia.gov
“The new examination fees are $99.00 for the written (theory) exam and $95.00 for the practical exam.”
dpor.virginia.gov
Barber: renewal
“Barber $120 With renewal card prior to expiration date”
law.lis.virginia.gov
“A license or certificate issued under this chapter expires two years from the last day of the month in which it was issued.”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Nail technician: license
“Nail Technician - Exam & License Application”
dpor.virginia.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“e. Nail technician curricula must be based on a minimum of 150 clock hours and must include performances in accordance with 18VAC41-20-220 E.”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Nail technician: exams
“A. Applicants for initial licensure must pass a practical examination and written examination approved by the board.”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Nail technician: fees
“Individuals: Application $120 With application”
law.lis.virginia.gov
“The new examination fees are $99.00 for the written (theory) exam and $95.00 for the practical exam.”
dpor.virginia.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“Nail Technician $120 With renewal card prior to expiration date”
law.lis.virginia.gov
“A license or certificate issued under this chapter expires two years from the last day of the month in which it was issued.”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Esthetician: license
“General requirements for an esthetician license or master esthetician license”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“Esthetician curricula must be based on a minimum of 600 clock or equivalent credit hours and must include performances in accordance with 18VAC41-70-200 A.”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Esthetician: exams
“A. Applicants for initial licensure must pass a practical examination and a written examination approved by the board.”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Esthetician: fees
“Individuals: Application $120 With application”
law.lis.virginia.gov
“1261 - Practical Exam $95.00 1261 - Theory Exam $99.00”
dpor.virginia.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“Renewal $120 With renewal card prior to expiration date”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Licensed in another state
“License by Endorsement $120 With application”
law.lis.virginia.gov
“any person currently licensed to practice as an esthetician or master esthetician or who is a licensed instructor in the respective profession in any other state or jurisdiction of the United States”
law.lis.virginia.gov
“may substitute three years of work experience for training”
law.lis.virginia.gov
Also good to know
“A temporary permit to work under the supervision of a currently licensed practitioner may be issued to applicants for initial licensure who are eligible and scheduled for examination.”
dpor.virginia.gov
Also good to know
“No. State law prohibits any person from practicing or offering to practice barbering, cosmetology, nail care, waxing, tattooing, body piercing, or esthetics in the Commonwealth without a Virginia license.”
dpor.virginia.gov
Also good to know
“The Board's regulations allow a 30-day grace period in which a license may be renewed without penalty”
dpor.virginia.gov

Questions

Virginia beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Virginia?
1,000 hours of training for a Cosmetologist license. About 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Virginia's 1,000 hours are fewer than the 1,500 hours of the middle state, tied for the fewest of any state that publishes them.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Virginia?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetologist license are $120, and it renews every 2 years, $120. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Virginia?
The Cosmetologist license renews every 2 years for $120. The pages we read do not state a continuing education requirement. Renew with the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Virginia?
Virginia calls it a Nail Technician license, issued by the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology. It takes 150 hours of training, written and practical exams, $120 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $120.
How do you get an esthetician license in Virginia?
Virginia calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology. It takes 600 hours of training, written and practical exams, $120 in state fees. It renews $120.
How do you get a barber license in Virginia?
Virginia calls it a Barber license, issued by the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology. It takes 750 hours of training, written and practical exams, $120 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $120.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Virginia?
By endorsement: a current license from another state, plus substantially equivalent training and written and practical exams, or three years of licensed work experience in place of training. The fee is $120. Apply with the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Virginia?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Virginia requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Virginia: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Virginia Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI