Texas beauty licenses

Texas cosmetology license requirements

To work as a cosmetologist in Texas you need a Cosmetology Operator license from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). It takes 1,000 hours of school and $50 in state fees. Exams: written exam and practical exam. Barbers, nail technicians and estheticians each need a license of their own, below. Every figure is quoted from the state's official pages, read on October 22, 2026.

Licensed by TDLR.How to apply License lookup The state's own words

Cosmetologist

Texas cosmetology license

Texas calls it the Cosmetology Operator license.

License
Cosmetology Operator
Issued by
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR)
Training
1,000 hoursAbout 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written exam and practical exam
Who can apply
At least 17 years old
State fees, first license
$50
Renewal
Every 2 years, $50
Continuing education
4 hours per renewal

Texas's 1,000 hours are fewer than the 1,500 hours of the middle state, tied for the fewest of any state that publishes them.

Barber

Texas barber license

Texas calls it the Class A Barber license.

License
Class A Barber
Issued by
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR)
Training
1,000 hoursAbout 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written exam and practical exam
Who can apply
At least 17 years old
State fees, first license
$50
Renewal
Every 2 years, $50
Continuing education
4 hours per renewal

Texas's 1,000 hours are fewer than the 1,250 hours of the middle state.

Nail technician

Texas nail technician license

Texas calls it the Manicurist license.

License
Manicurist
Issued by
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR)
Training
600 hoursAbout 4 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written exam and practical exam
Who can apply
At least 17 years old
State fees, first license
$50
Renewal
Every 2 years, $50
Continuing education
Not stated

Texas's 600 hours are more than the 350 hours of the middle state.

Esthetician

Texas esthetician license

License
Esthetician
Issued by
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR)
Training
750 hoursAbout 5 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate, not a state rule).
Exams
Written exam and practical exam
Who can apply
At least 17 years old
State fees, first license
$50
Renewal
Every 2 years, $50
Continuing education
Not stated

Texas's 750 hours are more than the 600 hours of the middle state.

Doing lashes, lifts, waxing or threading? See which license Texas requires for each. Microblading or permanent makeup? See what Texas requires for it. Microneedling, peels, dermaplaning or lasers? See what an esthetician may do in Texas.

Moving here

Licensed in another state?

If you are licensed in another US state, you may be able to apply for a Texas license using your out-of-state license as proof of training and experience.

Good to know in Texas

  • Students enrolled in a licensed school are issued a student permit while in training.
  • After passing the practical exam, a temporary license is good for 60 days while TDLR mails the two-year license.
  • TDLR runs a criminal history background check on every license applicant.

Sources

What Texas's official pages say

Each figure above, in the words of the state's own pages, rules or statutes, read on October 22, 2026. Fees and rules change: confirm with the board before you enroll or apply.

Cosmetologist: license
“Apply for a Cosmetology Operator License”
tdlr.texas.gov
Cosmetologist: training hours
“Before applying for a Cosmetology Operator license, you must complete a Cosmetology Operator course consisting of 1,000 hours of instruction at a licensed school.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Cosmetologist: exams
“You must pass both a written exam and practical exam to obtain a Cosmetology Operator license.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Cosmetologist: who can apply
“You must be at least 17 years old to apply for a Cosmetology Operator license.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Cosmetologist: fees
“There is a non-refundable application fee of $50.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Cosmetologist: renewal
“Cosmetology Operator licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue.”
tdlr.texas.gov
“You must complete a total of 4 hours of department-approved continuing education courses every two years to renew your license, including:”
tdlr.texas.gov
“$50 for On-time Renewals”
tdlr.texas.gov
Barber: license
“Apply for a Class A Barber License”
tdlr.texas.gov
Barber: training hours
“Before applying for a Class A Barber license, you must complete a Class A Barber course consisting of 1,000 hours of instruction at a barbering/cosmetology school licensed in Texas.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Barber: exams
“You must pass both a written exam and practical exam to obtain a Class A Barber license.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Barber: who can apply
“You must be at least 17 years of age to apply for a Class A Barber license.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Barber: fees
“There is a non-refundable application fee of $50.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Barber: renewal
“Class A Barber licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue.”
tdlr.texas.gov
“You must complete a total of 4 hours of department-approved continuing education courses every two years to renew your license, including:”
tdlr.texas.gov
“$50 for On-time Renewals”
tdlr.texas.gov
Nail technician: license
“Apply for a Manicurist License”
tdlr.texas.gov
Nail technician: training hours
“Before applying for a Manicurist license, you must complete a Manicurist course consisting of 600 hours of instruction at a barbering/cosmetology school licensed in Texas.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Nail technician: exams
“You must pass written and practical licensing exams to obtain a Manicurist license or a Manicurist/Esthetician license”
tdlr.texas.gov
Nail technician: who can apply
“You must be at least 17 years old to apply.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Nail technician: fees
“There is a non-refundable application fee of $50.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Nail technician: renewal
“Manicurist and Manicurist/Esthetician licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue.”
tdlr.texas.gov
“$50 for On-time Renewals”
tdlr.texas.gov
Esthetician: license
“Apply for an Esthetician License”
tdlr.texas.gov
Esthetician: training hours
“Before applying for an Esthetician license, you must complete an Esthetician course consisting of 750 hours of instruction at a barbering/cosmetology school licensed in Texas.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Esthetician: exams
“You must pass written and practical licensing exams to obtain an Esthetician license, a Manicurist/Esthetician license, or a Hair Weaving Specialist/Esthetician license.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Esthetician: who can apply
“You must be at least 17 years old to apply.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Esthetician: fees
“There is a non-refundable application fee of $50.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Esthetician: renewal
“Esthetician, Manicurist/Esthetician, and Hair Weaving Specialist/Esthetician licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue.”
tdlr.texas.gov
“$50 for On-time Renewals”
tdlr.texas.gov
Licensed in another state
“If you are currently licensed in another US state, you may be able to apply for a Texas license using your out of state license as proof of your training and experience.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Also good to know
“Students enrolled in a licensed school will be issued a student permit while in training.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Also good to know
“The temporary license is good for 60 days while TDLR sends the two-year license in the mail.”
tdlr.texas.gov
Also good to know
“The department will conduct a criminal history background check on all persons who apply for a license.”
tdlr.texas.gov

Questions

Texas beauty licenses, answered

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Texas?
1,000 hours of training for a Cosmetology Operator license. About 7 months of full-time school at 35 hours a week (our estimate). Texas's 1,000 hours are fewer than the 1,500 hours of the middle state, tied for the fewest of any state that publishes them.
How much does a cosmetology license cost in Texas?
The state's fees for a first Cosmetology Operator license are $50, and it renews every 2 years, $50. School tuition is the much larger cost, and testing companies may charge their own exam fees.
How do you renew a cosmetology license in Texas?
The Cosmetology Operator license renews every 2 years for $50. Each renewal needs 4 hours of continuing education. Renew with TDLR before the license expires.
How do you get a nail technician license in Texas?
Texas calls it a Manicurist license, issued by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). It takes 600 hours of training, written exam and practical exam, $50 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $50.
How do you get an esthetician license in Texas?
Texas calls it an Esthetician license, issued by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). It takes 750 hours of training, written exam and practical exam, $50 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $50.
How do you get a barber license in Texas?
Texas calls it a Class A Barber license, issued by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). It takes 1,000 hours of training, written exam and practical exam, $50 in state fees. It renews every 2 years, $50.
Can you transfer a cosmetology license from another state to Texas?
If you are licensed in another US state, you may be able to apply for a Texas license using your out-of-state license as proof of training and experience. Apply with TDLR.
Do you need a separate license to open a salon in Texas?
Usually, yes: the business needs its own establishment license on top of each person's license. See what Texas requires to open a salon, with its fees, inspection and booth rental rules.

Ready when you are

Licensed? Build the clientele next

SalonAI plans the business side of working for yourself in Texas: a website clients can book from in one tap, online booking with deposits, your Google profile, reviews, reminders and rebooking. Founden builds and runs it while you do the work.

Built with Founden. Review your setup and running costs before activation.

Texas Cosmetology License: Hours, Fees, Renewal (2026) | SalonAI